We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 05:00 - 23:00
Save
Review Highlights
A great hiking intro to the Phoenix area

On our first full day in Phoenix, we chose to hike the Hidden Valley Trail via Mormon Loop Trail... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
michiganpete7
,
Muskegon, Michigan
via mobile
Great Hike

Bring your water bottle and solid shoes. The plants, rocks and views are really fantastic. We... read more

Reviewed 26 January 2021
gsMTusa
,
Billings, Montana
via mobile
Read all 1,296 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Phoenix
from US$179.00
More Info
from US$179.00
More Info
from US$169.00
More Info
from US$202.42
More Info
Reviews (1,296)
Filter reviews
1,296 results
Traveller rating
843
382
55
10
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
843
382
55
10
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dobbins lookout hidden valley mormon trail hiking trails pima canyon entire valley visitor center central avenue great hiking great place to hike horseback riding phoenix area nice hike bring water hikers summit kiwanis
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
244 - 249 of 1,296 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2018

Did a two hour round trip stroll from Buena Vista parking area eastward along National trail and back. Was glad to be able to enjoy it. It takes longer to drive to the top than it looks at first.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank SteveHereNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018

I work in Chandler near south mountain. I like to come in from the southside hiking, there are some really cool trails and I can sometimes get a morning hike in before work. If you go to the park side, you can drive to the top and there are hiking trails right off the road from that side. An easy, quick break from work if you plan it right.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank CBeBanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018

We visited the park in January. We hiked the Mormon Trail and the Hidden Valley Trail. It was a fun and interesting hike. Appreciated the markers we could scan our phone on and check our location. Beautiful hike with huge boulders to slide down, squeeze thru, and rest on. Hiked about 4 miles. We then came back to watch the sunset at Dobbins Lookout. It was an amazing sunset! I can't wait to do it all again!

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Tulsa33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017

Awesome!!!!

What a great park to visit and see the mountains. The view is spectacular and the city from the top is gorgeous. The drive to the top is a little scary but worth it when you reach the top. The roads are arrow so drive slowly and watch out for other pedestrians riding bikes. You cannot bet the views and the history that goes with it. A must visit park. Enjoy!!

Date of experience: November 2017
1  Thank sbT9238BI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017

South Mountain Park in Phoenix, Arizona, is the largest municipal park in the United States, one of the largest urban parks in North America and in the world. I have actually seen rattle snakes in this park, but there is no need for concern as long as you don’t bother them. A unique experience/

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank Harry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews