We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A good deal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of 3 Palms Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
3 Palms Hotel
Ranked #31 of 76 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A good deal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

The 3 Palms is a great deal. Good location next to park and across from supermarket, beautiful pool area, with fountain and bar, new decor and flat tv's in the room, and a staff that works hard to please. If you are looking for 5 star resort accommodation or service, spend more and go somewhere else. 3 Palms provides a very reasonable rate and nice features at the hotel.

For example, the in-room fridge and microwave, enabled us to cook and/or eat some of our meals in the room, adding both convenience and savings. The pool area has a very large and very warm (not too hot!) spa/hot tub, which is wonderful.

The down side, as someone else mentioned, is that the hotel seems understaffed especially in the front desk area, where only one person at a time was on duty. This led to some issues, such as my I.D. not being returned to me after check-in, and not being notified by the front desk for 4 days! The manager took a bit off our bill to make up for the hassle we went through (and expense) of having other I.D. sent from home, thinking the drivers license was gone.
Also, the maid service was slow in arriving sometimes, and one day we needed to call the front desk at 5 pm to let them know the room hadn't been done at all. However, having said these things, 3 Palms is fine, as the front desk is very accommodating if they are told something is needed and/or overlooked.

I would stay there again, if I was on a budget, as this time.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    669
    404
    144
    75
    110
See reviews for
244
463
162
247
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

We booked in, feeling slightly apprehensive due to some of the previous comments. However we had a fantastic couple of nights stay!! The room was very clean and the decoration modern and bright and so refreshing in a hotel of this type. The pool was really clean and the jacuzzi nice and warm - the weather was quite chilly during our stay!! All the staff were friendly, particularly at the desk who were more than willing to give helpful local info! The walls are quite thin and with the walkway outside your window there is the potential for noise, however we were there over a weekend and found it to be very quiet. The bed was really comfortable. We found it to be fantastic value and would definately stay again!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nlm123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, WA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

We stayed here 4 nights on a week-long trip to Arizona. We were so lucky to have warm, sunny weather at the end of February ,so we had a chance soak up the sun at the pool. Our room overlooked a park with a small lake that was busy with youg families, disc golf players, bikers, runners, etc. We were intially given a room on the pool side, which gets the morning sun, but we requested a change to the park side and were cheerfully re-asssigned. I agree with others that the rooms are on the small side, but for the 2 of us it was fine. The beds are so comfortable with upscale bedding There is a nice Jacuzzi in the room, which I enjoyed, and the hot tub at the pool is huge, sparkling clean and inviting. There is also a nice poolside bar. One standout feature is the cleanliness of this hotel.
. Fridge and microwave were helpful as was the in-room safe. There is a big grocery store right across the street. They have one of the best bakeries I've ever come across. Try a bear claw!
If you like a little touch of nature in the city, this is a great option. . Oh, and by the way, the street that goes past this hotel is not a through street, which means you can actually get a good nights sleep!
We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We liked the side faccing the park so we could have a nice view when we woke up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank calkatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

This was a pleasant surprise. From the outside I thought oh oh but inside the rooms I was very impressed. It was clean with newly updated decor and the restaurant across the parking lot was quite lovely. Housekeeping was quick and very good (but you have to ask for facecloths and toilet paper it seems). Across the street is a beautiful park with a walking trail and lots of ducks and birds in the water. It was wonderful waking up in the morning and going out to fresh air instead of car exhaust.
On the downside it seems to be quite under staffed but the people who are there were very nice and so helpful to deal with.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TerrieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

My wife and I spent a long weekend at the 3 Palms in early February. Since we didn't plan on spending much time at the hotel, we were looking for something nice, but not too expensive.

Overall, the hotel was fair, but for the service you get, it should of been much much cheaper (not that is was expensive, but for the poor service, it should be much less).

HOUSEKEEPING was an absolute DISASTER. We never had washcloths or when we did, we would receive one washcloth for two guests. That single one was never replaced with a clean one. The same would go for the towels, in which the wet ones would not get replaced either. At one point, we went to the front desk to ask for washcloths and they said they would send some over immediately. Over two hours later and they never arrived.

Drinking glasses were also never replaced with new ones. There was no option to have the sheets changed with fresh ones (like some hotels offer), so I assume the old ones stayed. The shower head only had some spouts working, so it was like showering under a trickle of water. With this problem we would have requested a new room, but we discovered this after we were already unpacked. Since most aspects of the housekeeping were so poor, I really began to question the CLEANLINESS of the place.

We did question the SECURITY of the hotel and premises mainly because outside gates from the parking lots onto the grounds were not locked at night time. Anyone would simply be able to walk in and have access to roam the halls of the hotel. I bring this up mainly because other hotels either lock the gates or require key card entry to parking lot entrances after a certain hour. Again, like other places, there was no added dead bolt to your room door. Although these details might not bother some people, I figured I would include it for those who are a bit more security minded.

The pool area was fine and there were not many guests, so seating was not an issue. We cannot comment on the food since we ate out every night. The hotel was pretty quiet and loud guests next door who came in from a night of partying at one in the morning were adequately dealt with by a call to the front desk.

In conclusion, the hotel is rather dated (which is fine) and really lacks the basic amenities you would find in any hotel. This was exacerbated by conversations with the front desk staff that proved to do nothing to help remedy the situation. Although the rates are not super high, especially by Scottsdale standards, the 3 Palms SHOULD COST SIGNIFICANTLY LESS considering the service you receive.

Since there are so many places to choose from, DEFINITELY shop around for something better!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dorian Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
The Scottsdale Inn
#38 of 76 in Scottsdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Downtown Scottsdale
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 3 Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 3 Palms Hotel

Property: 3 Palms Hotel
Address: 7707 E McDowell Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85257-3743
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Scottsdale
#23 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#28 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#29 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 3 Palms Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you enter our stunning yet intimate lobby, the desert stone accents set in the hand laid white crystal granite warn you to expect something special including a level of service that some people consider sublime. All of our rooms and suites are tastefully appointed with carefully selected modern art, contemporary custom made furnishings, and entertainment centers. Our guests of this Scottsdale Hotel bask in the comfort of our super deluxe pillow top beds dressed with 400-thread count linens, down comforters, and four equally soft down pillows. Passionate attention to detail continues throughout the 3 Palms Hotel in Scottsdale, with features selected with your comfort and convenience in mind. Cable/satellite TV with premium channels, DVD players, stereos, refrigerators, microwaves, and the all important coffee maker are just some of the amenities we've included in anticipation of your every need at our boutique Scottsdale hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your 3 Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Palms Resort Oasis Hotel Scottsdale
Three Palms Resort Oasis Scottsdale
3 Palms Scottsdale
3 Palms Hotel Scottsdale, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing