We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (220)
Filter reviews
220 results
Traveller rating
102
75
26
10
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
102
75
26
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews in town living room bread calafate patagonia cereal
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 220 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2016

We went to the city of Calafate in order to visit the Perrito Moreno Glacier and then to go onwards to Chili by bus. The hotel is centrally located, the desk clerk whose name I think is either Juan or Julio gets 5 stars for his friendliness and helpfulness!!! He also speaks English very well and shared his Yerba Mate with me which my first taste of this tea. Most Argentineans drink this tea all day and carry a thermos and the mate with them. The room was okay but the breakfast was awful and I could not eat even the media lunas (croissants) there. You have to be in the common area for wifi or a common room they provide with a TV.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank soon2retire2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2015 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here 3 nights in October whilst visiting El Calafate and our experience was mixed. The staff were always pleasant and the food in the restaurant was great, however there were a few key points that meant we wouldn't rush back.

Firstly, the room does have a strange smell that we tried airing by keeping the windows open but it was snowing one day so it was a balance of letting fresh air in whilst not getting too cold. The wifi was also slow and often cut out however generally rectified itself quite quickly.

Our main piece of feedback (of which we provided in person also) is that they only take cash payment.. When staying somewhere for a few nights you end up talking several hundred dollars that you need in cash. This is made more difficult by the fact that the ATM's in town only allow you to withdraw 1500 pesos at a time, and we get charged $20-30 AUS dollars each time we withdraw.. This meant the price of accommodation was drastically increased because they don't take a card which is very strange in a town where there are a tonne of tourists.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank 365days_Jess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2015 via mobile

I have to say that I like this place and my stay was very enjoyable.
First of all, I like to shout out to Caesar, the concierge, who watch a lot of British shows to learn English. Show now when he talks, he has that British accent. He was very friendly and helpful when we need to find things; especially resturants. He went beyond the call of duty and make us reservations.
Now, the room. What can I say, it was spacious, clean, firm bed, bathroom was spacious with tile tub, but the WiFi was weak and choppy.
The sunroom/computer room/library was very nice, soft and comfortable cause it over look the garden.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Duke_tran_97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2015 via mobile

We stayed here two nights and really enjoyed our stay. The room was spacious, the bed was very comfortable, and the heat worked well. Internet was rather pretty fast and consistent.
The staff was very friendly and attentive and the breakfast was pretty decent.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2015

We stayed at Kau Kaleshen for three nights and we don't think we could bare the thought of staying there for another second. Where to begin...

The Room - Nothing good to say here. You are welcomed by a putrid smell that is a mixture of gas fumes and a bad potpourri. Opening the bathroom window and the main door did not do much and every time we came back to the room it only seemed the stench got stronger. The shower curtain had mold on it and walls are thinner than paper (we could hear our neighbor clipping their nails and their alarm at 6 a.m.

The Breakfast - The most basic you can get. Cheese, ham and toast. Only delicacy is fresh apple mixed with can fruit. Expected a little more from a place that has a restaurant at night that is considered to be one of the better ones in the city.

The Staff - Definitely a mixture here of warm and friendly, and outright rude. They made us feel uncomfortable on more than one occasion - i.e. wanting us to pay before the end of our stay, giving us a hard time about a late check-out when they told us blatantly the room was vacant after us.

Location - Great location but the cons definitely outweigh this one pro.

Price - We did stay during on of the busiest times of their season (during a music festival), so we understood that we would have to pay a premium. But paying $180 USD is just highway robbery for what we got. And oh ya....they only take cash (in a town that runs out of cash in their ATMs - happened 3 times to us).

If you are looking to stay here, we would recommend to not even consider this dump. The city is small enough that location is not critical at all which makes Kau Kelshen worthless.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank Rikki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews