We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting”
Review of Heard Museum

Heard Museum
Ranked #3 of 234 things to do in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The foremost showcase of Native American art and culture in the U.S., the Heard Museum reveals the cultures of tribes in the region through exhibits, demonstrations and live performances and displays the work of contemporary Native American artists. Artists demonstrate their work during the week and musicians perform on most weekends.
Reviewed 1 March 2012

The restaurant is excellent. The museum is interesting. If you have time join a guided tour. The displays are well done. We saw the Heard first then took an AZ Hummer Tour to make our Valley of the Sun experience come alive.

1  Thank valu8or
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,113 - 2,117 of 2,327 reviews

Reviewed 29 February 2012

The Heard is a museum of Native Americans and has a rich collection of art. The docent tours are done by very knowledgeable and friendly volunteers.

2  Thank Cystokid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tourism M, Manager at Heard Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

Thank you for your compliments. The World Championship Hoop Dance Contest is held annually in February. It is one of the most exciting events at the museum every year. We hope you also visited the new exhibit Beyond Geronimo: The Apache Experience that just opened on February 11. Our docents take great pleasure in providing a memorable experience for our visitors and sharing their wealth of knowledge about American Indian art and cultures.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

The pow-wows are great there, you can experience a bit of many of the Tribes who call Arizona home. The museum has some very interesting exhibits.

1  Thank bbsum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tourism M, Manager at Heard Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2012

We are pleased you enjoyed our cultural performances as well as the exhibits. The "We Are! Arizona's First People exhibit in particular showcases the values and lifeways of the 21 federally recognized tribal communities in the state. We look forward to seeing you often at the Heard Museum.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

If you want to see excellent representations of Native American artifacts, exhibits and displays, along with knowledgeable docents to act as tour guides this is the place for you. Simply the best of its kind.

2  Thank TomCincinnatus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Small museum offers an excellent insight into the native American Indians and their culture in the south west and especially Arizona

1  Thank dipex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tourism M, Manager at Heard Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2012

We appreciate your compliments. We hope you had an opportunity to visit our eleven galleries on your own and also with a tour guide. Several docent-led tours take place daily which give greater insights about the exhibits and the history of American Indians. We hope your travels will bring you back again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Heard Museum also viewed

 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Heard Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing