We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Dave Parker Eco Lodge(Apia)(Great Value!)
US$26
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
US$184
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aniva's Place(Apia)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Apaula Stay-Inn(Apia)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (283)
Filter reviews
283 results
Traveller rating
100
107
43
16
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
100
107
43
16
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree shuttleair conexceptional customer servicebuffet breakfastconvenience storefloor roompizza restaurantbit datedbottom floorshort drivestayed here for nightsloved staying hereclose to townawesome servicedefinitely stay here againserviced dailypleasure of staying
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 283 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2017

Our holiday was one of 'meeting the challenges.' The shuttle bus which was one of the reasons we booked was not available: we had to ask to move to another room on Day1 because of noise from 3 adults and 4 children in the next door room who started the day at 4am and people occupying the room on the other side who arrived back at 1am, talked and laughed loudly for at least an hour and did the same at 6. 20am the following morning, the toilet seat in the room we moved to was broken off the toilet, the fridge leaked water over the kitchen floor, the door fell off the fridge: it took nearly 2 hours to move to the second room: the kitchen was not equipped for cooking; the tile floors were washed with a wet mop daily, however, the tiles remained wet so walking across them resulted in dirty shoe or foot prints as soon as the mopping was finished, etc!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the main entrance to the hotel.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank cwillan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017

Rooms on the second floor have been remodeled and are beautiful! No hairdryer in the bathroom, but I called the front desk for one and they immediately brought it to me. They have a very, very good inclusive breakfast buffett. The Insel has been accommodating us for the last 20 years and they never disappoint.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank MOHope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017

We stayed (three rooms) here twice during our last visit to Samoa. Both times, check in was a bit weird - and the TV behind the reception desk is very off-putting. But we had clean rooms - yes a bit dated but everything worked.
The actual building has been really well built, which is really important in the weather conditions this close to the Equator. The aircon works really well. The rooms were clean (possibly a little too much product on the tiles as they could be a tad slippery when wet).
Kitchens were OK. Maybe a little lacking - a little dish washing liquid would be nice and also a bottle opener - for beer or coke that still comes in the metal lidded bottles. Luckily Dad is handy with a table ledge but I would be still waiting for a drink now if I had been there on my own!
Bathroom was OK - could have been a bit better if they previous persons soap had been removed in two of our rooms, and the face washers & bathmat had been forgotten in mine. But these things are easily fixed and did not thwart our enjoyment of being together with family and in beautiful Samoa!
The breakfast included in rate was very good.
Most of the staff were friendly and helpful. Though the check in and check out processes were very slow. That is not really the staffs fault.
I expect at this price range for things to be functional and clean. Mainly this fitted the bill. Don't be expecting this place to be stunning or 'international'. Admittedly it would take very little cost or effort to bring this hotel to the next level (I say that with 26 years of hotel management behind me), but meanwhile it is more than acceptable and great value for money.
And the location is great for being close to town and all services.
Would likely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AnkaliRachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

Lovely hotel and awesome service, especially Junior who was always there in the morning when we had our breakfast. Tania at the front desk was always friendly, professional and helpful. The breakfast was fantastic and wonderful service. The only suggestion is that we were there for 11 nights and our sheets were never changed, sugar sachet not replaced and we were only offered more toilet paper on the last day. However we will definitely stay here again, and next time we will book rooms on the third floor. Fa'afetai lava

Room Tip: second floor and third floor offers sea views.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights only, prior to our flight home. The staff were generally great, apart from the girl/lady at reception who struggled to listen and was obviously not at all interested in work because she was so fixated on her cell phone and the tv which was weirdly turned on behind the desk at reception! The shower was small but lovely hot water which I was desperate for having had cold showers for many weeks! The place was freshly painted but my main complaint was the pillows which were hard as rocks ( we had 4 in total)and one even smelt like vomit!! The sheets were also very tired and discoloured! Definitely in need of replacement! Also the cups , plates, and cutlery were filthy, couldn't use them but no detergeant or wash up cloth provided to do that?????? Prob wouldn't stay there again, but Samoa appears to have these issues everywhere you stay, definitely not what overseas visitors come to expect from accommodation.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank sasha5656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews