We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conference Site”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hosteria Cananvalle
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Ibarra
Reviewed 18 September 2017

I attended a conference at this location. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The facilities were good. I didn't spend the night, but others in my group did. One said the river was like a lullaby all night long. It cost less than USD$5 to take a taxi here, but it seems much farther away from Ibarra. The quiet is wonderful. You might want to take insect repellent.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tweaver405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos S, Owner at Hosteria Cananvalle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Tjank you very much for your review. Our goal is to offer a place to breath fresh air and feel peace with amenities that invite to spend the night resting and in the day working.
We provide insect repellent when is needed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

2 - 6 of 63 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile

My wife and I recently spent two nights at a property we won't soon forget, in a very good way. Located just 3 or 4 km outside Ibarra, the beautiful, tranquil location on a farm overlooking a canyon near a train crossing, with volcano views was just the chill out we needed.

Although our room itself was somewhat no-frills, the peaceful atmosphere and great views were a welcome respite from car noise, alarms and barking dogs that are almost a given elsewhere.

What really made it special was the hospitality shown by the well-travelled, hardworking energetic hosts Carlos and Doreen. Much of the delicious food served here is grown on their property, even the fine coffee. They are big proponents of local, organic sourcing.

The rooms and facilities are constantly kept looking their best and the grounds have been transformed into a place where a variety of local birds come to feed providing, along with their pet dogs, great substitutes for television.

You are really made to feel at home here and the hosts truly care about showing the best of their community to you, and creating an atmosphere where all guests get to know each other.

As we did not have a car, we were initially concerned this location may not be convenient, but it is only a short cab ride away from town and should only cost 3 or four dollars fare. Carlos will also help out with any other queries you may have about activities in this area.

It was truly a pleasure to stay at this wonderful place and to be treated like family. I would highly recommend Hosteria Canonvalle if you visit Ibarra.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos S, Owner at Hosteria Cananvalle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your review. Reading what you wrote about us makes us feel good about what we are doing. Making our guest feel at home is our goal. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. Thank you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017 via mobile

I cannot say enough good things about this place - it is fabulous! Carlos and Doreen are the perfect hosts, and have used their training and many years of experience to create a getaway haven like no other. They grow all of their fruits, veggies, and excellent coffee organically. We were the first guests to use their newly-installed solar-heated water. The simple cabins are comfortable and put you in touch with nature with the many hummingbirds, tanagers, and others, which are visible especially well from the glass-enclosed dining room which overlooks the singing river. They arranged for a driver to take us on an exploratory drive through many neighboring towns and to a set of relaxing thermal pools. Breakfast is self-serve and features tropical fruits, freshly squeezed juice, and the best bread in the Americas. The dinner menu features such delights as quinoa battered shrimp and thick, tasty (organic) porkchops - all chef-prepared!
The family dogs form a warm welcoming committee and escort service, which enhances the homey vibes. The local volcanos are just a part of the spectacular scenery in the area.
We will be sure to stay at Hostería Cananvalle whenever we are in the Ibarra area!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017

Cananvalle is a very nice place. There are nice views, some kind of birds flying so close to the dining room and a beautiful walk with trees and flowers. You can walk around the Hosteria and collect some fruits from the fruit trees. At 11am aprox, you can see a train very close to this place.
At the end of the afternoon we received a relaxing massage by a professional lady.

Room Tip: Path to walk with fruit trees, no TV to perfect relax.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diegoangulo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2016

.....otherwise average. Another hotel where no one seemed to be in charge or really care about guests. Has it changed hands? Nice dogs to welcome us. The room was ok, bathroom so dark it was impossible to put on make up. The dining room was bleak, with no tables set - just bare glass tops. No flowers, candles, cheap cutlery. Food not memorable. We were the only people staying, so the dining room was quiet until the arrival of a local (?) intent on practising his guitar playing and singing in the bar next door. We had to ask to have him moved - I don't think it was part of the entertainment!

That evening we were "invaded" by a group of young 20 something Christians having a conference (there is a nicely appointed conference room) who were fairly disruptive and grouped outside our room, and on the lawns, and were as noisy as such groups are. When not outside our room they were in the Conference room singing hymns..

They had ravaged the breakfast buffet the next morning.....and no attempt was made to refresh the butter, jam, bread etc. until I asked.

And,please, take insect repellent. I was badly bitten - and not by mosquitos. The dogs all had fleas.....

This was not a cheap hotel....more of a cheap bed and breakfast, but at hotel prices! Staff friendly enough but not very professional.

I would not recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Maureen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ibarra
2.3 km away
Hacienda- Hosteria Chorlavi
3.2 km away
San Andres Lodge & Spa
San Andres Lodge & Spa
#7 of 15 in Ibarra
39 reviews
31.1 km away
Hacienda Hosteria San Luis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Hosteria Natabuela
Hosteria Natabuela
#8 of 15 in Ibarra
22 reviews
3.2 km away
Hostel Fevilamir
Hostel Fevilamir
#14 of 15 in Ibarra
31 reviews
6.4 km away
Hosteria Pueblo Viejo
Hosteria Pueblo Viejo
#12 of 14 in Otavalo
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria Cananvalle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Cananvalle

Address: Linea Ferrea Km 167, Ibarra 100150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Ibarra
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Ibarra
Price Range: €50 - €72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hosteria Cananvalle 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This agro-tourism ten-acre working farm and family–owned hotel, operated with social responsibility principles, overlooks a river canyon with views of two (and sometimes three) volcanoes. It is located ten minutes from the city of Ibarra, Imbabura. At an elevation of 2.192 m (7,200 ft), we have spring weather all year long, with temperatures ranging between 10-27oC (50- 80oF). Open as of December 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hosteria Cananvalle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing