We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$213
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/08/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Renaissance Hotels
US$213
US$190
View deal
Free cancellation until 14/08/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$213
View deal
Free cancellation until 14/08/21
PricelineUS$213
Orbitz.comUS$213
Hotels.comUS$213
View all 21 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,166)
Filter reviews
1,166 results
Traveller rating
660
353
98
28
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
660
353
98
28
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the concierge lounge loss prevention front desk within walking distance valet parking hotel is beautiful light rail lobby cutter conference dust closet
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 1,166 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2021

I stayed here for 3 nights on a baseball road trip.

Pros:
- proximity to Chase Field -- 5 min walk
- Fry's grocery store on the way to the park -- 2 min walk from hotel -- NOTE!!! Chase Field now has a clear bag policy (clear plastic tote bags) and Fry's sells them for $4 a piece -- these are the only things you can use to carry stuff into the park
- good bed/bath linens, clean room
- good fitness room -- about 10 cardio machines, dumbbells + bench, cable machine, leg extension, chest press, shoulder press, sandbags
- mini fridge in room
- Starbucks in lobby

Cons:
- parking is valet only for $32 a night -- we found a lot at the Renaissance Plaza office building down the street that was $20 for 24 hours
- rooms are small and poorly lit, weird decor (dog-wearing-a-hat lamp, picture of woman's open mouth, etc.)
- pool is small and unattractive
- in-room coffee amenities were like a cheap motel... been at other hotels of this class that have liquid creamer, Keurig coffee, etc. but this place had powdered stuff, no coffee lids, generic coffee
- noise from the hallways comes right into your room... doors do not have any kind of slow-close hinges so doors just slam shut
- no towel bar in the bathroom sink area

Would I stay here again? Yes. Is it up to par with other properties at this star level and in this price range? No.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank HCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2021

Dear HCS,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. We are pleased to know our proximity to Chase Field was part of making your visit successful. However, we want to apologize for the difficulties you experienced as our guest, including the excessive noise caused by other guests in the hotel. Feedback like yours gives us valued insight to improve our guest experience; therefore, we appreciate your comments. We are grateful for your patience, and we hope you will consider staying with us the next time your travels bring you to Phoenix.

Tracy Stoltz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2021

We stayed 5/13-5/16 in a City View Double. Great service, comfortable beds and ideal location. We would definitely return :-)

PROS:
- staff is friendly and helpful (shout-out to Christopher at the front desk)
- comfortable and nice-size rooms
- Starbucks on site, busy bar
- near a ton of restaurants and lounge
- everyone was wearing masks
- reasonably fast valet service

CONS
- we were told parking was $10 a night, it was $26
- the bathroom has minimal privacy; the his-and-her sinks are accessible to anyone while the toilet/shower are in use. only a textured glass door separates the toilet/shower area from the sinks.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank berkeleytvlgrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2021

Dear berkeleytvlgrp,

Thank you for being our guest and for your wonderful review! We are pleased to know we met most of your expectations. We appreciate your valuable feedback and hope you choose to stay with us whenever your travels bring you back to this amazing city.

Tracy Stoltz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2021

First we had questions about the area when we checked in. The front desk people didn't seem to care that we were asking such questions. Next, not the hotels fault, but on a short walk from there didn't feel safe. We were part of a group, other people room keys did not work. In our room there were M & M's left on the floor. The towels were like cardboard and tiny. Also had to use those towels at the poold as they provided none there. As far as the pool area I should call it the bird bath. There were more birds using it than people. Very depressing area. Lastly, when I made reservation was promissed a breakfast voucher to be used at Starbucks next door due to Covid. Again front desk denied that and looked at me as to why am I asking such a thing.

Room tip: Stay away from this place
Date of stay: April 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JeffCinIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2021

Dear JeffCinIowa,

Thank you for the review of our hotel. We sincerely apologize that you experienced so many difficulties during your stay with us and for the behavior of our front desk associates when inquiring about your reservation details. We are also very sorry if your guestroom was not properly cleaned prior to your arrival. This is not the level of service we generally provide, and it certainly does not meet our standards. Your comments will be shared with the appropriate team members, so we can take action to prevent these issues from happening again. Thank you again, and we would appreciate another opportunity to show you the hospitality you deserve on a future visit

Tracy Stoltz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2021

Staryed in April 2021. Staff was quicky responsive on check-n and cage check-out. Good Starbucks in the lobby, but hotel breakfast, Marston's Cafe, was closed. Some bars and restaurants nearby were starting to open, and many remained closed. Our room was well-maintained and felt sanitary, if a little worn in burn spots on the carpet, Bedding was sleep-inducing.

Dust Cutter bar/lounge was great. Bartenders made great cocktails, and while limited due to he times we're living in, the menu was satisfying, The elotes and wet tacos were tasty.

If you have luggage that can roll or be carried for a block and half, you can get to Sky Harbor Airport for $2 on the light rail. The Westbound station is less than a block from the hotel, and the easboud (airport) station is a little further.

Room tip: Try a high room on he north side to avoid loud music from hotel restaurant on Friday and Saturday nights.
Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ToAnywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2021

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel. We were delighted to read that our staff provided you with great service, and we thank you for pointing out our great location close to the airport. We are also glad that you were able to enjoy a delicious cocktail in our restaurant, Dust Cutter. We certainly appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us again on your next visit to Phoenix.

Tracy Stoltz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2021 via mobile

Sun at (small) pool is limited to early hours (before 10:30am) and only hits a small corner angle of the pool area. The rest of the day, the pool is in full shade. Restaurant downstairs is cool, but does not open until 5pm, currently. No breakfast options, but there is a Starbucks on site. Awakened to several gunshots, sirens, and hours of yelling on the streets below. Hotel staff is very nice and workout room is well appointed.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 847heidis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2021

Dear 847heid,

Thank you for sharing your review and the details surrounding your recent visit. Although it is a pleasure knowing you enjoyed our fitness center and the warm hospitality of our associates, we are sorry to learn of the difficulties you experienced during your stay with us. We would truly appreciate you reaching out to us regarding this incident as we are researching and have no reports of criminal activity in our area. Please know that we take the security of our guests very seriously, so your feedback is very important to us. We certainly regret any inconvenience this may have caused you. Thank you once more for sharing your experience, and we hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you for the exceptional stay you deserve.

Tracy Stoltz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews