We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (481)
Filter reviews
481 results
Traveller rating
291
141
32
3
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
291
141
32
3
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfirst floorinternet connectionwalking distanceswimming pooljacuzzilakeapartment
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 481 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2017

After reading reviews, some of which puzzled me, and a few direct questions, I decided to book this hotel. I would best define this place as an Apart-motel, not a hotel. There is a front building with the reception, pool table, computers heated pool and gym, and then, up the hill accessible by a pebble road, a small parking lot and the building with the rooms. Both buildings are nicely decorated as seen in the pictures. Some construction finishing touches are a little rustic but it is a very, very comfortable and pleasant place. We stayed in a loft. We were 4 and were very comfortable. There are stairs inside and outside the room, in addition to the steep access road, so travel light and if you do not have a car asked the taxi to drive up the hill to download your luggage, rather than dropping everything off at the reception. Kitchen is quite complete but no dishwasher, so if you want dinner and breakfast self made you will wash a few dishes. Other than that, room service will clean everything. There are some supplies you can purchase from the hotel itself, like pasta, sauce, wine, water, soda.there is a shopping mall walking distance (about 200 m to the right when you exit on Bustillo) and supermarkets a little further away.The upstairs bed is hugh!, they call it a "super king" and two parents with two preschoolers could easily sleep well on that. There are two single beds on the ground floor, plus a sofa. Two TVs, one upstars and one downstars, we did not watch much but there were some English channels in addition to plenty of Spanish cable channels. internet connection was not perfect but good enough for me. Some family members were less content. The view...it depends on the room. We interrupted our stay for some trekking, our first room was 24 with a nice view of the lake between the trees, the second room was number 26 which had no lake view at all, only trees. But 26 was larger which came in handy at the time of repacking our massive amount of stuff. My guess is that only some of the lofts have a good view. Rooms that are not lofts probably just see green. Special advise on the doors to the balconies: they are a special design to deal with Patagonian winds. The handle pointing down locks the door, the handle horizontal is a regular open door, the handle pointing up will open the top of the door toward the room while keeping the bottom locked, like a standing wedge. If you are unaware of it, it will feel like the door is collapsing on you, but you can get fresh air without blowing wind. Did I mentioned the pool? What a treat after a day of activity. It is not a heated swimming pool, I would rather call that an enormous indoor/outdoor hot tub. And there was a trampoline for the kids at the very top of the property. Front desk cas great!

Room Tip: best views probably rooms 21 to 24
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Reduan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GestiondeCalidad, Gerente at Rochester Hotel Bariloche, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2017

Dear guest,
Every day we listen to our guests' needs in order to improve our services and to achieve our most important goal: exceeding guests' expectations

Looking forward to welcoming you in our hotels soon.

Manager
Rochester Bariloche

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

Great choice to stay in calafate! Really nice rooms and the staff was super friendly and helpful!
Cool restaurant with many local options.
Great price-quality relation.
The hotel even has a bus service to Downtown everyday from 5pm to 11 at night to move around freely.

Stayed: February 2017
Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GestiondeCalidad, Gerente at Rochester Hotel Bariloche, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2017

Dear Customer,
We believe that the description does not correspond to our hotel

Thank you so much

manager
Rochester Bariloche

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

Great luxurious and spacious place. A little distance from the centre but very relaxing. The jacuzzi was heaven :). We had the loft, was really nice. Beds are good as well. Breakfast could be better but this is almost everywhere the case.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Eltine v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GestiondeCalidad, Gerente at Rochester Hotel Bariloche, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2016

For Rochester Hotels, it is really important to know our guests' preferences in order to succeed in satisfying their needs.
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your positive comments on our daily work. They let us know we are successfully achieving our goals.
Looking forward to welcoming you in our hotels soon.
Manager
Rochester Bariloche

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2016

It is veey well located hotel.
The room is large, quiet and comfortable. Free parking.
Nice heated swimming pool? You can swim outdoor even in a cold weather.
The problem is that it is far from the room. I.e. You have to use the clothing in the reception building where the pool is located. Imagine the logistic to be back to your room (in a cold weather).
The breakfast is served in your room under request in the night before. There is a kitchen in the room.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DinhoEagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GestiondeCalidad, Gerente at Rochester Hotel Bariloche, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2016

Dear guest,
Every day we listen to our guests' needs in order to improve our services and to achieve our most important goal: exceeding guests' expectations
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your positive comments on our daily work. They let us know we are successfully achieving our goals.
Looking forward to welcoming you in our hotels soon.
Manager
Rochester Bariloche

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2015

We had a split level room with AMAZING views of the lake. The apartment like room was clean, spacious and comfortable. The kitchen has everything you need- including a refrigerator. The bathroom is located in the first floor with a huge jacuzzi tub- there is also a stand up shower with good pressure and heated floors, a lovely touch. The bedroom is upstairs. It is truly a beautiful room/apartment. The only fault, which is not theirs at all but if you have young children it is something to keep in mind- not to deter from staying here though just to be conscious of and aware. There are many things that make this apartment dangerous for small children- the stairs which are beautiful don't have a wall or railing, the upstairs has a railing with wires which is lovely but a child can very easily fall through- the deck, both upstairs and downstairs are the same way.
Although we had to child proof and be very careful with our 18month old, we would definitely stay here again without a doubt. The comfort of having a kitchen, a comfortable living space and the views are what drove us to stay here.
It is best to have a car if staying here since the supermarkets are a few kilometers from the place and most attractions are also a distance away.
We did not try the indoor/outdoor heated pool, but it sure looked lovely :)

Room Tip: split level room- great views!
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adriana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GestiondeCalidad, Gerente at Rochester Hotel Bariloche, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2015

For Rochester Hotels, it is really important to know our guests' preferences in order to succeed in satisfying their needs.
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your positive comments on our daily work. They let us know we are successfully achieving our goals.
Looking forward to welcoming you in our hotels soon.

Manager
Rochester Bariloche

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews