We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel Room”
Review of Hacienda Manteles

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hacienda Manteles
Ranked #1 of 57 Banos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2015 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here as part of a Gate 1 tour. We were placed in one of the new rooms (23 & 24). I'm so glad that we were! It was the best room of the whole trip. The room was detached and private. Very modern with great views. The room was worthy of being covered in a design magazine. The only complaint was with the drainage in shower area (the area in front of the sink became wet). The dog/puppy welcome committee was fun.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 1travlgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andres H, Director Comercial at Hacienda Manteles, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2015

Greetings from Hacienda Manteles,

We would like to send our warmest regards, It was a real pleasure to have you with us at the Hacienda.

We are pleased to hear that you were happy with our service and also happy to know you enjoyed the food served in our restaurant.

Our staff is always delighted to provide the best service and to make your stay more comfortable.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to have you here in Ecuador and at the Hacienda Manteles in the not too distant future.

Thank you for your comment!

We hope to hear from you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 91 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2015

I usually do not like to write long review. Making an exception for this hotel.
The following cpmplaint was sent to Gate 1 and the hotel.

We recently (1-27-15) returned from a trip in Ecuador with Gate 1. This was our fourth time travelling with Gate 1.

We had a good time and our tour manager great.

We do have a serious complaint against one of the hotel – Hacienda Manteles at Banos.

I have over 40 years of experience in hotel, food & beverage, as well as construction management background.

The lodging and meals was absolutely the worst at Hacienda Manteles.

Lodging – the hacienda was in a beautiful surrounding. However, our room (#16) was absolutely one of the worst we ever had stayed in.
And we had stayed in top end hotels like Four Seasons, Lowes, and even the Palace at Lucerne in Switzerland; at the same time had stayed in many medium or lower priced hotels too.
Therefore, not asking for too much but a clean room and a good night of sleep. This hotel offered neither.

We checked in and immediately went out to take a walk, then directly to dinner.

We returned to the room after a terrible dinner, noticed a smell in the room and had to open the window to air out the room. The room definitely not very clean and my construction background told me there was a mold issue.

That was not the worst part, after we turned off the lights in room to go to bed, and the room was brighter than before we turned off the lights.
Then I realized there was a very bright light outside the room and the vertical blinds was not working properly. I fixed the verticals and it did not help much, because one piece of blind was missing.
We felt like there was a spot light aimed at our room all night. Needless to say that we did not had a good night sleep.

We could have complained to the hotel, but we already unpacked, changed, and there was no phone in the room.

We had never stay in a hotel room where there was no black-out curtain.

Also, seems like the hotel had 17 rooms, and for this particular night, there were only 10 couples.
Therefore, the 4 rooms in that building should never been used.

Meals – again, never had such terrible meals that were included in the package.

For dinner, one of the choices was Filet Mignon, the manager even pointed out that is tenderloin.
Three of the four people at our table ordered that.
It was absolutely not Filet Mignon; it was a very tough piece of New York steak (at best). My steak was way over cooked.

For breakfast, we were given one piece of cold crepe, followed by a small serving of scrambled egg, and one hard/cold dinner roll.

Seriously wondering what was going on at this hotel.
Did the manager not know his job?
Or he did not deliver what Gate 1 (or its local agency) paid for.

Whatever the reason, we definitely feel like we were cheated and did not get what we paid for.

Room Tip: If you are assigned room #14 through #17, just drive away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank TibetVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andres H, Director Comercial at Hacienda Manteles, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2015

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comments and suggestions. The feedback is very important for us, since it helps us improve every day.

We are very sorry to know that the food did not fulfill your expectations. We take a lot of pride for outstanding service, and food is one of the main reasons our guests complement us. We will review our menus and will talk to the team that was attending you.

We hope you come back to Ecuador and Hacienda Manteles in the near future. We will make sure that our food and service exceed your expectations.

Kind regards,

Hacienda Manteles team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2015

Ok. So before I start raving about this place I do want to admit something; the night of my arrival, when we pulled into the drive way, I wanted to give this place 0 stars if I could.

You see, the map that the hotel's website gives you isn't very clear, at all. So my boyfriend and I were lost for hours trying to find this place, which is actually located in Patate, not in Baños. It was 11 PM, we were lost on some pretty dangerous roads and I could tell there were endless cliffs by my side even though it was so dark and so foggy that we couldn't see anything in front of us. We went down to Baños and tried to call the hotel multiple times to no avail, which was really frustrating.

We decided to pay a taxi driver (specifically a pickup truck driver, you definitely need a 4X4 to get to the hotel) and he took us directly there. Honestly, we would not have found the place without that help at night.

Anyway, we got there, and Fernando had been waiting for us. He asked us if we already had dinner- which we hadn't, we had been lost for hours, and apologized that his staff had already gone home. However, after a few moments I think he was uncomfortable with the idea of his guests going to bed without food in their bellies because he invited us to the kitchen and fixed us some delicious turkey breast sandwiches, and the portions were GENEROUS.

We were guided to our room- GORGEOUS, HUGE, AMAZING, WOW. If it helps, we stayed in the new area, in the suite. So worth the price. The beds are absolutely and deliciously comfortable, the hot tub has a view of the volcano, I don't know… It was beautiful.

We stayed for three nights and didn't want to leave. We loved the food and were so happy to finally eat salad in Ecuador. Everything is home made or home grown, so the salad is grown on the property as well as the collard greens used in the soups, the spices used in the fish, the eggs and milk, the corn, the squash, the peppers…EVERYTHING. Except the jam- they leave the berries on the bushes so that birds have food. Sure, maybe the portions might seem weak if you like to pig out on vacation. But the breakfast included at least two eggs and a few veggies, cheese, and ham. You can also ask for fresh cheese and freshly baked bread if you're still hungry. I get it- they're stingy on the bacon. But try to find any place in the tropics that offers bacon for breakfast. It isn't common. They aren't stingy at all unless you're used to overeating. I actually gained 1 kilo after my stay here.

The staff was extremely friendly, and for two nights we really got to know them since we were the only guests there. The place is just overall welcoming. The dogs welcome you and sleep at your door and wait for you in the morning. The baby donkey greets you and follows you around and pushes you with its nose so that you scratch him (his name is Bob). The dogs literally guide you to the waterfall located 40 mins away walking distance…

I do NOT recommend horseback riding. The horses were mean, to say the least. We struggled with them for a while until my boyfriend's horse tried to buck him off one too many times. Needless to say, we were not charged for this activity. We didn't need to complain about it, based on our experience with the horses they simply didn't even try to charge us.

To sum it up: this place is beautifully located, it is charming, everything about it including the animals (except the horses) is welcoming, and Fernando has something that a lot of places lack; COMMON SENSE. He knows hospitality.

Room Tip: Fernando gave us a tour of the main house and the staff let us see one of the houses. They're HU...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lfg4t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andres H, Director Comercial at Hacienda Manteles, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2015

Greetings from Hacienda Manteles,

We would like to send our warmest regards, It was a real pleasure to have you with us at the Hacienda.

Thank you very much for your comments and suggestions. The feedback is very important for us, since it helps us improve every day.

We are pleased to hear that you were happy with our staff and food. Our staff is always delighted to provide the best service and to make your stay more comfortable.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to have you here in Ecuador and at the Hacienda Manteles in the not too distant future.

Thank you for your comment!

Kind regards,

Hacienda Manteles team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2015

After a long day of touring in the Banos area, it was nice to arrive at this hacienda and be heartily welcomed by Fernando - similar to arriving at a friend's home for the night. He treated our tour group as if we were family, telling us about the house and our rooms and dinner plans before giving us our keys and sending us on our way. Our room was in main house and at first, I was a bit disappointed, thinking the new, outer rooms might be better, but our room was comfortable, clean and cozy. We loved staying in the main building - it gave us the opportunity to study all the neat artifacts on display that have been excavated over the years during construction and remodeling, and Fernando took time to tell us about many of them. We also had the big living room to relax in and visit with other guests before and after dinner. We thought the food was excellent, especially the Swiss chard soup. In the morning we walked around the grounds, enjoying the views, playing with the donkeys and wished we were staying longer so we could do some hiking. When we vacation, we like to disconnect as much as possible so did not ask to use the Wifi. We get tired of staying in cookie cutter hotels so enjoyed this experience very much. We would go back.

Room Tip: We recommend asking for a room in the main house/building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank discodev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andres H, Director Comercial at Hacienda Manteles, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2015

Greetings from Hacienda Manteles,

We would like to send our warmest regards, It was a real pleasure to have you with us at the Hacienda.

We are pleased to hear that you were happy with our service and also happy to know you enjoyed the food served in our restaurant.

Our staff is always delighted to provide the best service and to make your stay more comfortable.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to have you here in Ecuador and at the Hacienda Manteles in the not too distant future.

Thank you for your comment!

We hope to hear from you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2015

The place is worth the time and money via tour bus trip (Gate 1). The food and views were unbelievable. The owner and family that operate the establishment were friendly and made us feel at home, wifi is there, however you must ask for the password and let them know when your finished cause of the internet connection that can handle so many devices and to be fair to all other guests who want to upload a photo or two and send a quick email!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andres H, Director Comercial at Hacienda Manteles, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2015

Greetings from Hacienda Manteles,

We would like to send our warmest regards, It was a real pleasure to have you with us at the Hacienda.

We are pleased to hear that you were happy with our service and also happy to know you enjoyed the food served in our restaurant.

Our staff is always delighted to provide the best service and to make your stay more comfortable.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to have you here in Ecuador and at the Hacienda Manteles in the not too distant future.

We have improved our wifi service.

Thank you for your comment!

We hope to hear from you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banos
11.3 km away
La Villa del Penon Hotel & Spa
11.3 km away
La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House
10.9 km away
Sangay Spa Hotel
Sangay Spa Hotel
#9 of 27 in Banos
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.5 km away
Hosteria La Andaluza
Hosteria La Andaluza
#1 of 19 in Riobamba
422 reviews
10.7 km away
La Floresta Hotel
La Floresta Hotel
#4 of 27 in Banos
319 reviews
12.3 km away
Hosteria Finca Chamanapamba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Manteles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Manteles

Address: Ecological Route Banos - Patate km. 18.5 (Via Las Antenas) | A 40 minutos desde Baños, Banos 0000, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Banos
Price Range: €177 - €178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hacienda Manteles 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda Manteles, a hotel near Banos, awaits your visit, offering you a homely and welcoming atmosphere in one of the most beautiful haciendas in Ecuador. Manteles, built in 1965 was transformed into a hotel in 1992. Little by little, the property has been remodelled and refurbished to include all the home comforts and services that our guests deserve. Located 18km from the town of Banos and offering stunning views of the active Tungurahua Volcano, the hacienda has become a 'must see' during any trip to Ecuador.The natural environment and ecotourism come together in Hacienda Manteles. Along with the wonderful gardens surrounding the main house, the hacienda encompasses a 200 hectare area of protected primary and secondary cloud forest, through which one can reach the entrance to the mystical Llanganates National Park. This forest, among other wonders, is home to an abundance of wild orchids and animals. For those who love mountain biking, horseback riding, hiking and trekking Hacienda Manteles offers the perfect setting, with a whole network of natural trails to really enjoy these activities. The surrounding peaks of the Andes provide the perfect back drop for an unforgettable visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hacienda Manteles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Manteles Hotel Banos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing