We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
El Casco Art Hotel(San Carlos de Bariloche)
US$390
US$294
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa(San Carlos de Bariloche)
Book now, pay at stay
US$626
US$518
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Charming Luxury Lodge & Private Spa(San Carlos de Bariloche)
Free cancellation until 22/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$329
US$273
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lirolay Suites(San Carlos de Bariloche)
US$316
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aldebaran Hotel & Spa(San Carlos de Bariloche)
US$238
US$197
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peninsula Petit Hotel(San Carlos de Bariloche)
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aconcagua Hotel(San Carlos de Bariloche)
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abuelo Ramon(San Carlos de Bariloche)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Aguila Mora Suites & Spa by DON(San Carlos de Bariloche)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aiken Bungalows(San Carlos de Bariloche)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (228)
Filter reviews
228 results
Traveller rating
159
51
14
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
159
51
14
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsasadohomemade breaddulce de lechecommon roomcozy placerestaurants and barsdorm roomfree breakfasta great stayhome away from homeevery morningpabloflorrucksackvibebedslockers
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 228 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay in Achalay. Definately one of our favourites in 4 months of travel. Cozy place with a friendly owner and nice and helpful staff. Homemade bread for breakfast, good beds and an overall very good vibe. It's actually quite hard not to make a few new friends here. The beef stew dinner was pretty memorable too.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank PLPdeW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2016 via mobile

good value and has Comfy beds, clean bathrooms with good water pressure, and amazing homemade cherry jam with breakfast. Most importantly, it had lovely staff who went out of their way to help - booking my bus ticket for me, reserving a bike to do the circuito Chico (a must do!), and generally giving the place a truly welcoming, homely feel. Cannot recommend this place enough!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
Thank Joanna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2016 via mobile

This is a hostel for hostellers. It's the kind of place where young free-spirited world-travelling folk go as they find themselves. There's Lennon quotes on the wall and a communal guitar in the shared space. Each bedroom has a theme, after a musician. We stayed in the Jim Morrison room, with the man himself watching down on us as we slept.

It's good value for somewhere to sleep, and if you're looking to travel around and make friends with kindred spirits, this would be a great place for it.

The staff were super friendly.

The room itself, HUGE, not in great repair, but it's an old house and that's just how it goes. The bed wasn't particularly comfy for me, but I'm fussy when it comes to beds and pillows. You're staying in a town, so in the small hours, it's going to be noisy outside.

The hostel is at the top of a hill - I'm not exactly in Alberto Contador shape, so the walk back up to the place isn't one I'd want to do after a heavy meal, but that's more an indictment of the shape I'm in than the hostel - I only put this as an advice part for people such as myself who don't enjoy steep hill walks to get home. It's VERY close to the centre of Bariloche town, perhaps 3 or 4 small blocks (but again - hill).

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Belfast B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2016

We had 'The Doors' bedroom with ensuite - very groovy. But with only 1/2 a day in Bariloche because of a flight delay, we spent most of that time at Cerro Campanario - which afforded the most glorious views of snow-capped mountains and lakes in all directions. The staff at Hostel Achalay were so friendly - we really enjoyed our time in their communal kitchen/lounge area chatting, enjoying their free homemade bread and jam. Most impressed that, due to our booking being reduced from 2 to 1 night because of flight problems, we were only charged for the night we stayed. We would return here in a flash!

Room Tip: We loved 'The Doors' private room
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DHTragic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2016

We stayed for 3 nights in the 6 bed dorm (Nirvana ) Comfortable beds with duvets. Good price $180 but with discount if you're a Hola hostel member.Big lockers to fit rucksack in and a socket/ light by each bed.
BREAKFAST WAS DELICIOUS! !! Home made bread with jams/cereals,fresh fruit and chocolate caliente!

I would have given 5 stars as the staff were great ( Edwin & Jenny in particular ) they are very helpful with thinfs to do and speak English well too.....but i gave 4 stars as there were only two bathrooms for a lot of people, a small kitchen (especially as a lot of people were cooking at same time) and not a lot of sofa space.
But it had a great atmosphere and was cosy and clean.
We would recommend this hostel and definitely go back if we are in Bariloche again.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank LoubLou21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews