We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hostal Refugio Terra Esperanza(Ibarra)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$31
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$125
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$104/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$115
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$67
Hotels.com
View Deal
Hotel Ajavi(Ibarra)
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 23/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$38
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveller rating
52
10
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
52
10
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinsect repellentdelicious fooddoreencarloshostsconferencedogspropertyfacilitiessingingecovolcanofarm
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 64 reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
3
Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile

My wife and I recently spent two nights at a property we won't soon forget, in a very good way. Located just 3 or 4 km outside Ibarra, the beautiful, tranquil location on a farm overlooking a canyon near a train crossing, with volcano views was just the chill out we needed.

Although our room itself was somewhat no-frills, the peaceful atmosphere and great views were a welcome respite from car noise, alarms and barking dogs that are almost a given elsewhere.

What really made it special was the hospitality shown by the well-travelled, hardworking energetic hosts Carlos and Doreen. Much of the delicious food served here is grown on their property, even the fine coffee. They are big proponents of local, organic sourcing.

The rooms and facilities are constantly kept looking their best and the grounds have been transformed into a place where a variety of local birds come to feed providing, along with their pet dogs, great substitutes for television.

You are really made to feel at home here and the hosts truly care about showing the best of their community to you, and creating an atmosphere where all guests get to know each other.

As we did not have a car, we were initially concerned this location may not be convenient, but it is only a short cab ride away from town and should only cost 3 or four dollars fare. Carlos will also help out with any other queries you may have about activities in this area.

It was truly a pleasure to stay at this wonderful place and to be treated like family. I would highly recommend Hosteria Canonvalle if you visit Ibarra.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos S, Owner at Hosteria Cananvalle, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2018

Thank you very much for your review. Reading what you wrote about us makes us feel good about what we are doing. Making our guest feel at home is our goal. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. Thank you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017 via mobile

I cannot say enough good things about this place - it is fabulous! Carlos and Doreen are the perfect hosts, and have used their training and many years of experience to create a getaway haven like no other. They grow all of their fruits, veggies, and excellent coffee organically. We were the first guests to use their newly-installed solar-heated water. The simple cabins are comfortable and put you in touch with nature with the many hummingbirds, tanagers, and others, which are visible especially well from the glass-enclosed dining room which overlooks the singing river. They arranged for a driver to take us on an exploratory drive through many neighboring towns and to a set of relaxing thermal pools. Breakfast is self-serve and features tropical fruits, freshly squeezed juice, and the best bread in the Americas. The dinner menu features such delights as quinoa battered shrimp and thick, tasty (organic) porkchops - all chef-prepared!
The family dogs form a warm welcoming committee and escort service, which enhances the homey vibes. The local volcanos are just a part of the spectacular scenery in the area.
We will be sure to stay at Hostería Cananvalle whenever we are in the Ibarra area!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017

Cananvalle is a very nice place. There are nice views, some kind of birds flying so close to the dining room and a beautiful walk with trees and flowers. You can walk around the Hosteria and collect some fruits from the fruit trees. At 11am aprox, you can see a train very close to this place.
At the end of the afternoon we received a relaxing massage by a professional lady.

Room Tip: Path to walk with fruit trees, no TV to perfect relax.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diegoangulo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2016

.....otherwise average. Another hotel where no one seemed to be in charge or really care about guests. Has it changed hands? Nice dogs to welcome us. The room was ok, bathroom so dark it was impossible to put on make up. The dining room was bleak, with no tables set - just bare glass tops. No flowers, candles, cheap cutlery. Food not memorable. We were the only people staying, so the dining room was quiet until the arrival of a local (?) intent on practising his guitar playing and singing in the bar next door. We had to ask to have him moved - I don't think it was part of the entertainment!

That evening we were "invaded" by a group of young 20 something Christians having a conference (there is a nicely appointed conference room) who were fairly disruptive and grouped outside our room, and on the lawns, and were as noisy as such groups are. When not outside our room they were in the Conference room singing hymns..

They had ravaged the breakfast buffet the next morning.....and no attempt was made to refresh the butter, jam, bread etc. until I asked.

And,please, take insect repellent. I was badly bitten - and not by mosquitos. The dogs all had fleas.....

This was not a cheap hotel....more of a cheap bed and breakfast, but at hotel prices! Staff friendly enough but not very professional.

I would not recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Maureen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2016

This hotel just outside of Ibarra ranks as one of the best places I have ever stayed! Family owned and operated it offers an enjoyable experience with awesome mountain views in a nature setting. The vegetables and fruit raised on the premises (it is a working farm) made for delicious meals, and the coffee at breakfast, grown and roasted on the premises was a delightful touch. The rooms (and the whole place) were spotlessly clean and quite comfortable. The hosts went out of their way to make us feel welcome which just added to the experience. Would this place without hesitation to anyone wanting to enjoy the area around Ibarra!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews