We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gistihusid - Lake Hotel Egilsstadir
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Egilsstadir
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2017

My husband and I spent a very comfortable night at this beautiful guesthouse. It had been recommended to us by a friend and it certainly didn't disappoint. We booked a standard double room which overlooked the river - what a stunning view to wake up to!
We ate dinner in the hotel that night - a lovely varied menu and our selections didn't disappoint.
If we returned to this area we would love to stay here again - one night wasn't enough!

Room Tip: Book a room that overlooks the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CollieDog58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 25 of 288 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2017 via mobile

Large comfortable room with a view of the town and hills. Well decorated and equipped. There is a spa downstairs but we did no visit that. There are paths that brings you to the lake side for walks and pictures.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank JayW8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2017 via mobile

Completely a miss using Google to navigate from Vik to this hotel. Luckily it basically never gets dark here, so were able to see herds of reindeer on our way. It was raining and we had long stretches of gravel, muddy roads and ran into a complete white-out on a mountain pass. Very scary. Note to file, do this drive during the day. The hotel staff were very kind to hold our room and to guide us through the interesting drive. Arrived at 2am and they took goid care if us. Hotel is near gas and a grocery. A recommended stay.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank JavaHouseMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017

Our room overlooking the lake was very clean and comfortable. The beds and pillows were the best during our entire Iceland trip. Definitely recommend the place and would stay here again if we ever return to the area.

Wi-Fi connection worked well.

The breakfast buffet is fantastic!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
215
Reviewed 15 May 2017 via mobile

This was my favorite place to stay during my entire Iceland trip.

Cozy hotel with my room having a fantastic view overlooking the water front.

It is around a 5 minute walk from the town centre.

The breakfast was by far amongst the best I've ever had in any place I've stayed in over the past 20 years of my travels across the world. Fantastic spread and the waffles were definitely the most awesome ones I've had.

I'd definitely like to go back to Iceland for perhaps just a stay at this nice cozy place.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Egilsstadir
0.4 km away
Icelandair Hotel Herad
Icelandair Hotel Herad
#2 of 5 in Egilsstadir
369 reviews
1 km away
Hotel Valaskjalf Egilsstadir
Hotel Valaskjalf Egilsstadir
#4 of 5 in Egilsstadir
94 reviews
18.9 km away
Hotel Aldan
Hotel Aldan
#1 of 2 in Seydisfjordur
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 km away
Hotel Hallormsstadur
Hotel Hallormsstadur
#1 of 1 in Hallormsstadur
217 reviews
28.3 km away
Hotel Eskifjordur
Hotel Eskifjordur
#2 of 3 in Eskifjordur
19 reviews
0.8 km away
Birta Guesthouse
Birta Guesthouse
#2 of 15 in Egilsstadir
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gistihusid - Lake Hotel Egilsstadir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gistihusid - Lake Hotel Egilsstadir

Address: Egilsstadir, Egilsstadir 700, Iceland (Formerly Guesthouse Egilsstadir)
Region: Iceland > East Region > Egilsstadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Egilsstadir
Price Range: €151 - €214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gistihusid - Lake Hotel Egilsstadir 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gistihúsið - Lake Hotel Egilsstadir is family running hotel on the lakeside, all 50 rooms have private bathroom, tv, coffee te maker, hairdryer and iron. The Hotel have restaurant and it is open from 11.30 To 22. In the Hotel is also spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Gistihusid - Lake Hotel Egilsstadir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Egilsstadir Hotel Egilsstadir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing