We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hacienda”
Review of Hacienda Manteles

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hacienda Manteles
Ranked #1 of 54 Banos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2017

A beautiful country inn with great hiking and wonderful views. 5-star restaurant, which you'll have to use because this place is really at the end of the road, miles from the nearest small city of Patate. Sheep and llama graze in the beautiful yard. All the rooms (except the very modern new ones are decorated with wonderful Ecuadorian antiques, and the main house (100 years old) has some lovely public rooms to hang out in. The 2 house dogs, Lulu and Luke are lots of fun. The restaurant is extremely good. The rooms are very cold at night and the supplied portable electric heater blew the fuse in the middle of the night. However the beds are comfortable, and the wool blankets of very high quality. The wifi is weak and basically non-existent anywhere except the main lodge. A room with a fireplace is nice. Rooms are quiet and you can't hear your neighbors.The 2 modern brick square free standing rooms at the edge of the property have spectacular views. Overall, this is a 4.5 star luxury country inn and well priced if you want a remote location for a night or two.

Room Tip: Ask to look at or have sent pictures of the rooms, as they are all very different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cybermd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2017

We stayed here one night as part of a Gate 1 Travel. The staff made us feel very welcome in their hacienda by playing relaxing music, putting out cheese and banana milkshakes, and lighting a fire. We were showed to our rooms by a loving golden retriever and when we opened the door..."WOW", the view. We had a room that looked right on the local volcano. The only downfall we had is there was originally no hot water, but that was quickly fixed. Once fixed, I went to get in their large tub and the water came out extremely dirty.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank scrawford80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017

This is a beautiful hacienda in the mountains. We were above the clouds. The staff was very welcoming and helpful. We stayed in the main house; beware the walls are thin in the house so we heard our neighbors (they can hear you too!). The view is gorgeous, along with the property that was well maintained. They have 2 very friendly dogs to play with also. The meals were fine, we had nothing to complain about. Our friends stayed in one of the separate cottages down the hill and those are wonderful. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelonbegone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017

If you're expecting a five star hotel at the end of one of the most harrowing mountain drives you've ever experienced, don't stay at the Hacienda Manteles. But, if you want a real Ecuadorian experience in an authentic hacienda with fantastic volcano views, this might be your kind of place. We loved it. Were the rooms the most comfortable I've stayed in...no. But the food was decent and the hacienda was gorgeous and I have to admit that I loved the near death experiences while trying to get up there and back down.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Whitechris1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017

There were some aspects of this place (part of the Gate1 tour) that were excellent: the comfy main lodge building, (home made) cheese and crackers provided on the house, the beautiful grounds and views.

Some other things were really deficient: our room was very cold (the provided heater is not quite as hot as a 10 watt bulb), so they gave us another heater. This made the room comfy enough. They put a basic alpaca blanket on the bed, but also an additional blanket that's as heavy as those dentist lead vests that they put on you. Something is wrong if you need a blanket that's as heavy as those lead vests. We didn't pull that one up beyond our feet.

Some had shower issues. We did have hot water, although the shower drain did not flow nearly fast enough to keep the water below the 1/4" lip at the edge of the shower, so we had water all over bathroom floor (room 9). Not to mention shower bulb was burnt out. Wife also thought the room a bit musty.

We were only here one night and we did sleep fine, but I think that they need to get their hot water and shower drainage issues fixed.

Dinner was 'ok'. Don't get the tilapia, which was small and dry. The trout looked fresher and more moist.

Room Tip: at least one of the pretty, newest cottages lacked hot water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jayrob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banos hotels
11.3 km away
La Villa del Penon Hotel & Spa
11.3 km away
La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House
10.9 km away
Sangay Spa Hotel
Sangay Spa Hotel
#10 of 27 in Banos
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 km away
Hosteria Finca Chamanapamba
10.7 km away
La Floresta Hotel
La Floresta Hotel
#4 of 27 in Banos
315 reviews
11.1 km away
Samari Spa Resort
Samari Spa Resort
#2 of 27 in Banos
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Manteles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Manteles

Address: Ecological Route Banos - Patate km. 18.5 (Via Las Antenas), Banos 0000, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Banos
Price Range: €183 - €185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hacienda Manteles 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda Manteles, a hotel near Banos, awaits your visit, offering you a homely and welcoming atmosphere in one of the most beautiful haciendas in Ecuador. Manteles, built in 1965 was transformed into a hotel in 1992. Little by little, the property has been remodelled and refurbished to include all the home comforts and services that our guests deserve. Located 18km from the town of Banos and offering stunning views of the active Tungurahua Volcano, the hacienda has become a 'must see' during any trip to Ecuador.The natural environment and ecotourism come together in Hacienda Manteles. Along with the wonderful gardens surrounding the main house, the hacienda encompasses a 200 hectare area of protected primary and secondary cloud forest, through which one can reach the entrance to the mystical Llanganates National Park. This forest, among other wonders, is home to an abundance of wild orchids and animals. For those who love mountain biking, horseback riding, hiking and trekking Hacienda Manteles offers the perfect setting, with a whole network of natural trails to really enjoy these activities. The surrounding peaks of the Andes provide the perfect back drop for an unforgettable visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hacienda Manteles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Manteles Hotel Banos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing