We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
4 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$193
View deal
Free cancellation until 24/04/21
Priceline
US$150
View deal
Free cancellation until 24/04/21
Agoda.com
US$193
US$140
View deal
SAVE US$53
Free cancellation until 24/04/21
Expedia.comUS$159
Hotels.comUS$159
Orbitz.comUS$159
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,621)
Filter reviews
1,621 results
Traveller rating
938
358
147
104
74
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
938
358
147
104
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop bar free snacks front desk pool area junior suite great pool hot tub bottled water happy hour visiting phoenix phoenix area tranquilo hip jodi staycation downtown keurig
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 1,621 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2021

I really wanted to like this hotel as it is not a big chain and was described as "boutique." However, the cons far outweighed the pros.

PROS:
-Very friendly staff
-Snacks/bottled water/breakfast burritos available at front desk

CONS:
-Run down. Rooms had trim coming off of the walls, low water pressure, creaky/ineffective air conditioner/poor quality windows, very uncomfortable furniture
-Rooms are dark and musty
-There is no spa on property (as in spa that provides massages, etc. There is a hot tub)
-Fuego, the restaurant has a nice ambience, but food is just so-so and quite pricey.
-Roof top skybar was not open

Although this was a great value in terms of nightly rate, you do get what you pay for.

The last day we were there, there was apparently a water main break and we woke up to have absolutely no water in our room (no faucet, no shower). The hotel did not inform anyone of this and we had to find out upon waking up. Luckily we were checking out that morning and could go to my son's apartment for a shower.

The management will tell you all of this is due to renovations being done. We saw no one doing any sort of renovations anywhere on the property. Choose wisely!

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank brisdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rai Rodriguez, Other at The Clarendon Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2021

Thank you for your review! We are sorry for the issues for you experienced during your stay, we are currently working on making improvements and renovations behind the scenes. we appreciate your feedback and patience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2021 via mobile

Employees are rude, the rooms are run down, the air conditioner sounds like it's hyperventilating, the shower in has a trickle water pressure if you're lucky to get it turned on, broken decor, pool area is worn out and grungy. Due to "covid" policies you have to go to the front desk for new towels, toilet paper, or anything else you need which they also limit to 1 or 2 at a time. Would not recommend.

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank nicolelF2421DG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rai Rodriguez, Other at The Clarendon Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2021

Thank you for your review, Nicole! We are currently in the middle of renovations and upgrades across our property, we appreciate your feedback and patience, and we hope you give us another chance in the future!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2021 via mobile

The Clarendon is a delightful refuge and decompressor in the middle of the City of Phoenix. Hard to imagine but this local reprieve is just the thing for a business traveler like myself. Also the restaurant on the property has a “Sabroso” tasty eclectic twist on southwest flavor. The Oasis Pool is resort like with a hot tub the size of most pools. Jodi, Andrea, & Justin always are welcoming and helpful during check-in. Jerry’s & Echo were friendly and had the FREE treats for the night time munchies. (Love the free snacks). And Brent and Aubrey were efficient and fed me again with delicious breakfast burritos upon checkout. Even Brandon, their security staff was helpful and personable. With the friendly feel and great staff... I Love this hotel!

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank davidlR1568HD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rai Rodriguez, Other at The Clarendon Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2021

Thank you for your review, David!! We are honestly so glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2021

I am writing this review late, we stayed here for 1 night in August 2020 and I am hoping things have improved so much that this review will be pointless. The place looked cute online and there were good reviews so we gave it a try. It was terrifying. There were people "wandering" the parking lot (we arrived at night) and the trash cans leading up to the hotel were literally overflowing with garbage on the ground. The hotel was under construction at the time so we entered to a lobby draped in black plastic. While that cannot be helped, what could be helped is the filthy elevators that smelled like a parking garage elevator and had filthy handprints and "graffiti" in them. The halls were poorly lit and there were more people in the halls than I have ever seen in a hotel. When we finally made it to our room, there was no security lock on the door, the door just "locked" when you closed it. I had to prop things up in front of the door so I could sleep and even then, whenever I heard a noise I woke up thinking someone was coming into the room. It was a noisy hotel so that was all night long. I would never stay here again and if things haven't changed, everyone should avoid it. I understand that it is unique and a boutique hotel, but some of this stuff is not OK no matter what kind of hotel you are. The nice parts of this place were that the pool was cute with neat decorations, there was a giant mirror by the elevator, a neat decorating idea and the bed was super comfy. Also, the breakfast was absolutely ridiculous but yummy. We stayed during COVID so the breakfast was to go. We called down and ordered and they said they were out of eggs. They basically gave us a Styrofoam container of a bazillion breakfast potatoes (which were delicious) and a Tupperware container of yogurt and granola and fruit, similar to what you might bring to your workplace for a snack. I actually thought maybe it WAS from someone's lunchbox. It was all delicious and has made a funny story to share, but I am thinking they could have made a quick trip to the store if they offer breakfast and ran out of eggs.

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank cindyhM8438ET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rai Rodriguez, Other at The Clarendon Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2021

Good afternoon, thank you for your feedback from your stay in August of 2020. I would love to address all of your concerns starting with the safety and cleanliness of our property. At the beginning of the Covid 19 pandemic, we strived to ensure that our property was sanitized and safe during those unprecedented times. We can assure you that your room was safe and that we had (and continue to have) Nest Cameras and security monitoring our property. A call or Whistle message to the Front Desk could have resulted in a quick move to a room where you felt the most comfortable. As for the breakfast, that is what we were serving during that time due to Covid 19 and the shut down of our restaurant, we can assure you it was the same for all of our guests. Now that our new restaurant is up and running again, we offer complimentary breakfast burritos with your stay. We hope this clears up any confusion from your stay last year and that you give us another chance in the future to see the improvements we have made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2021

Nicely remodeled older hotel, so set your expectations accordingly. But the bed was comfortable, the hotel was quite, the amenities were great and the staff was superb! As a small bonus, I always try to give money to independent businesses versus huge companies.

Convenient to many things and you can NOT beat Fuego, the restaurant attached. The food and staff there were equally amazing!

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank alstensby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rai Rodriguez, Other at The Clarendon Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2021

Thank you for your glowing review, Al! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us, and at Fuego Bistro as well. We especially want to thank you for choosing us during these difficult times. We look forward to having you with us again in the future!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews