We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Vista!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Charming Luxury Lodge & Private Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Vista!”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

My partner and I stayed at Charming for 3 nights based on the trip advisor reviews and found it a very good hotel. While the ash from the Chilean volcano did hamper the view, this is hardly something that can be counted against the hotel.

The standouts for us were:
Views across the lake (even given the ash)
Friendliness of the staff
On-site restaurant - great quality food and the best breakfasts we had in Argentina.
The bed was very comfortable and the shower/spa excellent.
We also had arguably the best massages we have ever had!!

The things to be conscious of are - we booked a standard room, which is pretty pricey (even for a 5 star hotel) if you don't book via an internet deal. This meant we got a room which was under the dining room (therefore noisy when people moved their chairs) and did not have an outdoor area to sit enjoy the view. It was also not at all private (unless you drew the curtains) as to access the room next door the guests had to walk past your window and could look straight in...
The hotel is 7.5 kms from the centre of town, so you either need to hire a car, catch a cab or catch a local bus if you want to get anywhere.

All in all a great hotel and I would recommend it to friends, however a 5 star rating is probably a bit generous!

Room Tip: Make sure you are not under the dining room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arrc2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiziana M, General Manager at Charming Luxury Lodge & Private Spa, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor.
I am glad to know that you enjoyed the hotel and the view and regret that we did not fully meet your expectations. We appreciate your comments as customer feedback essential as a means to self-improvement.
We strive to achieve the Five Star service you desire, and look forward to receiving you back at Charming Luxury Lodge.
Kind Regards
Tiziana Mongiardini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,403
    119
    24
    3
    5
See reviews for
333
938
35
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Charming is a great hotel with staff that go the extra mile and beyond.
I stayed there in January (sorry for the delayed review) and can honestly say it was without a doubt the best hotel we stayed at during our time in South America. Got the Jacuzzi room with views of the lake which were amazing. Maria on the front desk helped us out so much and made such an impression that even now 2 months later I still remember her name.
Definately Recommended.
Thanks again to all the staff there that made our stay a great experience.
- Marcos

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Charming is highly rated on Tripadvisor and they work very hard to maintain their reputation.
For our own personal reasons we wished to change room after the first night - not a problem to the polite staff who couldn't do enough to help.
All the rooms have beautiful views over the lake with private balconies.
The service was in general very good.
The breakfast and food generally was of a very high standard.
We had a very relaxing and pleasant stay and would highly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WelltravelledAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberto Pablo H, Propietario at Charming Luxury Lodge & Private Spa, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
We are very glad your stay at Charming Lodge has been pleasent and relaxing. We believe breakfast is the most important meal of the day and we strive to make our breakfast excellent with high standards of quality in the products we used. We really hope to welcome you back at Charming. Thanks for your comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Charming provides great rooms with extremely spacious bathrooms and balconies situated in an indescribably beautiful locale with one of a kind views. The location is ideal as it's easily accessible from both the airport and the town of Bariloche, but it's set in a much more lush setting than Bariloche proper. The staff was great, with Maria Jose in particular going well above and beyond what would be reasonable to expect. We got into town with practically nothing planned for our time in Bariloche and essentially chose all of our activities based on conversations with her. One of the best things about staying here was the range of excursions that often skewed quite adventurous to the purely relaxing days we spent lounging around Charming's idyllic grounds. The food at Stag was quite good and the in room massages were incredible. For those concerned, the ash from the volcano in Chile was only noticeable one afternoon in our five days in Bariloche and had no greater impact on us than a day of bad weather - we didn't have to alter any plans or make any changes at all and our flights in and out of BRC were both on time. We just lost our view on the day the ash kicked up, but it did nothing to lessen the great time we had.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nekoramentaisho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberto Pablo H, Owner at Charming Luxury Lodge & Private Spa, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Friends of California, we are glad you have enjoyed your stay at Charming Lodge. We really appreciate your feedback about the volcano situation especially for those who want more real an updated information about Bariloche.
Greetings from all our staff and we hope to see you again one day. Thanks for your comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Hotel situated in a wonderful position over looking the lake. The staff of 18 from gardener to top man could not have been more helpful. Our room was spotlessly clean, the king size bed most comfortable. It had a large jacussi/bath, sauna and shower/steamroom, we used them all! It was very peaceful, most of the noise came from the birds being chased by the resident small terrier! Breakfast was freshly prepared to order and orange juice freshly squeezed. The grounds are well kept with a large heated swimming pool. The weather whilst we were there was sunny and warm which gave us a chance to drive around the area to admire the views. It is a fabulous place, do visit.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BethVCamberley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
13.6 km away
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf...
#7 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
2,153 reviews
10.4 km away
Peninsula Petit Hotel
Peninsula Petit Hotel
#1 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
955 reviews
5.9 km away
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
#12 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Design Suites Bariloche
Design Suites Bariloche
#15 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
1,236 reviews
0.4 km away
Lirolay Suites
Lirolay Suites
#5 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
638 reviews
0.5 km away
Nido del Condor Hotel & Spa
Nido del Condor Hotel & Spa
#9 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charming Luxury Lodge & Private Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charming Luxury Lodge & Private Spa

Property: Charming Luxury Lodge & Private Spa
Address: Av. Bustillo Km 7,5 | On the shore of Lake Nahuel Huapi, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#1 Family Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#1 Spa Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#5 Business Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Charming Luxury Lodge & Private Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Luxury Lodge & Private Spa, built on the bluff of a cliff, delights with panoramic vistas of Lake Nahuel Huapi and the Andes mountains range. The lodge's wood and stone work is reminiscent of a small alpine village. The large balconies of each residence and suite are suspended over the bluff. Just below, the waves crash upon Playa Bonita and the sides of the cliff. The hotel's interior is just as unique. Total comfort is offered in the Private Spas that form part of each suite. One can choose between a dry sauna, a double jacuzzi with ozonetherapy and an LCD TV, a scottish shower, and a finnish shower with aromacolor therapy. Each of these options are integrated into each suite, allowing the guest total control over his or her relaxation. Charming is a place designed to astonish its guests with its beauty, luxury, tranquility, comfort, unforgettable views, and amiable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Charming Luxury Lodge & Private Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charming - Luxury Hotel San Carlos De Bariloche
Charming - Luxury Lodge And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing