We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveller rating
21
7
2
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
21
7
2
0
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 32 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

There are two types of "cabinas" : the rooms wich are small, dark and dodgy and the bungalow which i did no try.

We booked for a bungalow but they put us in a room where you are next to your neighboors and can hear them breath. No mosquito net, the ventilator is useless and there are cockroach the size of a hand...

At the time of paying it seems the price was per person and not per night.. We were two so it doubled.

I would advise not to go there because you can find way much better for only 10/15$ more... And it's definitely worth it!

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank NicolasD639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2016 via mobile

We stayed three nights up on the hill overlooking Drakes Bay. The location was excellent, steps down to the beach and surrounded by trees with all sorts of birds. We had already booked tours online so didn't see too much of our hosts. We had $8 breakfast the first morning, at 5.30 before going into Corcovado, it was ok but seemed expensive for what you got- plate of fruit and scrambled eggs and toast. The cabin was new but quite basic and the holes in the walls freaked out my daughter who is scared of snakes. It was a pleasant 10 minute walk into town, as this is the far end of the bay, and for $100 a night for a family of 5 was good value. Bring a torch!

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank charlottesaf292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2016 via mobile

Just got home from an awesome week in Costa Rica. Really enjoyed the cabin at Drake Bay. Good people, good food, good times. Snorkling and super remote beaches. Thanks, Alex. We will tell all our friends to come and visit.

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Darren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2016

We stayed at Cabinas Indigenas for two nights when arriving in Costa Rica.

There are probably two different sets of cabinas, one on the hill and one at the beach. The photos only show the ones on the hill - for a good reason. All great reviews seem to be the ones on the hill too.

When we arrived we were put into one "on the beach" (there wasn't even the mentioning of other ones so when booking we just assumed that they are the same standard). The cabins were not just simple, but also not very clean and not good.

They are at the south end of the beach, which is the less beautiful end, and beach and surroundings seem to be a little bit dirtier around there. It really felt as they were put together to make money of tourists, without care or any attention to detail. Nothing would make you want to stay and read, or relax.

The three "cabins" are in one big building with the separating walls not going to the ceiling. We had some loud neighbours and it pretty much makes you feel as if you are staying in a dorm. There is really no privacy. Also, if your neighbour choses to leave the light on and door open, the mosquitoes are also in your place. There are no mosquito nets. And the mosquito nets between roof and outer walls or from the bathroom are not closing the place, or are broken. Luckily there weren't many in the season we went.

The beds were a little uncomfortable and only somewhat clean, possibly also because there are insects falling from the ceiling. On the first day, we had mouse poo in our sink when we arrived.

The breakfast, taken in Alex' house, prepared by his wife and sons, is good, a little pricey for what it is. However, the family is very friendly and we enjoyed the mornings.

Alex tried to sell us tours when we arrived, and even when we said that we had already booked through the next hotel, he tried to convince us that his were better. He tried to talk other tours down to make him sound better. That was a bit unpleasant, and didn't feel trustworthy at all. When we told him that we wouldn't do any tours with him, he never showed up again, never asked us if we have everything, if the room is ok.

We were glad that we only booked two nights.

Overall, if you look for a cheap stay in Bahia Drake, this might be ok, however there are probably cleaner and friendlier places than this for the same price.

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Imke F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2016

WOW!! If you are looking for an authentic Costa Rican experience, this is your place! The cabins are beautiful with ocean views, situated on the edge of the jungle where you are surrounded by every type of wildlife and vegetation you could imagine. The beach is a minute's walk away, and the owners are the most gracious, thoughtful hosts I've ever met. On more than one occasion Alex, the owner invited us into his home, fed us and gave us his Costa Rican coffee and told us stories about his land, his family and Drake Bay. He showered us with gifts including fresh fruit from his land. I am drinking some of his coffee as I write this review. I have never experienced such incredible hospitality and generosity. Staying with Alex was a genuine Costa Rican experience. I cannot say enough about this awesome family!! If you let him know in advanced, his wife will prepare you a huge, multi-course Costa Rican breakfast for only $8. He even offered us the use of his kayaks for free, and we had one of the most memorable kayaking adventures on the ocean and up the Rio Agujitas. We saw giant McCaw parrots flying around everywhere, horses running on the beach, and we even ran into a group of white faced monkeys on a walk nearby. Alex pointed out all of the indigenous plants on his land and told us about their medicinal uses. The cabins are within walking distance to nearby restaurants and stores. You don't need a car, and you will experience one adventure after another staying here. I only wish we could have stayed for a lot longer because we only scratched the surface. Highly recommended- We cannot wait to return. Absolutely amazing!!

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaime3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews