We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below Budget”
Review of Desert Quail Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Desert Quail Inn
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2011

My expectations were low for desert quail-motel,and it did not even meet those .I expected a clean, budget motel. well it was budget but it just felt like it needed a good scrub throughout.
To add to the negative experience the bed was very hard and pool was small dirty and water was cold.
I also dislike location.. i would not stay here

Room Tip: Over price
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ke-pow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,226 - 1,230 of 1,326 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2011

I found the reviews to over-rate this hotel. The staff is very nice and the room was clean enough. But it is really like a Motel 6 level, out-dated and it does not have scenic views.

If you want to be in the heart of Sedona (which we did) this would not be my top choice. There are stores around this hotel, but the shopping area most of us think of is driving distance. I would have rather been walking distance. If you wanted to be in a scenic area, I would pick a hotel closer to the mountains. There are some great options up by Slide Rock.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kylie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesertQuailInn, General Manager at Desert Quail Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2011

Dear Kylie,
Thank you for staying with us. I am sorry we did not meet your expectations. We appreciate feedback from our guest, good or bad. We appreciate your positive comments on our staff and for our cleanliness. We do not have scenic views, but we aim to provide our guest with clean, comfortable and "affordable" lodging accommodations in Sedona. We should finish updating all our rooms by mid-December with modern furniture, LCD TV, new lamps and much more. Give us a chance to earn back your business after we finish our updates, you will find good value in us.
Nilesh Bhakta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We just came back from 6 days in Sedona. We stayed at the Desert Quail for the first time and will stay there again. We started with only making reservations for three nights but liked it so much we extended our stay there. The staff was friendly, helpful and efficient. The room was impeccably clean and spacious. There was a microwave and fridge on the room which was very appreciated. There is the Red Rock Cafe (excellent food) and a market behind the inn which was very convenient. The inn is also near some very nice businesses including PJ Village Pub which is a place the locals hang out. My husband and I had excellent burgers there and would go back there again. The Desert Quail in addition to the other business mentioned here were excellent value for the money. Overall we we so impressed with this Inn and this location.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jmaple11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesertQuailInn, General Manager at Desert Quail Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2011

Dear Jmaple11,

Our housekeeping staff truely appreaciate your kind words. They do a fantastic job. Our goal is to ensure you have a comfortable and memorable stay. Thank you again for your riview.

Nilesh Bhakta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Nick and staff were the highlight of our 5 day stay. Nick was very helpful in telling us of the attractions and amendities in the area. He was gracious and went out of his way to make us feel welcome. He was a great host, not just another inn keeper more interested in our credit card then in our stay. The rooms were spacious and clean and affordable. Loved sitting by the pool in mid-October and working on my tan. Would highly reccommend the Desert Quail Inn to anyone staying in the Sedona area. Thanks for making our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LebanonOrDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesertQuailInn, General Manager at Desert Quail Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2011

Thank you for your kind words. We do our best to make each guests stay enjoyable. We hope to see you soon again.

Nilesh Bhakta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Nice inexpensive motel just off the Highway, very large and clean rooms, comfy bed, friendly staff, small pool, room comes with fridge and coffee maker and there's a supermarket and coffee place right behind the motel (which you can't see from the highway), this worked out great for breakfast or if you wanted to buy some snacks.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdmontonDisneyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesertQuailInn, General Manager at Desert Quail Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2011

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again.

Nilesh Bhakta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedona hotels
9.7 km away
Best Western Plus Inn of Sedona
10.4 km away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
10.1 km away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 km away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
0.2 km away
The Views Inn Sedona
The Views Inn Sedona
#16 of 48 in Sedona
911 reviews
0.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Sedona - Oak Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Quail Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Quail Inn

Address: 6626 Highway 179, Sedona, AZ 86351-7910
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sedona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#6 Family Hotel in Sedona
#11 Business Hotel in Sedona
Price Range: €84 - €136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Desert Quail Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Deset Quail Inn Sedona is located in the heart of Sedona's Red Rock Country, just 7 miles south of Uptown Sedona in the Village of Oak Creek. The Desert Quail Inn Sedona offers beautifully furnished Guest Rooms and Guest Suites featuring in-room Jacuzzi's, cozy Fireplaces, Microwave and Refrigerator in all rooms, soft sheets, plush towels, and Upgraded Amenities. Office hours 8:00 AM - 10:00 PM. Check hours 3:30 PM - 10:00 PM ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Desert Quail Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Quail Hotel Sedona
Desert Quail Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing