We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$78
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 20/07
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$73
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hostal Chimenea(Banos)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$27
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$305
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hostal Princesa Maria(Banos)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hostal D' Mathias(Banos)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (302)
Filter reviews
302 results
Traveller rating
210
55
19
15
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
210
55
19
15
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main housegate tourtungurahua volcanofriendly dogscheese and crackerstilapiagolden retrieverthe ownerpatateactive volcanoliving roommountain roadcrepestour groupwood stovebeautiful propertynearby volcano
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 302 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2015

This hotel has an old world ambiance because it has been transformed from a private family hacienda to a charming hotel. Each room is different, and I would imagine that reviews vary based on which room you get booked into. We felt lucky to get a room in the main house, but each room had it's own special qualities. Being in the main house we did notice that it got awfully noisy with all the chatter so close to the common rooms, but it settled down by 10:00 pm.

We were greeted personally by the innkeeper, Fernando, who not only gave an overview introduction to the inn, but ran the desk, took meal orders and helped to serve us dinner. He wasn't the only personal greeter, as two golden retrievers and a chocolate one warmly greeted all guests at the door too.

'Manteles' means tablecloth, and the hacienda was named by the innkeeper's grandmother. The farming area is divided into small sections growing different vegetables and fruit trees, so it looks like a tablecloth. This hotel has views of the Tungurahua Volcano that rises to over 17000 ft. in the landscape. Its top is snow-covered, even in the hot season.

Our room was very rustic with carved headboard on a king bed, lace-edged sheets, plump duvet, plush feather pillows and a handmade quilt. We had two extra blankets for warmth and a personal wood burning fireplace in the room. Chocolates were on the bed as a special treat. Spaces were accented with heirloom pieces, upholstered chairs, one-of-a-kind tables, an antique typewriter and sewing machine. The area rug was big enough to fit under the bed and extend to all sides around to cover part of the wood plank flooring. The ceilings were wood also, but the walls were plaster. Everywhere was tasteful artwork and wood trim. The halls had all sorts of unique pieces, and seemed to be hundreds of years old.

The bathroom was modern, but there were no facecloths or hairdryer. There was a tub, rain shower head, lots of hot water and soap/shampoo pump bottles to use. There was a good recycling system.

Wi-Fi worked only in the common areas. The dining and sitting areas had wonderful furniture and lots of interesting pieces to view. The common area was also where we had supper (delicious!) and breakfast. There was a myriad of choices for the supper meal, but the breakfast was a pretty standard menu of served crepes, jam, scrambled eggs, bacon, coffee, tea and juice.

Room Tip: Check out the room before you check in, if you can.
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BluePointer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andres H, Director Comercial at Hacienda Manteles, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2015

Greetings from Hacienda Manteles,

We would like to send our warmest regards, It was a real pleasure to have you with us at the Hacienda.

Thank you very much for your comments and suggestions. The feedback is very important for us, since it helps us improve every day.

We are pleased to hear that you were happy with our staff and food. We will review the breakfast menu.

Our staff is always delighted to provide the best service and to make your stay more comfortable.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to have you here in Ecuador and at the Hacienda Manteles in the not too distant future.

Thank you for your comment!

Kind regards,

Hacienda Manteles team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2015 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here as part of a Gate 1 tour. We were placed in one of the new rooms (23 & 24). I'm so glad that we were! It was the best room of the whole trip. The room was detached and private. Very modern with great views. The room was worthy of being covered in a design magazine. The only complaint was with the drainage in shower area (the area in front of the sink became wet). The dog/puppy welcome committee was fun.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 1travlgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andres H, Director Comercial at Hacienda Manteles, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2015

Greetings from Hacienda Manteles,

We would like to send our warmest regards, It was a real pleasure to have you with us at the Hacienda.

We are pleased to hear that you were happy with our service and also happy to know you enjoyed the food served in our restaurant.

Our staff is always delighted to provide the best service and to make your stay more comfortable.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to have you here in Ecuador and at the Hacienda Manteles in the not too distant future.

Thank you for your comment!

We hope to hear from you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2015

I usually do not like to write long review. Making an exception for this hotel.
The following cpmplaint was sent to Gate 1 and the hotel.

We recently (1-27-15) returned from a trip in Ecuador with Gate 1. This was our fourth time travelling with Gate 1.

We had a good time and our tour manager great.

We do have a serious complaint against one of the hotel – Hacienda Manteles at Banos.

I have over 40 years of experience in hotel, food & beverage, as well as construction management background.

The lodging and meals was absolutely the worst at Hacienda Manteles.

Lodging – the hacienda was in a beautiful surrounding. However, our room (#16) was absolutely one of the worst we ever had stayed in.
And we had stayed in top end hotels like Four Seasons, Lowes, and even the Palace at Lucerne in Switzerland; at the same time had stayed in many medium or lower priced hotels too.
Therefore, not asking for too much but a clean room and a good night of sleep. This hotel offered neither.

We checked in and immediately went out to take a walk, then directly to dinner.

We returned to the room after a terrible dinner, noticed a smell in the room and had to open the window to air out the room. The room definitely not very clean and my construction background told me there was a mold issue.

That was not the worst part, after we turned off the lights in room to go to bed, and the room was brighter than before we turned off the lights.
Then I realized there was a very bright light outside the room and the vertical blinds was not working properly. I fixed the verticals and it did not help much, because one piece of blind was missing.
We felt like there was a spot light aimed at our room all night. Needless to say that we did not had a good night sleep.

We could have complained to the hotel, but we already unpacked, changed, and there was no phone in the room.

We had never stay in a hotel room where there was no black-out curtain.

Also, seems like the hotel had 17 rooms, and for this particular night, there were only 10 couples.
Therefore, the 4 rooms in that building should never been used.

Meals – again, never had such terrible meals that were included in the package.

For dinner, one of the choices was Filet Mignon, the manager even pointed out that is tenderloin.
Three of the four people at our table ordered that.
It was absolutely not Filet Mignon; it was a very tough piece of New York steak (at best). My steak was way over cooked.

For breakfast, we were given one piece of cold crepe, followed by a small serving of scrambled egg, and one hard/cold dinner roll.

Seriously wondering what was going on at this hotel.
Did the manager not know his job?
Or he did not deliver what Gate 1 (or its local agency) paid for.

Whatever the reason, we definitely feel like we were cheated and did not get what we paid for.

Room Tip: If you are assigned room #14 through #17, just drive away.
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank TibetVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andres H, Director Comercial at Hacienda Manteles, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2015

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comments and suggestions. The feedback is very important for us, since it helps us improve every day.

We are very sorry to know that the food did not fulfill your expectations. We take a lot of pride for outstanding service, and food is one of the main reasons our guests complement us. We will review our menus and will talk to the team that was attending you.

We hope you come back to Ecuador and Hacienda Manteles in the near future. We will make sure that our food and service exceed your expectations.

Kind regards,

Hacienda Manteles team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2015

Ok. So before I start raving about this place I do want to admit something; the night of my arrival, when we pulled into the drive way, I wanted to give this place 0 stars if I could.

You see, the map that the hotel's website gives you isn't very clear, at all. So my boyfriend and I were lost for hours trying to find this place, which is actually located in Patate, not in Baños. It was 11 PM, we were lost on some pretty dangerous roads and I could tell there were endless cliffs by my side even though it was so dark and so foggy that we couldn't see anything in front of us. We went down to Baños and tried to call the hotel multiple times to no avail, which was really frustrating.

We decided to pay a taxi driver (specifically a pickup truck driver, you definitely need a 4X4 to get to the hotel) and he took us directly there. Honestly, we would not have found the place without that help at night.

Anyway, we got there, and Fernando had been waiting for us. He asked us if we already had dinner- which we hadn't, we had been lost for hours, and apologized that his staff had already gone home. However, after a few moments I think he was uncomfortable with the idea of his guests going to bed without food in their bellies because he invited us to the kitchen and fixed us some delicious turkey breast sandwiches, and the portions were GENEROUS.

We were guided to our room- GORGEOUS, HUGE, AMAZING, WOW. If it helps, we stayed in the new area, in the suite. So worth the price. The beds are absolutely and deliciously comfortable, the hot tub has a view of the volcano, I don't know… It was beautiful.

We stayed for three nights and didn't want to leave. We loved the food and were so happy to finally eat salad in Ecuador. Everything is home made or home grown, so the salad is grown on the property as well as the collard greens used in the soups, the spices used in the fish, the eggs and milk, the corn, the squash, the peppers…EVERYTHING. Except the jam- they leave the berries on the bushes so that birds have food. Sure, maybe the portions might seem weak if you like to pig out on vacation. But the breakfast included at least two eggs and a few veggies, cheese, and ham. You can also ask for fresh cheese and freshly baked bread if you're still hungry. I get it- they're stingy on the bacon. But try to find any place in the tropics that offers bacon for breakfast. It isn't common. They aren't stingy at all unless you're used to overeating. I actually gained 1 kilo after my stay here.

The staff was extremely friendly, and for two nights we really got to know them since we were the only guests there. The place is just overall welcoming. The dogs welcome you and sleep at your door and wait for you in the morning. The baby donkey greets you and follows you around and pushes you with its nose so that you scratch him (his name is Bob). The dogs literally guide you to the waterfall located 40 mins away walking distance…

I do NOT recommend horseback riding. The horses were mean, to say the least. We struggled with them for a while until my boyfriend's horse tried to buck him off one too many times. Needless to say, we were not charged for this activity. We didn't need to complain about it, based on our experience with the horses they simply didn't even try to charge us.

To sum it up: this place is beautifully located, it is charming, everything about it including the animals (except the horses) is welcoming, and Fernando has something that a lot of places lack; COMMON SENSE. He knows hospitality.

Room Tip: Fernando gave us a tour of the main house and the staff let us see one of the houses. They're HUGE and very spacious. I wouldn't recommend the rooms in the main house, however the suites are spectacular. I may model my future main room after this suite.
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andres H, Director Comercial at Hacienda Manteles, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2015

Greetings from Hacienda Manteles,

We would like to send our warmest regards, It was a real pleasure to have you with us at the Hacienda.

Thank you very much for your comments and suggestions. The feedback is very important for us, since it helps us improve every day.

We are pleased to hear that you were happy with our staff and food. Our staff is always delighted to provide the best service and to make your stay more comfortable.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to have you here in Ecuador and at the Hacienda Manteles in the not too distant future.

Thank you for your comment!

Kind regards,

Hacienda Manteles team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2015

After a long day of touring in the Banos area, it was nice to arrive at this hacienda and be heartily welcomed by Fernando - similar to arriving at a friend's home for the night. He treated our tour group as if we were family, telling us about the house and our rooms and dinner plans before giving us our keys and sending us on our way. Our room was in main house and at first, I was a bit disappointed, thinking the new, outer rooms might be better, but our room was comfortable, clean and cozy. We loved staying in the main building - it gave us the opportunity to study all the neat artifacts on display that have been excavated over the years during construction and remodeling, and Fernando took time to tell us about many of them. We also had the big living room to relax in and visit with other guests before and after dinner. We thought the food was excellent, especially the Swiss chard soup. In the morning we walked around the grounds, enjoying the views, playing with the donkeys and wished we were staying longer so we could do some hiking. When we vacation, we like to disconnect as much as possible so did not ask to use the Wifi. We get tired of staying in cookie cutter hotels so enjoyed this experience very much. We would go back.

Room Tip: We recommend asking for a room in the main house/building.
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank discodev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andres H, Director Comercial at Hacienda Manteles, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2015

Greetings from Hacienda Manteles,

We would like to send our warmest regards, It was a real pleasure to have you with us at the Hacienda.

We are pleased to hear that you were happy with our service and also happy to know you enjoyed the food served in our restaurant.

Our staff is always delighted to provide the best service and to make your stay more comfortable.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to have you here in Ecuador and at the Hacienda Manteles in the not too distant future.

Thank you for your comment!

We hope to hear from you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews