We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location but rude guest” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gainey Suites Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gainey Suites Hotel
Ranked #4 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice location but rude guest”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

We have stayed at the Gainey Suites several times and it is a great location in Scottsdale and the rooms are very nice. The beds are softer than what I prefer but the linens and towels are very nice. Something however has happened to this place and maybe it was the time of year but we have stayed here in Feb. and March before and had not encountered some of the issues. There seemed to be a large group of very elderly people staying at Gainey Suites this time and that is fine but it tended to give the traveler the feeling of staying in an assisted living facility. Some of the guests were very protective of “their table” and if others sat at the empty table, they were made to feel unwelcome. During the breakfast buffet, they would crowd many chairs around one table and thus making access to the free breakfast buffet line difficult. The hotel seemed to be very full, with large groups attempting to gather food from the free buffet and it was so bad, that we elected to go out for breakfast and pay for our food since it was such an unpleasant environment. So if you stay here because of the free breakfast buffet, just plan on nearly needing to fight for your food and then fight for a place to sit. I have stayed here at least six other times and I have never encountered such rude guests . The staff here are friendly and helpful and they do an excellent job with keeping the rooms clean.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LilysueCEO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,005
    277
    61
    29
    7
See reviews for
445
509
59
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

Just spent 5 days there and chose it because of the ratings we were not disappointed. Great room loved the breakfast buffet and the sociable evening drinks gatherings. Staff were friendly and went out of there way to make our stay special. Great value we will certainly return.

Room Tip: Courtyard room was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank colin024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louisville
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

Well appointed and conveniently located property. The staff is courteous and accomodating except for one who yelled at me for "double dipping" in the Salsa bowl. The hotel provides an included breakfast and happy hour which are both quality and substantial. The grounds are well maintained. Overall a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dennis h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
219 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

Our family of 5 shared a 2 bedroom suite. The beds were really comfortable, except the sofa bed which was just the usual. Our suite had a full kitchen which we didn't need to use. Breakfast had a great selection and one morning poached eggs in a spicy salsa were incredible. We enjoyed a glass of wine at night and the food served was pretty good- pizza one night and pulled pork sliders the next. The kids enjoyed playing on the grass with other kids and we enjoyed the fire pits. Lovely pool and spa area.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaynic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

Stayed here with a group of friends. Nice rooms with kitchenette and pull-out sofa. Enjoyed the happy hour and complimentary breakfast. Cozy fire pits on the patio. Staff was very accommodating.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Courtney C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
8.0 km away
Hotel Valley Ho
Hotel Valley Ho
#5 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
7.0 km away
The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician
0.6 km away
Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
The McCormick Scottsdale
The McCormick Scottsdale
#32 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
6.1 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Scottsdale Resort
9.0 km away
Fairmont Scottsdale Princess
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gainey Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gainey Suites Hotel

Property: Gainey Suites Hotel
Address: 7300 East Gainey Suites Drive, Scottsdale, AZ 85258-2061
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#3 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#3 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gainey Suites Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Guests,In the heart of all that makes Scottsdale, AZ "a world class destination" and perfectly located in the exclusive oasis-like Scottsdale neighborhood of Gainey Ranch where you can walk, run, or bike on winding paths past golf courses, parks, and greenbelts; and next door to the Shops & Restaurants at Gainey Village. And just around the corner you can work out at the Gainey Village Health Club or pamper yourself at "The Spa" (enjoy special rates for our hotel guests) The Gainey Suites Hotel is a unique, upscale boutique-style retreat that offers a more intimate, inclusive, and relaxing alternative to the hassles, higher rates and additional fees of the larger chain resorts in Scottsdale, AZ.We are pleased to announce that our $1.5 million renovation of our guest suites and public areas is complete. In our guest suites you'll find all new contemporary wood cabinetry and stainless steel kitchen appliance ensembles, living areas with custom crafted trestle style desks, desktop power and charging stations, FREE Wi-Fi, and HDTV, faux leather task chairs, sleek new cordless telephones, and distinctive porcelain desk lamps, along with granite tops on the night stands. You'll also see new carpet throughout the hotel corridors and public areas as well as elegantly re-designed function space.The stunning new Travertine stone pool deck and spa/Jacuzzi with spectacular new furniture, upper deck fire pit and poolside cabanas is now completed.Our new lobby and beautifully crafted guest services reception and Gift Shop is complete featuring an interactive Scottsdale Experience center with adventure & activities videos and the amazing e-Monscierge with a free ap you can even download that will tell you what is locally all around you...all to make your Scottsdale Experience simply FANTASTIC!Our new Terrace Patio Bar is now open! It is a classy and cozy Wine & Barista Bar inside and on the outside patio, a full-service al fresco "Santa Barbara Style" bar done in rich teak woods with a vibrant mosaic tile back wall, and colorful accent awnings that adds a wonderful new dimension to the Gainey guest experience.We so greatly appreciate your business and are very excited to share all these wonderful property enhancements with you. We are at your service!Sincerely,The Gainey Suites Hotel Family ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Gainey Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gainey Hotel Scottsdale
Gainey Suites Hotel Scottsdale, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing