We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Insel Fehmarn Hotel
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Apia
Reviewed 23 September 2017

Stayed for 4 nights and found the place suitable for our basic needs. It doesn't matter where you stay and how much you spend if the staff are not up to scratch you will be miserable and move to another hotel. Well, the staff here are exceptional and just so willing to help you in any situation you may find yourself in. The room was made up every day with beds made and fresh towels placed. The amenities are very good, pool clean and 24 h laundry room very handy. The hot breakfast was basic but well cooked with staff on hand to assist and the food kept warm in proper Baine Marie's with none of that canned heat rubbish used in another 4-star hotel that could not keep the food warm ( another review later ).The hotel is well placed with a nice water view from our 2nd-floor room balcony and getting some cooling breezes meant we did not utilize the excellent air-con so much. The little kitchen was basic but great to be able to prepare a meal or two and the fridge I feel could be a little bigger, it filled fairly quickly once you put a bit of water and a beer or three in it. A few basic grocery shops are within walking distance and a quite outstanding pizza restaurant across the road, with the hospital also within walking distance, really does make this hotel ideally situated for the tourist or traveller on business.

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd-floor rooms are the best for views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2017

Our holiday was one of 'meeting the challenges.' The shuttle bus which was one of the reasons we booked was not available: we had to ask to move to another room on Day1 because of noise from 3 adults and 4 children in the next door room who started the day at 4am and people occupying the room on the other side who arrived back at 1am, talked and laughed loudly for at least an hour and did the same at 6. 20am the following morning, the toilet seat in the room we moved to was broken off the toilet, the fridge leaked water over the kitchen floor, the door fell off the fridge: it took nearly 2 hours to move to the second room: the kitchen was not equipped for cooking; the tile floors were washed with a wet mop daily, however, the tiles remained wet so walking across them resulted in dirty shoe or foot prints as soon as the mopping was finished, etc!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the main entrance to the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cwillan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017

Rooms on the second floor have been remodeled and are beautiful! No hairdryer in the bathroom, but I called the front desk for one and they immediately brought it to me. They have a very, very good inclusive breakfast buffett. The Insel has been accommodating us for the last 20 years and they never disappoint.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MOHope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017

We stayed (three rooms) here twice during our last visit to Samoa. Both times, check in was a bit weird - and the TV behind the reception desk is very off-putting. But we had clean rooms - yes a bit dated but everything worked.
The actual building has been really well built, which is really important in the weather conditions this close to the Equator. The aircon works really well. The rooms were clean (possibly a little too much product on the tiles as they could be a tad slippery when wet).
Kitchens were OK. Maybe a little lacking - a little dish washing liquid would be nice and also a bottle opener - for beer or coke that still comes in the metal lidded bottles. Luckily Dad is handy with a table ledge but I would be still waiting for a drink now if I had been there on my own!
Bathroom was OK - could have been a bit better if they previous persons soap had been removed in two of our rooms, and the face washers & bathmat had been forgotten in mine. But these things are easily fixed and did not thwart our enjoyment of being together with family and in beautiful Samoa!
The breakfast included in rate was very good.
Most of the staff were friendly and helpful. Though the check in and check out processes were very slow. That is not really the staffs fault.
I expect at this price range for things to be functional and clean. Mainly this fitted the bill. Don't be expecting this place to be stunning or 'international'. Admittedly it would take very little cost or effort to bring this hotel to the next level (I say that with 26 years of hotel management behind me), but meanwhile it is more than acceptable and great value for money.
And the location is great for being close to town and all services.
Would likely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AnkaliRachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

Lovely hotel and awesome service, especially Junior who was always there in the morning when we had our breakfast. Tania at the front desk was always friendly, professional and helpful. The breakfast was fantastic and wonderful service. The only suggestion is that we were there for 11 nights and our sheets were never changed, sugar sachet not replaced and we were only offered more toilet paper on the last day. However we will definitely stay here again, and next time we will book rooms on the third floor. Fa'afetai lava

Room Tip: second floor and third floor offers sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Apia hotels
3.2 km away
Samoan Outrigger Hotel
4.4 km away
Tanoa Tusitala Hotel
3 km away
Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey's Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Hotel Millenia
Hotel Millenia
#14 of 29 in Apia
163 reviews
4.4 km away
Le Manumea Hotel
Le Manumea Hotel
#9 of 29 in Apia
246 reviews
8.4 km away
Samoa Tradition Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Insel Fehmarn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Insel Fehmarn Hotel

Address: Cross Island Road, Apia, Upolu, Samoa
Region: Samoa > Upolu > Apia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Apia
Price Range: €49 - €68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Insel Fehmarn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Insel Fehmarn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Insel Fehmarn
Insel Fehmarn Apia
Insel Fehmarn Hotel Samoa/Apia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing