We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (675)
Filter reviews
675 results
Traveller rating
248
329
82
14
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
248
329
82
14
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main street pleasant garden flights of stairs breakfast average sized rooms reasonable size recommend this hotel short stay hotel is located large room stayed one night bed was comfortable few minutes walk other hotels couple of nights restaurants and shops lake argentina
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 675 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2016 via mobile

Stayed here in January on the way back from El Chalten to enable a visit to Perito Moreno glacier

We had a very nice room with a deck that looked out over a lawn and beyond that was off street parking area for the rental car. The room was clean and well furnished with lots of outlets. Internet was free and reasonably fast compared to other stops in Patagonia.

Great location on the Av. Libertador. It is just a few blocks from the shops and restaurants but is far enough that it does not get the foot and car traffic of the "downtown" area. Behind the hotel is the lakeshore and a promenade that enables long walks and there re bikes you can borrow from the hotel to cruise.

Two cons: The rooms seem to be well insulated for cold nights and there were not external Windows or fans and since we were being during an unusually sunny and warm period the only ventilation would have been to leave the sliding door to the deck open. This seemed somewhat unwise if the wind picked up and not particularly safe being on the ground floor) (but I don't think crime is a big concern here). Second the twin beds we were given weren't particularly comfortable and quite short, but firmness is a matter of taste so YMMV. But that's a small complaint and overall the efficient service, cleanliness, beautiful garden setting and location make this hotel a good bet among all the hotels in the area. I can't address value as this was part of a big package of travel combined so I can't address the quality vs. cost metric here.

Date of stay: January 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank CT94010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IGNACIOBELLINI, Manager at Hotel Sierra Nevada, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2016

Thank you very much for your feedback, and let us apollogize for the inconvinience

Regards

Hotel Sierra Nevada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2016

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights while in El Calafate. The location is fairly central and convenient and the staff is friendly. The rooms are not luxurious, but certainly nice. I'd definitely go back if I was staying in El Calafate.

Date of stay: January 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Isil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IGNACIOBELLINI, Manager at Hotel Sierra Nevada, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2016

Thank you very much for your feedback Isil!!

Regards

Hotel Sierra Nevada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of days to visit the Perito Moreno Glaciar. It's a 10 minutes walk from the main hub of the town. The rooms don't have a/c but are spacious and have all other mod cons. They also do offer packed lunches for tourists going on day trips which is a nice touch.

Date of stay: January 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank crn85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IGNACIOBELLINI, Gerente at Hotel Sierra Nevada, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2016

Thanks for your feedback, is nice to know what our guests think about our service


Regards


Hotel Sierra Nevada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2016 via mobile

We stayed for two nights over Christmas, which our travel agent neglected to tell us would be a problem. Although the front desk staff tried to be helpful regarding finding us somewhere to eat, it was obvious that the only option was the set Christmas Eve meal in their restaurant. The meal was okay, but probably more than we wanted. The glacier trip was already booked for Christmas Day, and we woke up to rain and snow.
After a full day of not seeing a lot and getting wet even though we had the appropriate clothing we returned to the hotel to find that the restaurant was closed for Christmas and that there may be something open a 15 - 20 minutes walk away! As it was still raining hard we went to bed without a meal not having had the time, ability or I admit the foresight to buy any snacks.
This is apparently the norm in Argentina and maybe South America in general and had we done our research properly we would have maybe been able to do things differently!
I still think that the hotel could have had some food available for stranded clients.
The room and breakfast were fine and on a positive note, they opened the breakfast room early on our last morning as we had a bus to catch.

Date of stay: December 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Catsnsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IGNACIOBELLINI, Gerente at Hotel Sierra Nevada, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2016

Thanks for your feedback and sorry for the inconvinience of the 25th of december the front desk should tell you that the restaurant is close the christmas day.

regards

Hotel Sierra Nevada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2015

Hotel Sierra Nevada was clean, comfortable and convenient for the excursions we took from El Calafate. It is situated on the Main Street where the majority of Shopping/Eating Establishments are situated. Approx 700 Metres walk to end of Street.

The Breakfast was a bit restricted in choice, but it is 3* establishment.Bedroom itself was comfortable, and the gardens are pleasant.

Rooms 110 thru 117 are slightly larger than the others, but are farthest away from Reception/Dining Room

Packed Lunch. Although you can have a packed Lunch for your Day trip which suggests you can choose White or Brown Bread, we ended up with White each Time. Possibly due to fact that person who said it was no problem, did not appear to make a note of who made the request.

Room tip: Rooms 110 to 117 are slightly larger, but farther from entrance
Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicol05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IGNACIOBELLINI, Gerente at Hotel Sierra Nevada, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2016

Thanks for your feedback.

we will work to improve our service.


regards


Hotel Sierra Nevada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews