We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breath Taking views & homey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Horizontes Corcovado
Ranked #4 of 20 Drake Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here in January 2012 and it was the most wonderful place! The B&B is attached to Yammi & Pedro's home tucked up on top of a hill over looking the ocean. It is very very clean, warm and inviting. The owners are the nicest family. They brought our bags up the hill to the house for us and planning all of our adventures. We had the best tours with the greatest guides. When we arrived we were greeted with fresh fruit and fresh squeezed juice. The food is AMAZING. We ate breakfast and dinner there. The coffee is the best I've ever had. The bathroom was very clean, the shower was warm. At night we fell asleep listening to the ocean. You couldn't ask for a better place to stay. It was the perfect place to getaway from reality and relax.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ebeth9012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
There are newer reviews for Casa Horizontes Corcovado
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 95 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2012

the location is amazing, the view from the veranda is beautiful and Drake is the best area in Costa Rica, a must visit place. The walk up to the guest house is steep but worth it and not that far. The guest house is an addition to their home and is nothing fancy but is lovely,clean tidy and all that you need. There are 3 rooms downstairs and 1 upstairs, 3 of these share a small but adaquete bathroom.The rooms are small and simple,clean and tidy. The breakfast is served on the wonderfull veranda whenever you like and is great. they always gave us coffee,juice and bisquits/fruit when we came back in the afternoon from our trips out. Yami and Pedro are so sweet and just can not do enough to help you and make your stay great, they are the most guenuine family we have met in costa rica, yamis english is very good, pedro does not speak much english. they have a cute daughter,glorianna, and a son. the other staff there are friendly and helpful. there are not lots of independent places to stay in Drake, mainly all inclusive resorts, and from what we saw of those they are not really worth the money!there are 3 places to eat in the village, or they cook wonderfull meals at Horizontes, so you dont need to be at a all inclusive place. This really was a highlight of 2 months in costa rica, both drake bay and yami and pedro, we will never forget them and can only say...STAY HERE, you will LOVE IT!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lucy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

I truly cannot say enough good things about this B&B!

Pedro and Yami are an incredible duo, who really go the extra mile to make sure their guests are comfortable. Pedro picked us up in the bay with his 4-wheel drive jeep, which was helpful in getting all of our stuff up the hill to their place. Other reviewers are right, it is a bit of a climb but completely worth it! Yami had prepared fruit and juice for our arrival and there were fresh flowers in our room. It’s little details like this that made all the difference. The house itself is incredible. Pedro made it himself in the mid-90s and the craftsmanship is astounding. The home is very secluded with beautiful views, and the bathrooms open up to the outside a bit, so you feel very nestled in nature. I recommend waking up early to hear and listen to the variety of birds as they emerge in the morning. Perhaps you will catch a white-faced capuchin monkey or two as well!

Yami was incredibly helpful in organizing all of our activities. Her sister Ilia is a guide and she came to the house multiple nights to talk us through our decisions. Yami also did our laundry for a small additional fee. The only thing we needed to leave the cabin in search of was nature! Unfortunately, my girlfriend got a bit ill on the trip (from a cucumber eaten a couple of days before our arrival — nothing Yami made), and Yami was incredibly thoughtful — she made us a couple of home remedies and made sure that my girlfriend had a pitcher of boiled water. The house does have a kitchen that you are able to use, but you have to make sure you can work around Yami’s meal schedule. She runs a tight ship! Oh, and the coffee! My girlfriend and I are a bit snobbish about our coffee and the coffee here is some of the best we had in the country. Her small kitchen staff also had no problem making us a pot in the afternoon and even did so without us asking once they realized our habits!

Also — the cabin has wireless internet! We were convinced that it didn’t after reading the reviews here, but we found out the last day that they do. You may have to ask them to turn on the computer, but it’s there.

If you are looking for an unforgettable visit to the Osa Peninsula, this is the place. I think that many people stay on the other side of the peninsula, but if you want to avoid crowds a bit, Drake Bay might be a better location. There are also stunning, secluded beaches just a short walk up or down the coast. If you are on a budget, you can see many of the same animals along the coast for free that you can see in Corcovado National Park (which costs around $90 for guide, food and transportation) and it is legal to camp within fifty meters from high tide. The bay may also offer better views of the sunset than the park itself.

I can’t wait to return!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank espialidocious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We absolutely loved Casa Horizontes (though prefer to call it Yammi y Pedro's)! This lovely B&B is located in an absolutely delightful setting - surrounded by trees and plants of all types, as well as hummingbirds, wrens, monkeys, and more. On our arrival, Yammi took us out to the balcony for some juice and fruit and pointed out a pair of scarlet macaws landing in the tree in front of us. Our jaws dropped at the gorgeous couple, and she chuckled and asked, "Is it your first time seeing macaws?" It is quite a climb to reach the B&B, but Pedro greeted us with his 4x4 so that we didn't have to carry our luggage up the hill. Besides, the view of the bay, nestled in the trees, is more than worth it.

Everything about this place was wonderful, from the view to the clean and comfortable accommodations to the delicious dinners. What makes it truly exceptional though is Yammi and Pedro (and their lovely daughter Gloriana) with their warm hospitality and constant readiness to help out and make your stay the best one. When I got the traveler's D, Yammi chopped up some garlic in olive oil for me to take, followed by some lime juice. Although I didn't expect it to, it worked like a charm and let me enjoy one of the most beautiful places I have ever been to. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank majnun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We stayed with Yami & Pedro for 2 nights in the middle of December. They were very gracious hosts and Yami REALLY helped me with a money-related issue. I will not go into details, but her assistance really helped make our stay unforgettable.

Their place is a short walk from the beach (about 5 minutes uphill) - it's a bit slippery if it's raining, but the view from their deck is grand. We stayed in the Toucan room - it was spotless and had a nice breeze.

The beach isn't something that you want to be swimming in, but there's a swimming beach about a 30 min walk away (no matter where you are staying, there are very few of the guesthouses that are directly in front of a swim beach.

Thanks Yami & Pedro!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeremyi168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Drake Bay hotels
0.8 km away
Aguila de Osa
Aguila de Osa
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
480 reviews
0.5 km away
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
#8 of 8 in Drake Bay
355 reviews
0.9 km away
Drake Bay Wilderness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Casita Corcovado
Casita Corcovado
#3 of 20 in Drake Bay
189 reviews
0.3 km away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#1 of 8 in Drake Bay
189 reviews
1.9 km away
Pirate Cove
Pirate Cove
#7 of 8 in Drake Bay
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Horizontes Corcovado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Horizontes Corcovado

Address: | 200 meters south of the Agujitas's School, Drake Bay 00506, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Drake Bay
Price Range: €76 - €148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Horizontes Corcovado 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The house is a wooded building, with an ocean view balcony, located away from the main town, but just 200 meters from the beach; it also has a tropical garden with a lot of forest in the backyard, a lot of wildlife is spotted from the balcony. Yamileth and Pedro Caravaca offer rooms with a ceiling fun, and shared hot water shower, breakfast, laundry service, tours and transportation info. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Casa Horizontes Corcovado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Horizontes Corcovado Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing