We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent except for...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Ranked #11 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Syracuse, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent except for...”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

I was at the Royal Palms during winter break last week. My husband and I took our teenage son. We stayed in one of the Valencia rooms and even though they are close to the road, it was fine because my son had his own room. He could close doors and have his own bedroom. Traffic noise was minimal/ The grounds are spectacular and the resort is so quiet even though it was almost at full capacity. We did see a few empty glasses and wine bottles in some areas of the property on Sunday morning. They were probably left over from Saturday night. We were surprised that they had not been cleaned. The atmosphere is relaxed and the service is truly superb. Spa services were also top notch. The only exception was dinner at T. J. Cook's. Our breakfasts at the restaurant were very good (the bar menu looked great) but when we went for dinner we were very disappointed. My husband's paella (their signature dish) was dry. My son's steak was overcooked even though he ordered it medium. His roasted vegetables were inedible (very, very roasted). I ordered the Carbonara and the top layer was very dry. It seems that the pasta was put in the over and this formed a dry pasta layer on top. Stay at the resort, by all means, but skip dinner at the restaurant. Go to one of the many fine restaurants in the area, i.e. Marcellino.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Firenze1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sescobedo, Manager at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at our historic estate. Please accept our most sincere apology for disappointments you encountered at T.Cook's. The meal you described certainly does not sound like the standards that we strive to maintain and our Executive Chef would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you further. Please feel free to contact the hotel and ask for him directly. Thank you and we look forward to your visit to Royal Palms again soon!

Warm regards,
Sarah Escobedo
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,568 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,162
    244
    95
    47
    20
See reviews for
214
774
72
283
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Love the feel of the grounds! Very relaxing and different. Rooms very nice, casita style. Service great as well. Favorite of all fine hotels in Phoenix, AZ area.

Helpful?
Thank Adventure-Team_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

This is an older resort has has been well maintained. Small and cozy with excellent customer service. Excellent restaurant on site.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelNow61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, Delaware
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We hesitate to recommend this hotel for fear you will fall in love with it as much as we do. We have nothing but the highest praise for everything they do from check in to food to knowing our names to the pool. It is simply the best we have ever stayed in all over the world.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grntmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sescobedo, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Palms Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Thank you for recommending Royal Palms! We are so happy to hear that you consider Royal Palms as one of the best resorts in the world. We certainly strive for all of our guests to leave feeling this way and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe, AZ
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2012

My wife and I spent a belated Valentine's Day weekend here and it couldn't have been better. From the lounge, to the award-winning restaurant (T Cooks), to the rooms, everything/everyone was amazing!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkhall19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phoenix
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
#1 of 5 in Paradise Valley
1,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
#20 of 75 in Scottsdale
2,161 reviews
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palms Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palms Resort and Spa

Property: Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Address: 5200 East Camelback Road, Phoenix, AZ 85018-3020
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Camelback East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#5 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#7 Green Hotel in Phoenix
#12 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Palms Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Manor of Taste, Royal Palms provides an engaging and unforgettable journey for all senses. Built in 1929, this enchanting Spanish Mediterranean mansion offers 119 artfully appointed casitas, estate rooms and villas. On every stroll through winding cobblestone pathways guests will discover romantic nooks, crackling fireplaces and splashing courtyard fountains. Intimate and tranquil, Alvadora Spa indulges the senses with natural beauty and the finest spa amenities. T. Cook's crafted, thoughtful and bold approach to food, complemented with The Mix Up bar's inventive mixology, is yet another reason to make Royal Palms a must-see destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Palms Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palms Hotel Phoenix
Royal Palms Resort And Spa Phoenix, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing