We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$219
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Renaissance Hotels
US$215
View deal
Free cancellation until 01/10/21
Expedia.com
US$219
View deal
Hotels.comUS$219
Orbitz.comUS$219
PricelineUS$219
View all 20 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,167)
Filter reviews
1,167 results
Traveller rating
660
353
99
28
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
660
353
99
28
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the concierge lounge loss prevention front desk within walking distance valet parking hotel is beautiful light rail lobby cutter conference dust closet
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 1,167 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2021

Visited in July 2021 and thought that the property was very nice. It's in central downtown so you can walk everywhere, and it's about 10 minutes from the airport.

The room was decently sized, the bed was comfortable, there was a large TV, a desk, and a separate seating area. Bathroom has a shower with the toilet adjacent, while sinks are in adjoining area.

Everyone at the front desk was very polite. The lobby was spacious and well-maintained.

Gym is fairly small - it gets crowded between 6-7 am. There are signs up saying that a mask must be worn (due to COVID) but no one does. There is also a pool outside that is a bit small if you want to do laps, but probably fun for kids to play in.

Due to COVID, rooms are only being serviced every 3 days unless by request. I was fine with this but I would recommend that they provide more than 1 of the small shampoo/conditioner, etc. with this policy - that's not enough to get me through 3 days (long hair) and while you can go to the front desk and request more, they didn't have it available immediately and it took more than an hour to get it delivered to my room. Minor drawback, but overall, didn't detract from the stay.

WiFi is free if you're a Marriott Bonvoy member, otherwise you have to pay (standard for hotels at this level). I didn't use the parking garage. There is no free breakfast, but there is a Starbucks in the lobby (again, get's very busy between 6-7 so allow a good 10-15 minutes to get your order).

Date of stay: July 2021
Thank SkyKing23
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2021

Dear SkyKing23,

It was our pleasure welcoming you to the Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel! We are thrilled that your experience was perfect from beginning to end. As you discovered, our well-designed, perfectly appointed rooms offer a blend of sophistication and comfort, featuring ergonomic work desks, mini-refrigerators and premium bath products. On behalf of all of us, we thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we hope to see you again soon.

Tracy Stoltz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2021

How a hotel in 2021 not include free wifi completely baffles me. This isn’t some special luxury item like it was in the early 2000’s. Yet here we have a “4” star hotel that has to nickel and dime you for something you can get for free at McDonalds.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank dennisrN5743SM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2021

Dear dennisrN5743SM,

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We regret that you were disappointed with the cost of our internet service. Our fees are competitively priced and posted on our website so guests can have this information before booking with us. Thank you again for your feedback. We appreciate your business, and we hope to see you again the next time you visit the area.

Tracy Stoltz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2021

I usually stay in Scottsdale or near the PHX airport ...but I thought I'd try staying at the Renaissance Hotel down town Phoenix. I liked the rooms...they were clean & updated. What I didn't like was the lobby. It was disorganized & uninviting. I also thought the front desk staff were lackluster. A few smiles here & there maybe...but generally I was treated like a number. One day , for some reason, they all were wearing "T" shirts. Not very becoming for a Renaissance hotel image.

Next trip to PHX...I will be heading back to the suburbs.

Date of stay: May 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tailwindsx
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2021

Dear Tailwindsx,

Thanks for choosing us for your recent visit. Although it is a pleasure to know that you were satisfied with your accommodations, we are truly sorry for the experience you had with our Front Desk associates. We strive to provide excellent service from each member of our team, and we are grateful for the feedback that helps us improve our hospitality. We have shared your concerns with the appropriate individuals to ensure our guests are always provided with the exceptional experience they expect and deserve. We appreciate your patience and hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Tracy Stoltz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2021

I stayed here for 3 nights on a baseball road trip.

Pros:
- proximity to Chase Field -- 5 min walk
- Fry's grocery store on the way to the park -- 2 min walk from hotel -- NOTE!!! Chase Field now has a clear bag policy (clear plastic tote bags) and Fry's sells them for $4 a piece -- these are the only things you can use to carry stuff into the park
- good bed/bath linens, clean room
- good fitness room -- about 10 cardio machines, dumbbells + bench, cable machine, leg extension, chest press, shoulder press, sandbags
- mini fridge in room
- Starbucks in lobby

Cons:
- parking is valet only for $32 a night -- we found a lot at the Renaissance Plaza office building down the street that was $20 for 24 hours
- rooms are small and poorly lit, weird decor (dog-wearing-a-hat lamp, picture of woman's open mouth, etc.)
- pool is small and unattractive
- in-room coffee amenities were like a cheap motel... been at other hotels of this class that have liquid creamer, Keurig coffee, etc. but this place had powdered stuff, no coffee lids, generic coffee
- noise from the hallways comes right into your room... doors do not have any kind of slow-close hinges so doors just slam shut
- no towel bar in the bathroom sink area

Would I stay here again? Yes. Is it up to par with other properties at this star level and in this price range? No.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank HCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2021

Dear HCS,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. We are pleased to know our proximity to Chase Field was part of making your visit successful. However, we want to apologize for the difficulties you experienced as our guest, including the excessive noise caused by other guests in the hotel. Feedback like yours gives us valued insight to improve our guest experience; therefore, we appreciate your comments. We are grateful for your patience, and we hope you will consider staying with us the next time your travels bring you to Phoenix.

Tracy Stoltz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2021

We stayed 5/13-5/16 in a City View Double. Great service, comfortable beds and ideal location. We would definitely return :-)

PROS:
- staff is friendly and helpful (shout-out to Christopher at the front desk)
- comfortable and nice-size rooms
- Starbucks on site, busy bar
- near a ton of restaurants and lounge
- everyone was wearing masks
- reasonably fast valet service

CONS
- we were told parking was $10 a night, it was $26
- the bathroom has minimal privacy; the his-and-her sinks are accessible to anyone while the toilet/shower are in use. only a textured glass door separates the toilet/shower area from the sinks.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank berkeleytvlgrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2021

Dear berkeleytvlgrp,

Thank you for being our guest and for your wonderful review! We are pleased to know we met most of your expectations. We appreciate your valuable feedback and hope you choose to stay with us whenever your travels bring you back to this amazing city.

Tracy Stoltz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews