We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (266)
Filter reviews
266 results
Traveller rating
81
118
51
13
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
81
118
51
13
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fishing village one night lovely dining room checking out the main hotel building small town midnight sun nice dinner beautiful hotel small kitchenette shower curtain hotel restaurant en route icelandic breakfast nordic visitor washer dryer the rooms were nice
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 266 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2018

This is an old hotel (1906) on the dockside of Djupivogur & it has lots of character. Lots of wood everywhere !! The rooms are spacious & clean. Easy parking.
A lovely dining room with views of the harbour. The food (breakfast & dinner) was good but not cheap. The little town was interesting to wander around - don't miss the egg sculptures.
Recommended for a one nights stay.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Di-Syd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2018 via mobile

Stayed for one night. Clean, inviting hotel with standard amenities. Dinner at the hotel was fantastic! Anna and Jan were wonderful, courteous and extremely professional, and the meal was delicious! Thank you!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018 via mobile

We spent one night there. Rooms are nice and clean. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant, and it was very tasty, one of the best food we had on Iceland. Breakfast was rich, we had everything we wanted.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Duke1111111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018

It is quite hard reviewing hotel accommodation in Iceland as in general terms if you compare it against similar properties in England or other parts of Europe, it will come off poorly, especially as in general it is expensive whilst being small and basic. We stayed in 15 different properties during our three week stay so I am reviewing Hotel Framtid against other accommodation that we used. Here we stayed in a self-catering summer cottage. The good points are that it had a verandah overlooking the interesting harbour (though the weather was sadly too poor to use it) and it had a small kitchenette with 2 hot plates and a microwave. It is a 5 minute walk to a supermarket. Breakfast was fine - the usual buffet fare which we had at every hotel we went to. Most of the staff we spoke to at Reception were friendly and helpful. However, as it often the case in Iceland, the accommodation was very small - the twin bedroom and bathroom were tiny and there was very limited storage. In addition, the hot water tank was very small (70 litres) which we were warned about when checking in, being told not to forget this 'as some people do'. In the seating area there was a small table attached to the wall which was very wobbly. It was easily fixed when we looked at the fitting so we wondered why this hadn't been done when the room was prepared for our visit. Strangely, there were 3 dining chairs but only one armchair for a property sleeping two people. The room was therefore not very comfortable. Also, as is often the case in Iceland, the breakfast dining rooms are predominantly set up for coach parties - so have long tables which are inevitably given the favourable position in the room, e.g. by the window. The tables for two felt as if they were relegated to the corner of the room and nowhere near the windows with the nice view of the harbour. When we visited check in was from 16.00 and check out between 8.00 - 11.00. If this summer house was in the UK I would rate it very poorly. Compared to other properties we stayed at, we wouldn't book this chalet again.

Room tip: Ask for a room with a harbour view.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P4lin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018 via mobile

Spacious room with private WC then across the hall the shower. 3 beds in the room. Clean linens. Floor could have been cleaner. There were pieces of gravel here and there. Quiet and uncrowded. Looks like it may have been an old hospital but was comfortable for its new use

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank 483gloriab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews