We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Andorra 2012”
Review of Hotel Cal Ruiz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Cal Ruiz
Ranked #20 of 33 Hotels in Pas de la Casa
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Andorra 2012”
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Pleasantly surprised with our stay at this hotel. The location at the bottom of the town was not a problem as it was only a five minute walk to the slopes. We rented lockers for our gear beside the slopes which meant we didn't have to carry it up and down every day. The food was fine with plenty of choice each evening.
Our room was very warm and was cleaned every day with fresh towels provided. Staff were friendly and helpful. Overall it was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank mark_gorman_dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    76
    49
    25
    14
See reviews for
31
59
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We had gone to pas de la Casa on boxing day for a weeks skiing holiday. We stayed at the Cal Ruiz a hotel which we had stayed previously some 7 years ago. It was good to see that the hotel was still very clean and tidy. Every day our room was cleaned, beds made and clean towels something which we were not expecting on a daily basis. New Year Eve was the best, the gala dinner was exceptional. Myself and partner were pleasantly surprised. The staff and hotel had gone that extra mile. We returned home on Monday but can honestly say enjoyed totally.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Car0lineSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london, UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2011

I was staying in the Cal Ruiz with my step son on his first ski holiday. It is the second time i have stayed there and for a 3* hotel it performs well. Location at the bottom of the resort sounds bad, but a 5 minute (quicker coming back) walk to the town centre isn't a 'slog' (or flog). The staff are friendly and accomodating, even if they didn't speak english ( well you are on holiday).
The food was catered to english and spanish people and i must say it was more than adequate and plenty of it. There was usually a dish or 2 that was unfamilliar but on a whole it was good (no complaining 15 year old is a good thing).
The only annoying thing about the holiday was the people that obvoiusly have champagne tastes and beer money.
The bar area could do with some new chairs, but was comfortable enough and a good meeting place for the well timed happy hour. The hot tub and sauna was good for the first few days, but i think they should have longer opening hours.
To sum up, it's a decent 3* hotel that is clean and tidy with friendly staff and adequate food.
P.S. For a reasonable fee you can store your skis and boots by the slopes.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank broadsword02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carmarthenshire
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2011

was pleasantly surprised with this hotel as some of the reviews we read were quite poor. Hotel was close to the pickup drop off point for coach transfersinto Plas de la Casa. Rooms were clean and tidy, maid service good. We found the food to be quite adequate for us with plenty of choice, staff were great and helpful, only downside being a smokey bar when you are not used to it but good fun. Jucuzzi and sauna clean and quite nice to have in the hotel, close to the sports centre if you felt like a swim and close to the shops for shopping.
5 mins walk to the main ski lifts. We went in our Half Term so it was quite busy but we didn't find much of a problem with queueing on the lifts as they are run very efficiently. Pistes were immaculate and well marked and the whole skiing area (Grand Vilara) can accommodate any level of skiier as this is a vast area.
Ski storage (extra) paid through Paddys Irish Bar was a great idea as all your gear is stored and warmed right next to the ski lift.

We booked this holiday quite late through Crystal and I must say that every aspect of their service was excellent (transfers, skis and boot hire, welcome meeting, information and help were all excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed our holiday. Thanks to Cal Ruiz and Crystal.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank welshies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Malden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2011

I have never written a review before but I felt I had to put something online (have complained in writing to my rep whilst on holiday of course). We had booked half board - breakfasts were ok (hard to get wrong) but dinner was a nightmare, the first night I poured enough grey water off my plate to fill a soup bowl, fished three hairs out of my mouth from the bolognaise sauce and had an upset stomach a day later. My teenage daughter burst into tears at the dinner table and I took her out afterwards to get a bowl of soup from a bistro. The food sat out keeping warm for three hours - most people were very careful about what they chose to eat so most of the kept warm meat was produced in the same or a different form the next day. We and most others stuck to chips or plain pasta and the imaginative salad selection (which consisted of iceberg lettuce and quartered tomato). Unless people had large families most people there seemed to eat out at least every other night. on the fourth night we were there the lady on the table next to us fished a rodent's tooth out of her food ( it really was, we saw it!) she kept it and took it to the manager - all the kitchen staff came out and peered at the dishes on the buffet - took one dish away and bought it back five minutes later!. That was the last straw and we ate out after that. Not only did eating out add to the cost of my holiday but also, after a day's skiing, we didn't really enjoy having to flog back into town while it was snowing just to get something to eat.
Good points - I lost weight from lack of food! The rooms were basic but clean, very warm (which was great) we turned the radiators off or opened the window to bring the temperature down but it was much better than being cold. Bathrooms were great - good size, plenty of hot water - bit worried about having to hold the hairdryer socket in place in the wall whilst using it though!
We liked the location - 5 minutes walk from the slopes but not in the town centre with all the noise from the bars.
We would stay there again if it wasn't for the disgusting food.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynne504175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pas de la Casa hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pas de la Casa hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Les Truites
Hotel Les Truites
#1 of 33 in Pas de la Casa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.1 km away
Parma Hotel
Parma Hotel
#8 of 33 in Pas de la Casa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Pic Mari
Hotel Pic Mari
#23 of 33 in Pas de la Casa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Magic Pas Hotel
Magic Pas Hotel
#12 of 33 in Pas de la Casa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Kandahar
Hotel Kandahar
#4 of 33 in Pas de la Casa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.4 km away
Solaris Apartments
Solaris Apartments
#19 of 33 in Pas de la Casa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cal Ruiz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cal Ruiz

Property: Hotel Cal Ruiz
Address: Avinguda Consell General 10-12, Pas de la Casa AD200, Andorra
Region: Andorra > Encamp Parish > Pas de la Casa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 33 Hotels in Pas de la Casa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cal Ruiz 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Cal Ruiz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cal Ruiz Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing