We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Galileo Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Galileo Boutique Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

My review - long overdue but necessary.

Wonderful hotel. Spotlessly clean, comfortable with pure cotton linen. The rooms warm and cosy and all the staff incredibly helpful.

Great Stay for South Africans - our standards are equally high !

Thanks Galileo - we really enjoyed our stay with you.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen_in_Joburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolC4, General Manager at Galileo Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2012
Thanks for your kind comments dear Jennifer
It was very nice meeting you and we hope to see you back here soon.
Kind regards from Patagonia!
Maria Sol Canalda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    66
    15
    4
    4
See reviews for
82
92
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belo Horizonte, MG
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

The junior suite was lovely with the open fire and the jacuzzi. Also the floor heating makes it super comfy but the room is usually too warm, especially at night.
Breakfast service was good, with prompt changes when asked.
The kitchen of the hotel is average.
Reception service was very good.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolC4, Manager at Galileo Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Thanks a lot Michael.
We try to accomodate all our guests preferences regarding heating. at Galileo Boutique Hotel we have floor heating and temperature changes have a little delay. Please contact the front desk immediately to improve your experience.
At check in we offer our guests a breakfast menu; so they can choose their preferences and encourage them to contact us during their stay to make changes and avoid getting bored. We also Schedulle delivery time for complimentary room service breakast.
We keep working on permanently training our staff to deliver a quality service in all our departments.
Look forward to hosting you again soon
Sincerely
Sol Canalda
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2010

A lovely stay, made all the better by wonderful service - the staff even let me stay in the room past midday so that I could enjoy a full day's skiing and shower afterwards because they didn't have to prepare the room for the following day. Breakfasts were delicious and huge, rooms cosy and very warm. However, there wasn't enough hot water to properly enjoy the giant hot tubs, and the shower was a tiny bit cramped. These are quibbles in what was a lovely stay - apart from PireHue (which costs a lot more) this is an excellent choice if you want to locate yourself close to the slopes. Taxis into Bariloche cost around AP60-70.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UttermostPart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolC4, Gerente at Galileo Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2011
Thank you so much for your comments on Galileo Boutique Hotel. We are located at the base of Catedral Ski Resort, in Bariloche.
Studio rooms, just as every room in the hotel, have one huge water heater per room so you don't share hot water with another room.
Thanks to your observation we added one step to the check in process and we now inform our guests that they should only open the hot water tap to fill the whole hot tub instead of mixing it with cold from the beginning.
We hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2010

Sol, the front desk manager was beyond incredible! She took care of every one of our groups needs. (Not all of the needs were easy to accommodate)
For the money, Galileo Boutique Hotel is the best value in Bariloche. We would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jillworley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolC4, General Manager at Galileo Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Dear Guests! It was a real pleasure having you among our guests that summer.
We were so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and we are realy looking forward to seing you again soon. After your visit, Adventure Races in Bariloche, and starting at Cerro Catedral, particularily, have been increasing year after year. You can start training again for November 8th for the North Face Challenge this year :)
Sincerely
Maria Sol Canalda
Gerente
Galileo Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2009

This is a lovely, newly built lodge-style hotel with apartment rooms. It is around a 300m walk to the base station although the staff can give you a lift if you prefer.
The staff at Galileo were excellent - even making gluten free bread for me for breakfast! The smallish rooms have (basic) self catering facilities all you'd want to make a simple meal. The bathroom was exceptionally small though, and rather impractical - the shower door couldn't open wide enough because the bidet was in the way (if you were even slightly on the large side you wouldn't be able to get in!) :-) , and there was no-where to put any toiletry bag... A few small gripes here and there (the rooms were very hot, no thermostadt) but overall a nice stay with friendly and helpful staff.
Compared with other hotels during our stay in Agentina, we thought this was expensive - not such good value for money, even considering it is in the ski resort.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FionaStellenbosch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolC4, Gerente at Galileo Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2011
Thanks so much for your review on the hotel. We very much appreciated your comments on the Studio's bathroom.
As a result of this, we addedd new shelves for our towels in the bathroom of every Studio so now the wooden shelve under the sink is free for our guests toiletries.
We also managed to move some of the bidets away from the shower door to accomodate plus size guests.
Regarding the temperature of the rooms, is quite difficult to please everybody, but we keep it mid range, not extremely hot nor cold, because our guests come from a great variety of countries and many from Caribbean heat suffer the climate difference.
We don't give each room a thermostat because we preffer to help you either cool or heat your room when it's necesary. As we are always ready to help you when needed, we'd like our guests to comment during their stays so we can fix this little problems during your stay.
Thanks again for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
4.4 km away
Arelauquen Lodge, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Arelauquen Lodge, A Tribute Port...
#20 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
6.9 km away
Charming - Luxury Lodge & Private Spa
Charming - Luxury Lodge & Privat...
#2 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
10.1 km away
Club Hotel Catedral
Club Hotel Catedral
#48 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 km away
Villa Huinid Hotel Pioneros
Villa Huinid Hotel Pioneros
#21 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
9.4 km away
Aldea Andina
Aldea Andina
#13 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
7.3 km away
Nido del Condor Hotel & Spa
Nido del Condor Hotel & Spa
#9 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galileo Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galileo Boutique Hotel

Property: Galileo Boutique Hotel
Address: Calle Nubes n 20 | Base Cerro, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 136 Hotels in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Galileo Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in South America's most celebrated Ski resort "Cerro Catedral" in Bariloche, Galileo Boutique Apart Hotel waits for you with warm and comfortable Studios, Suites and Residences. Designed and thought through every detail, our luxurious accommodations fuse indigenous textiles and prints with the natural Alpine design of the region. All our rooms are fully equipped with cozy wood burning fireplaces, Jacuzzis, DVDs, LDC 25 or 32" TVs, DirectTV, fully equipped kitchens and all our rooms feature King Size Sommiers. We spoil or guests with a fine selection of Argentine smoked specialties and cheeses from our Wine and Tapas Bar during winter season only. Also enjoy our Sommelier's selection of boutique and well known wines from Argentine's premier winemaking regions. Our Executive Chef caters to families and foodies alike with a menu that ranges from savory ski comfort foods to high end Patagonian cuisine. Covered with snow in Winter and just 150 mt from the Ski lifts Galileo Boutique Hotel is the best option for skiers. In Summer, surrounded with Nature, favors long walks, trekking, kayak and mountain bike tours, fly fishing, rafting and golf just minutes away from the hotel. Our tailored breakfast is served room service and we also offer in room chefs, baby sitters, in room massages upon request. Galileo is the only Hotel in Patagonia Argentina featuring an Observatory with a High Resolution Telescope. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Galileo Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing