We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location but rude guest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gainey Suites Hotel
Ranked #6 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We have stayed at the Gainey Suites several times and it is a great location in Scottsdale and the rooms are very nice. The beds are softer than what I prefer but the linens and towels are very nice. Something however has happened to this place and maybe it was the time of year but we have stayed here in Feb. and March before and had not encountered some of the issues. There seemed to be a large group of very elderly people staying at Gainey Suites this time and that is fine but it tended to give the traveler the feeling of staying in an assisted living facility. Some of the guests were very protective of “their table” and if others sat at the empty table, they were made to feel unwelcome. During the breakfast buffet, they would crowd many chairs around one table and thus making access to the free breakfast buffet line difficult. The hotel seemed to be very full, with large groups attempting to gather food from the free buffet and it was so bad, that we elected to go out for breakfast and pay for our food since it was such an unpleasant environment. So if you stay here because of the free breakfast buffet, just plan on nearly needing to fight for your food and then fight for a place to sit. I have stayed here at least six other times and I have never encountered such rude guests . The staff here are friendly and helpful and they do an excellent job with keeping the rooms clean.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LilysueCEO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,518)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,181 - 1,185 of 1,518 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2012

Just spent 5 days there and chose it because of the ratings we were not disappointed. Great room loved the breakfast buffet and the sociable evening drinks gatherings. Staff were friendly and went out of there way to make our stay special. Great value we will certainly return.

Room Tip: Courtyard room was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colin024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Well appointed and conveniently located property. The staff is courteous and accomodating except for one who yelled at me for "double dipping" in the Salsa bowl. The hotel provides an included breakfast and happy hour which are both quality and substantial. The grounds are well maintained. Overall a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dennis h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Our family of 5 shared a 2 bedroom suite. The beds were really comfortable, except the sofa bed which was just the usual. Our suite had a full kitchen which we didn't need to use. Breakfast had a great selection and one morning poached eggs in a spicy salsa were incredible. We enjoyed a glass of wine at night and the food served was pretty good- pizza one night and pulled pork sliders the next. The kids enjoyed playing on the grass with other kids and we enjoyed the fire pits. Lovely pool and spa area.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaynic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Stayed here with a group of friends. Nice rooms with kitchenette and pull-out sofa. Enjoyed the happy hour and complimentary breakfast. Cozy fire pits on the patio. Staff was very accommodating.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Courtney C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paradise Valley
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gainey Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gainey Suites Hotel

Address: 7300 East Gainey Suites Drive, Scottsdale, AZ 85258-2061
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#3 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#3 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range: €178 - €352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gainey Suites Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in exclusive Gainey Ranch in the heart of all that makes Scottsdale a world class destination, the hotel offers a more intimate and relaxed upscale alternative to the large resorts. Well-appointed suites feature the new Gainey Suite Dreams bed with hypo-allergenic "Touch of Down" pillows, 300 thread-count linens, elegant marble baths & vanities, comfortable living areas with free Wi-Fi, HDTV with Chromecast technology, and fully equipped residential style kitchens. Guests also enjoy a full hot breakfast buffet and evening reception with hot and cold hors d'oeuvres, beer & wine daily, served in our Hearth Room & Patio. Relax in our lush oasis-like pool and Jacuzzi, or kick back at the Terrace Bar overlooking the beautiful courtyard and desert gardens. Next door, explore the Shops-Gainey Village and a collection of great restaurants. Pamper yourself at The Spa-Gainey Village or tee it up nearby at some of the best courses in the "Valley of the Sun". We hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Gainey Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gainey Hotel Scottsdale
Gainey Suites Hotel Scottsdale, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing