We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
5 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$179
View Deal
Free cancellation until 13/03/21
Hotels.com
US$148
View Deal
Free cancellation until 13/03/21
Hurb
US$198
US$127
View Deal
SAVE US$71
Free cancellation until 13/03/21
PricelineUS$134
Expedia.comUS$148
Prestigia.comUS$198
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,614)
Filter reviews
1,614 results
Traveller rating
935
358
146
104
71
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
935
358
146
104
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gallo blanco rooftop bar free snacks front desk pool area junior suite central phoenix great pool bottled water hot tub light rail happy hour tranquilo hip staycation keurig robes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 1,614 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2020 via mobile

I sent my daughter and niece to stay there.
They said it smelled dirty and cigarettes smoke .
They did not feel safe. They asked to check out and and not be charged. They manager Jody was not sympathetic to 2 young woman not feeling safe and offered a different room instead Of the refund that was requested. I Never had an an experience w a hotel like this.
Do not stay here !

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank marcn896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israely R, Guest Relations Manager at The Clarendon Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2020

Good afternoon Mark. I did speak to the Front Desk Supervisor that you spoke to on the phone about this situation and she told me that you were yelling and being extremely disrespectful from the second she answered your call. She tried her best to deal with your main complaint, which was the smell of the room. She initially offered a room move because that is the first thing that we do to ensure that our guests are as comfortable as possible during their stay. You did not mention that they felt unsafe, if this was the case then I can assure you that Jodi would have reassured your daughter and niece, and definitely offered a refund if she felt it was the best option. That being said, I know that the refund for their stay was issued, and we apologize for any inconvenience this presented for your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2020

I LOVED the Clarendon! The aesthetic is totally me - very hip 60s mod! They obviously have recently redone the rooms, and I think they could have been a little more careful, but that didn't affect the cleanliness or comfort. My room was HUGE, and the bed was great. The onsite restaurant is fantastic - and if you book direct from the hotel, you get a $10 breakfast credit, which was nice. Front desk staff were all insanely helpful and friendly - I'd definitely stay here again if I needed to stay in Phoenix and not Tempe.

Date of stay: February 2020
Thank Jenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israely R, Guest Relations Manager at The Clarendon Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2020

Thank you for your review, Jenn! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We have not started to remodel our rooms, any changes that have been made in our rooms were from when our property was under previous management, however we are currently finishing up plans for a complete makeover of our rooms, we'd love to have you back with us in the near future to see all of the changes and improvements! And lastly, thank you so much for your kind comments towards our staff and restaurant! I will be sure to share this with our staff, this is exactly the experience we want every single one of our guests to have! Thank you again for your feedback and have a great weekend!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2020 via mobile

Great service and staff, but definitely not four star quality place. Bed was comfortable and rooms were clean, but dark...only a small corner window in my room. A towel rack must have fallen and the holes and old paint haven’t been touched up. The rooftop bar was disappointing. Table tops haven’t been wiped down in days and half of the hanging bulbs are out. These are just a few details that give the feeling of being rundown. Also was surprised that there wasn’t drink service at the pool.

Date of stay: March 2020
Thank mollyw770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israely R, Guest Relations Manager at The Clarendon Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2020

Molly, thank your review! We are currently going through many changes and renovations throughout our property, we thank you for your feedback and patience and we do hope you give us another chance in the future. Have a great afternoon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2020

What a serendipitous experience - Delightful boutique hotel & spa close to everything!

Brent at the front desk went to great lengths to make us feel welcome and Anna in the Spa treated my wife like a Queen. We will return every time we are in Phoenix!

Room tip: Rooftop Lounge
Date of stay: March 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank marktW4716VE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israely R, Guest Relations Manager at The Clarendon Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2020

Mark, thank you so much for your feedback! I will be sure to share your kind comments with our staff, we appreciate it greatly!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2020 via mobile

This hotel is the result of a low expense remodel on something that used to look an awful lot like a motel. The walls are cinder block, the carpets are carpet squares, the air conditioners are noisy, and the place does not smell good. I recommend against. On the plus side, the staff was nice and responsive.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank xyz99887766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israely R, Guest Relations Manager at The Clarendon Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2020

Thank you for your review. We have heard our guest's feedback and we are currently making plans to refresh and remodel our rooms, we appreciate your input and we do hope you give us another chance in the future. Thank you again and have a great afternoon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews