We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“An amazing option for budget travelers--make sure you eat there, too!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pura Vista Corcovado Ecocamp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Drake Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pura Vista Corcovado Ecocamp
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“An amazing option for budget travelers--make sure you eat there, too!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

After eating at the attached Banzai Bar every day because the home-cooked meals were so darn delicious, we decided we wanted to stay another night in beautiful Drake Bay, but our current lodgings were full. We moved our stuff across the road to stay in the tent camp run by the very friendly Fernando and his wife. At first, I was a little hesitant because of the word "tent" (I love camping, but it was our honeymoon.) I shouldn't have been!

The tents, $30 a night when we stayed there, had a comfortable queen mattress on a wood frame as well as a twin bed, electricity, and were clean, well-ventilated, and roomy. There was a clean, full bathroom that we had all to ourselves right behind the tent. Best of all, the tent was on a high wooden platform overlooking the jungle. We awoke in the morning to a gorgeous view and the sounds of the jungle all around us!

Fernando and his wife made us feel very welcome. I can't recommend the attached restaurant (called the Banzai Bar) highly enough. Each night, we were served a different traditional Costa Rican meal--the best food we ate on our entire trip! I only wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S_La_Mariposa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    6
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
3
17
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leuven
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2011

Upon our arrival in St Jose, we went to a local travel agency, which recomended us this nice Ecocamp!

For 250€ we had a bus ticket to Sierpe, a boat from Sierpe to Baya Drake and back, 4 nights all-in, went snorkeling, had a trip to Corovado national camp and went to watch the dolphins!!! On top of that, Fernando took us out, the last night, which was unforgetable!!! We had such fun! Afterwards we heard that our Suisse neighbours bought this trip in advance in geneva and payed 650€ for it!!! Crazyyyy!!! Sometimes you just have to take some risks and only plan your first night in St jose!!! We didn't know what the weather would bring us and fortunatly we didn't book Tortuguero in advance, because of the massive rainfall!!!
Always go find some locals and book everything there!!! it will save you lots of money!
Thanks Fernando, his friends and family for this great time!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2010

We found the camp and accommodations to be excellent. Fernando is a great host. He made arrangements that suited our needs perfectly, including a reservation at our next stop in Cartago after leaving Bahia Drake

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 46310Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2010

We stayed here for 3 days in January, and we had the best time! Our trip to Tortuguero was cancelled because of bad weather, so we had to arrange something else on short notice. As you can understand, staying any longer in San Jose is not an option. The hotel booked us this 3 day trip to Corcovado and it was fantastic.

We are not really campers, but this is camping plus. We had a spacious, clean tent, with a good bed inside. There is electricity in the tent: a lamp and a fan. The tent stood on a private portch, with a private restroom at the back: toilet and shower. Cold water, but you don't mind after a long, hot hike through Corcovado National Park. The tent overlook the garden and you can see and hear the sea. We slept very well during our stay. You hear ofcourse the sounds of the jungle: crickets, birds and howler monkeys, but it's a constant sound, so you fall asleep very quickly.

The family that runs this place was very nice to us. Fernando, the host, likes to talk a lot and made us feel very welcome. He arranged everything for us: good guide for the hike and even the bus tickets back to San Jose. He was interested in our stories and pictures we made during our hike. The diner, which is included in the price because there are no restaurants around, was made by his wife.

The only negative thing I can say about our stay is that it was too short. You should stay at least 4 days/ 3 nights. We had a great time and would love to come back someday.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HidWoen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington State
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2009

This is our second visit this year to Pura Vista Eco Camp in Drake bay. The accomodations are simple, but all that is necessary with private bathrooms and
very clean and neat tent/rooms. There was fantastic birdwatching right off the deck, and access to Corcovado Park and cano island easily arranged by our host Fernando.
We ate like royalty here in a large open air dining room with a beautiful view over the ocean and bay. The only noises we heard were the birds and the howler monkeys!
Our Tico hosts went out of their way to make our trip special and provide the absolute best value in Costa Rica. We will return!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigGoobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Drake Bay hotels
0.0 km away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#2 of 8 in Drake Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Las Caletas Lodge
Hotel Las Caletas Lodge
#1 of 37 in Drake Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.0 km away
Ranchitos Las Cotingas
Ranchitos Las Cotingas
#6 of 18 in Drake Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
#8 of 8 in Drake Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.0 km away
Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort
0.0 km away
Aguila de Osa Inn
Aguila de Osa Inn
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pura Vista Corcovado Ecocamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pura Vista Corcovado Ecocamp

Property: Pura Vista Corcovado Ecocamp
Address: Drake Bay, Drake Bay 10000, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 37 Speciality Lodging in Drake Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our location, service and friendliness will make for a fabulous experience here in Corcovado, one of the most precious and untouched jewels of Costa Rica. We offer a simple concept hotel, clean, in a privileged location and a spectacular view to the jungle and Drake Bay, tents contain beds and are mounted on platforms with electricity, bathroom and shower. Complete packages available including tours to the National Park and Caño Island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pura Vista Corcovado Ecocamp Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing