We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveller rating
54
10
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
54
10
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews insect repellent warm hospitality ecuadorian hospitality delicious food doreen carlos hosts hosteria conference birds dogs property facilities singing eco volcano farm
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 66 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2018

The best hotel recommendation I've ever got so far from Lonely Planet, a fantastic getaway which is so tranquil, relaxing and eco-friendly. Shall not miss the super breakfast, and also must try something on their restaurant menu if you enjoy healthy organic food. The hosts made me feel like a close friend, and I am 100% sure that I will revisit them someday.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos S, Owner at Hosteria Cananvalle, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2018
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por su visita. Para nosotros fue un gusto poder conocer a usted y Compartir experiencias y sueños!!!..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

I attended a conference at this location. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The facilities were good. I didn't spend the night, but others in my group did. One said the river was like a lullaby all night long. It cost less than USD$5 to take a taxi here, but it seems much farther away from Ibarra. The quiet is wonderful. You might want to take insect repellent.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tweaver405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos S, Owner at Hosteria Cananvalle, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2018

Tjank you very much for your review. Our goal is to offer a place to breath fresh air and feel peace with amenities that invite to spend the night resting and in the day working.
We provide insect repellent when is needed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile

My wife and I recently spent two nights at a property we won't soon forget, in a very good way. Located just 3 or 4 km outside Ibarra, the beautiful, tranquil location on a farm overlooking a canyon near a train crossing, with volcano views was just the chill out we needed.

Although our room itself was somewhat no-frills, the peaceful atmosphere and great views were a welcome respite from car noise, alarms and barking dogs that are almost a given elsewhere.

What really made it special was the hospitality shown by the well-travelled, hardworking energetic hosts Carlos and Doreen. Much of the delicious food served here is grown on their property, even the fine coffee. They are big proponents of local, organic sourcing.

The rooms and facilities are constantly kept looking their best and the grounds have been transformed into a place where a variety of local birds come to feed providing, along with their pet dogs, great substitutes for television.

You are really made to feel at home here and the hosts truly care about showing the best of their community to you, and creating an atmosphere where all guests get to know each other.

As we did not have a car, we were initially concerned this location may not be convenient, but it is only a short cab ride away from town and should only cost 3 or four dollars fare. Carlos will also help out with any other queries you may have about activities in this area.

It was truly a pleasure to stay at this wonderful place and to be treated like family. I would highly recommend Hosteria Canonvalle if you visit Ibarra.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Experience316422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos S, Owner at Hosteria Cananvalle, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2018

Thank you very much for your review. Reading what you wrote about us makes us feel good about what we are doing. Making our guest feel at home is our goal. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. Thank you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017 via mobile

I cannot say enough good things about this place - it is fabulous! Carlos and Doreen are the perfect hosts, and have used their training and many years of experience to create a getaway haven like no other. They grow all of their fruits, veggies, and excellent coffee organically. We were the first guests to use their newly-installed solar-heated water. The simple cabins are comfortable and put you in touch with nature with the many hummingbirds, tanagers, and others, which are visible especially well from the glass-enclosed dining room which overlooks the singing river. They arranged for a driver to take us on an exploratory drive through many neighboring towns and to a set of relaxing thermal pools. Breakfast is self-serve and features tropical fruits, freshly squeezed juice, and the best bread in the Americas. The dinner menu features such delights as quinoa battered shrimp and thick, tasty (organic) porkchops - all chef-prepared!
The family dogs form a warm welcoming committee and escort service, which enhances the homey vibes. The local volcanos are just a part of the spectacular scenery in the area.
We will be sure to stay at Hostería Cananvalle whenever we are in the Ibarra area!

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017

Cananvalle is a very nice place. There are nice views, some kind of birds flying so close to the dining room and a beautiful walk with trees and flowers. You can walk around the Hosteria and collect some fruits from the fruit trees. At 11am aprox, you can see a train very close to this place.
At the end of the afternoon we received a relaxing massage by a professional lady.

Room tip: Path to walk with fruit trees, no TV to perfect relax.
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diegoangulo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews