We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hike, bring water!”
Review of Pinnacle Peak Park

Pinnacle Peak Park
Ranked #4 of 163 things to do in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
252 reviews
118 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Great hike, bring water!”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

This approximately 6 Km. hike goes up and down on an easy to moderate climb/descent.
This is a one way trail, so you'll have to retrace your path to get back.
Bring water! The only distraction on this heavily used trail is the runners that try to pass you no matter what.
Glad we went, a very enjoyable workout.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Subielover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    506
    188
    35
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Vistas Abound”
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Marvellous attraction for hikers - easy trail for most with turnaround points, not a loop trail. Facilities, range guided talks, and more. Go there for 360 degree views. Note your limits, respect the heat, watch for slithering critters, wide trail. Parking easy. Talk quietly on the mountain, your sound carries far.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank irongeezelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
145 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice hike but watch the crowds”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Pinnacle Peak is a great "moderate to easy" hike. Nice views of the surrounding private golf clubs (Estancia, Desert Highlands and Troon CC) as well as up into Carefree, Cave Creek and teh surrounding areas of Scottsdale. Parking and crowds on the trail can be a problem in season on the weekends.
This description is pretty accurate: "The trail has a very smooth tread with a number of ups and downs over the course of the 1.75 mile trail (one way). It is not a loop trail so you come back over the same trail. High point on the trail is 2,889', the lowest point is 2,366', and the elevation at the trailhead is 2,570'."

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swartz Creek, Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Easy Breezy Enjoyable Hike”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I am new to the area and my cousin suggested hiking at Pinnacle Peak Park. Was a little concerned about what I'd gotten myself into. This was a great easy going relaxing type of hike. I noticed families, children, etc. and knew that if they could make the hike, I shouldn't have a problem, and I didn't. We hiked at our own pace and the view was spectaculor -- best in Scottsdale so far! I believe it was 2 miles. (up and back). Looked like very popoular place and I would definitely return to hike again!! Best to have a hiking boot as there is loose gravel and you need to have good traction especially on the hike down. : )

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank royalzebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Stunning Views”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I live in the area and *seasonally* (i.e., when its not so freakin hot) come to Pinnacle Peak to hike the trail.

The best times to hike are mid morning during the week. Weekends especially during local events (like PGA stops) can be too crowded and detract from the natural beauty and the ability to relax and commune with nature.

The ranger station has information on guided tours/educational programs.

The hike is moderately accessible, with switchbacks allowing for a rest. The hardest part is the first 1/3 mile, after that, it eases off. The views are stupendous, not only of the desert scenery but you can peer into the back yards of some of the most gorgeous homes in the area.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Winged_Scapula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pinnacle Peak Park also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Pinnacle Peak Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing