We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cabinas Pura Vida
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Drake Bay Getaway Resort(Drake Bay)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Aguila de Osa(Drake Bay)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Pirate Cove(Drake Bay)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
La Paloma Lodge(Drake Bay)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Tranquilo Lodge(Drake Bay)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Poor Man's Paradise(Osa Peninsula)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge(Corcovado National Park)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (150)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveller rating
100
36
10
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
100
36
10
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshis wifepura vidashared kitchenworked extremely wellplace to staysmall roomhighly recommend this placeshort walkcosta ricabahia drakewould definitely stay here againclean roomsbook toursa great staystayed here for nightsprivate bathroomcorcovado np
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 150 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2017 via mobile

We had the small room with a queensize bed. The room was very clean and the breakfast was good. The bed was very hard and not really comfortable and the self-heating showerhead looked a bit dangerous to me with water flowing down the electricity cables, but we survived ;-) It was nice that they picked us up from the boat and drove us back. It was okay for 2 nights.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Stefanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017

If you're looking to get away, and Drake Bay is that destination, then you need to stay at Cabinas Pura Vida. The price is right and the owner is very accommodating. Norlyng went out of his way to make sure we enjoyed our time there. He set up local tours, made sure we got to them on time and offered his assistance any time we needed it. From the moment we stepped off the water taxi until we departed, he was truly the perfect host. And don't miss out on the breakfasts!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cabinaspuravida, Owner at Cabinas Pura Vida, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2017

Thank you very much for your valuable comment, thank you very much for taking into account our work which we do with pleasure since we owe it to you our clients, for us it is a real pleasure to have with us such kind and respectful people of our work, from all my heart thank you very much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

Let me say the people who run this are some of the nicest people I have ever met! Highly recommend this place, and definitely book excursions through here as well. They took such great care of us that I will be back again soon!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kjs5013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

We stayed fro two nights either side of a trip to Crocovado. The rooms are really comfortable, and the hosts are very welcoming. Norlin picked us up from the boat and gave us a tour of the main road of Drake Bay on the way in, as well as dropping is off for the boat home. As we had to catch an early boat to Crocovado we had asked in advance for breakfast early (5.30am). Originally he said that he'd leave stuff out, and we could cancel if that was a problem (which it wasn't) but in the end they actually got up and made breakfast for us early anyway. It would be hard to find somewhere more welcoming and friendly.

Norlin also explained he has a little parcel of primary forest in the boundary area of Corcovado NP which he is thinking of opening as a Nature Lodge. If he does, and if it is as nice as Pura Vida Cabinas, we will be on the next flight back!

Room Tip: All rooms are great, and come with A/C
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillyK24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017 via mobile

In Bahia Drake all is relaxed. Not too much tourists and everybody is really nice. Cabines Pura Vida is a relaxt place with clean Nice rooms, aircon that doesn't make a lot of noise, hot water and a relax terras with hanmocks with a kitchen that you can use. From the beach it is a walk up hill and you don't have ocean view.. but you do have a studding view with ara's flying over. Gabi puts down fruits so that birds come to the terras. Breakfast is really good and fast. Gerard is really helpfull and nice. Norlyn speaks outstanding english and picked us up with arrival. Overall really great.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Gabi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews