We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (227)
Filter reviews
227 results
Traveller rating
143
53
20
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
143
53
20
7
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 227 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2016

The hotel rooms are located in two buildings and are a walk separated from the main dining room and reception area. Breakfast is located in another building close to the hotel rooms. The building housing the rooms are set up like a cabin with fireplaces leading to the individual rooms. The rooms themselves are large and spacious. The meals either in the breakfast area or in the restaurant were very good and filling. The main part of town is a walk of several blocks and looks a lot like many small mountain towns with many souvenir stores and restaurants on main street.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MB Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PANATEL_SA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Los Sauces Casa Patagonica, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2016

Many thanks for your fine description of our Hotel. We are very pleased to know that you enjoy your stay with us. We hope to welcome once again when your travels bring back to El Calafate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2016

We had a luxurious room, very comfortable and close to the building where breakfast was served. The hotel is in easy walking distance of the town.

You may need to take the free golf cart to get from the house in which your room is situated (there are 6) to reception or to the breakfast room.

There is a good breakfast despite none of the staff speaking any English at all. Breakfast was good but it was difficult to convey our simple requirements to the one waitress, although we knew the correct Spanish words for “soft boiled egg” or “poached egg” we could not understand her reply. Later we found that some hotels used a printed card with these simple terms in English and Spanish so you could point at what you wanted. Los Sauces Patagonia should do the same.

Ridiculously expensive bottled water in the mini bar (80 pesos). Good dinner.

Lovely indoor swimming pool and spa.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EssexRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PANATEL_SA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Los Sauces Casa Patagonica, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2016

Many thanks for your comments related the rooms, the location an the spa. We regret the lack of a printed card in the breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you if your travels bring back to El Calafate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2016

We adored the site of this hotel and all the wild birds grazing on the lawns. Great breakfast buffet. Fantastic massage at the spa, but a shame the hot tubs & jacuzzi were empty. Very large, comfortable room & bed, Well heated as it is cold at night. Not enough sockets in the room. We enjoyed the walk through the lovely grounds every day from our room (furthest from the reception) and honestly it doesn't even take 10 mins, so I'm not sure what the moans are about. Plus there are 2 golf carts that can be called up - we called up for luggage.
The chef of the restaurant is lovely. He made us a great chicken salad (off menu) when we arrived at 3pm not having had any lunch and when he heard that on our day of departure we would be leaving before 6am had a special breakfast served to us in the main dining room including gluten free products for me. We were impressed.
It is a shame the restaurant does not serve local food. We hadn't come all this way to eat Italian food. A short walk only to town;
The only down sides was the bell boy who forgot our order for a golf buggy to transport our luggage to reception at 5h30am (we knew he would, he was just not listening) and the most unpleasant male receptionist (receeding hair) who acted as if serving us was below him. We paid our bill the night before as we had an early departure, but not one smile, not a single thank you, only a sneer. This was a big shame as we had thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and it left an unpleasant last taste. But I would still recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PANATEL_SA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Los Sauces Casa Patagonica, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2016

Many thanks for your kind comments related the room, the kindness of our chef, Thank you also for letting us know the items that did not satisfy you, it was pity to know rather late but they help us to improve them inmediately. Thank you also for your recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2016

This hotel was selected by our tour company for our group's visit to the Glacier on the way to Torres del Paine. The town is a surprise itself in the middle of remote Patagonia,and the hotel was even more of an upclass surprise. The rooms are in separate buildings spread out around the grounds connected by loose gravel roads. The hotel provides transport via golf cart from the rooms to the dining hall and reception areas. The rooms were well appointed, but the main issue mentioned by others was the inability to get the temperature right. The hotel is designed for cold winters with radiators, but it's not winter now, and it was a struggle to get the room cool. Also, the lack of soundproofing in the doors and walls made it very obvious when others were coming and going to their rooms. This would be fine if a large family is occupying an entire house, but an issue when strangers and staying next door. The food was excellent, if a little too pretentious for a small town.
We had the misfortune of being in El Calafete during a major music festival, and were serenaded until past midnight on a night when we had to leave early in the morning the next day. The local stadium must be next door to the hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fairdinkum_ozzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PANATEL_SA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Los Sauces Casa Patagonica, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2016

Many thanks for your comments related the food and the rooms. We regret a lot you couldn`t have a quiet night due tothe music festival . We take duly note of the items you were so kind to let us know just to improve them inmediately. We hope to welcome you if you or your company choice once again El Calafate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2016

This hotel is set out as a series of lodges, each containing a number of rooms, in beautiful gardens and grounds. The rooms are very large, and we found them to be clean and comfortable. Although very hot, so we had to open some windows at night.
The restaurants are at the front and very rear, a couple of hundred meters apart. To walk to and from there are only loose gravel roads, difficult to walk on at times. Poor lighting along the roadways and watch out for golf carts. there are no footpaths or area to get easily off the road without stepping over rails onto the gardens or grass.
There is a considerable surcharge for room service.
But overall a beautiful oasis.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PANATEL_SA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Los Sauces Casa Patagonica, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2016

Many thanks for yur kind comments related the rooms and for considering the Hotel a beautiful oasis. Many thanks also for letting us know the points that have to be improved, they help us for getting the satisfaction of our guests. We hope to welcome once again when your travels bring ack to El Calafate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews