We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (96)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveller rating
79
12
2
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
79
12
2
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews palo verde private garage b bs each morning small refrigerator and microwave within walking distance sitting room beautiful pool a king size bed light rail the wi fi location is great suite retreat fireplace camelback arizona
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 96 reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2012

This was my birthday present to myself and so worth it. Joan's breakfasts are so wonderful and the basket arrival just the right touch and never having to leave the room. Even if the weather did not cooperate, the room and the fireplace did so help. Every time I have stayed here, has been special. Truly a wonderful oasis from the rush of the city. Good places to walk to in the area and excellent bistros to eat at in the close neighborhoods surrounding this bed and breakfast.

Room Tip: Each of the rooms have their own charm. The library room is separated from the other area so nice and quiet. The reflection room has the open area surrounding it but still is quiet and peaceful.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

This is just a great place to stay. The rooms are lovely and Joan's breakfast basket sets you up for the day. We arrived after a fraught drive from the airport and were welcomed into the Library Room which has a sitting area as well as large bedroom and bathroom. Also a patio where we had breakfast. Several good bar/restaurants in walking distance.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RogerA1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We had a wonderful stay here, the grounds were inviting, the bed was awesome! Sitting by the pool dipping our feet, having a take out dinner under the pergola. Maricopa Manor was what it said it would be. We enjoyed the breakfast outside on the patio, it was a nice romantic get a way from the hustle and bustle of life. I would (and have) recommend it to many who are heading to the Phoenix area. Keep up the good work Joan.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Dawnthemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

My daughter was married at the Maricopa Manor in June. It was our goal to have a simple, somewhat inexpensive, intimate, fun, and "different" type of wedding. We rented all 6 of the suites (each is decorated uniquely and BEAUTIFULLY,) and the grounds. To rent the grounds, we were required to guarantee 5 of the rooms for at least one night. All rooms open up onto the grounds, so this makes sense. You would NOT want to be a guest with a reception going on in the backyard! The bride contingency is all from the east coast so it was exactly what we were looking for - wedding grounds, rooms, plus personal/unique setting. Each room had a coffee maker, a microwave, and small refrigerator. There was also a basket of "snack goodies" to enjoy throughout the stay. We had several different needs for room size and accommodations and they were able to meet them all. Each evening we were asked when and how we wanted breakfast served the next morning. Joan, the owner/wife, made homemade breads, egg souffles, fresh fruit cups, coffee, and juice and served them to us in picnic baskets either separately or family style. Homemade quality, because it's homemade! We asked to be served separately as nobody wanted to set a meeting time for breakfast, but almost always at least 5-8 of us were gathered together outside at one of the patio tables and then the stragglers/late risers started showing up and she rolled with the punches. The pool is lovely, the grounds are lovely - several water fountains, well maintained gardens and patio areas. There is a large pergola/patio in the middle of the outdoor areas which we decorated with lights and organza and used as a dance floor. The rehearsal dinner was a pool party and we hired a "Senoran" Hot Dog truck to come and make famous "Senoran" hotdogs. Simple enough. They opened their back gates for table/chair delivery, Senoran Hotdog Truck, etc., and all was good. On Friday nights they have a different hotdog vendor who comes to a festive fenced off area outside/on the edge of their grounds. We didn't utilize it, but I would like to some day. And on the wedding day? They pitched in and helped us put on a beautiful wedding.

The owners worked RELENTLESSLY with us and for us to make the wedding/our trip so special. They offered not only help, but ideas, and resources. They worked like they were family. I cannot say enough about the amazing "them" and our amazing "little" wedding and the BEAUTIFUL Maricopa Manor Bed and Breakfast Inn. So if you are tired of big, impersonal hotels? You need to stay here. I can't wait to go back!

P.S. It may be in downtown Phoenix, but located in a lovely neighborhood and within walking distance to all kinds of great amenities - restaurants, gourmet grocery store, sandwich shop, etc. And you never get the feeling all that surrounds you! Henceforth, "An Oasis in downtown Phoenix." Scott and Joan/owners - you are amazing!

Room Tip: They are all beautiful, but some have fireplaces and jacuzzi tubs - some have extra sleeping accommodations (pull out sofa or day beds.) You can't go wrong. They are all beautiful!
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights in May. I had to be in Phoenix for a business trip and we decided to make a long weekend out of it but did not want to stay at the corporate resort. What a great place! It was perfectly located in the middle of Phoenix with easy driving access to all the local attractions (Musical Instrument Museum, Taliesin West, Apache Trail, etc). There's even a cool wine bar within walking distance (Postino Cafe).

We stayed in the Library Room, which had a separate bedroom and sitting area. The bed was comfy, we had our own climate control, and the room was very private. The decorations made it feel downright homey. The sitting area had an old tube TV but they had full cable and even some of the premium channels and on-demand service. The wi-fi unfortunately did not work in the room but it worked in the garden and there was an Ethernet cable in the sitting area that worked fine with my laptop. There was also a basket of snacks that was kept stocked with everything from trail mix to chips to fruit to candy, and a refrigerator with bottled water.

Breakfast every day was a treat, consisting of a quiche, muffins, juice, and a bowl of fresh cut fruit (we are not coffee drinkers but I think you can get that too). It was delicious! On the first day we were asked what time we wanted breakfast and every morning at that time there was a light knock at the door and a picnic basket was left just outside.

The only quibble we had was the shower. Not sure if it is particular to this room, but it took a long time for the hot water to heat and you had to do it by running the tap in the sink for several minutes until it got hot, then shutting it off and starting the shower. Once you did this there was plenty of hot water, but the volume of water coming out was quite low (pressure was good, just low volume).

That being said, I was debating between giving 4 or 5 stars (4.5?), until one day we were discussing with the owner how we intended to head out to drive the Apache Trail. When we went out to our car, lo and behold there was a cooler sitting right outside the driver's side door filled with ice and bottled water! That was an incredible touch.

All in all, we were very satisfied with our stay, the breakfast, the location, the cleanliness and comfort, and the hospitality of the owner.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helix72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews