We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gistihusid - Lake Hotel Egilsstadir
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Egilsstadir
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2017

Room was clean and functional but had all the charm of a public hospital and the staff were unhelpful and unfriendly. Perhaps the original part of the hotel was better but the new addition in addition to lacking charm lacked windows the opened more than two inches, curtains that did not keep out the light, and towels that should have been replaced long ago. The TV worked on and off and to get a wifi signal we had to go to the lobby. The location is okay but no nice places to walk unless you drive.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank jsthouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 22 of 288 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2017

There is the hotel in a new building, beside the guesthouse
Professional welcome at reception
Rooms are spacious, great bathrooms with heated floor. Perfect bed
Parking before hotel, close to town

Dinner is in a cosy space, high quality and friendly service
Breakfast of the same quality

Great stay, would go there again, but expensive, like all places and services in Iceland

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EMIELANDMARLEEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

We arrived ahead of check in time but our rooms were quickly made ready. The rooms were spacious and clean with lovely furnishings and comfortable beds. Staff were friendly and helpful. Bathrooms had heated flooring which was so nice after getting out of the walk in shower. It is located just off the main highway and easy to locate. Wish we had more time and could have stayed longer, was the nicest lodging we had on our 12 day trip around Iceland.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank auntiesuz1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2017

My husband and I spent a very comfortable night at this beautiful guesthouse. It had been recommended to us by a friend and it certainly didn't disappoint. We booked a standard double room which overlooked the river - what a stunning view to wake up to!
We ate dinner in the hotel that night - a lovely varied menu and our selections didn't disappoint.
If we returned to this area we would love to stay here again - one night wasn't enough!

Room Tip: Book a room that overlooks the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CollieDog58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2017 via mobile

Large comfortable room with a view of the town and hills. Well decorated and equipped. There is a spa downstairs but we did no visit that. There are paths that brings you to the lake side for walks and pictures.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank JayW8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Egilsstadir
0.4 km away
Icelandair Hotel Herad
Icelandair Hotel Herad
#2 of 5 in Egilsstadir
369 reviews
1 km away
Hotel Valaskjalf Egilsstadir
Hotel Valaskjalf Egilsstadir
#4 of 5 in Egilsstadir
94 reviews
18.9 km away
Hotel Aldan
Hotel Aldan
#1 of 2 in Seydisfjordur
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 km away
Hotel Hallormsstadur
Hotel Hallormsstadur
#1 of 1 in Hallormsstadur
217 reviews
28.3 km away
Hotel Eskifjordur
Hotel Eskifjordur
#2 of 3 in Eskifjordur
19 reviews
0.8 km away
Birta Guesthouse
Birta Guesthouse
#2 of 15 in Egilsstadir
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gistihusid - Lake Hotel Egilsstadir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gistihusid - Lake Hotel Egilsstadir

Address: Egilsstadir, Egilsstadir 700, Iceland (Formerly Guesthouse Egilsstadir)
Region: Iceland > East Region > Egilsstadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Egilsstadir
Price Range: €151 - €214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gistihusid - Lake Hotel Egilsstadir 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gistihúsið - Lake Hotel Egilsstadir is family running hotel on the lakeside, all 50 rooms have private bathroom, tv, coffee te maker, hairdryer and iron. The Hotel have restaurant and it is open from 11.30 To 22. In the Hotel is also spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Gistihusid - Lake Hotel Egilsstadir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Egilsstadir Hotel Egilsstadir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing