We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool - minimalist but cool”
Review of Hostel Achalay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hostel Achalay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2016 via mobile

This is a hostel for hostellers. It's the kind of place where young free-spirited world-travelling folk go as they find themselves. There's Lennon quotes on the wall and a communal guitar in the shared space. Each bedroom has a theme, after a musician. We stayed in the Jim Morrison room, with the man himself watching down on us as we slept.

It's good value for somewhere to sleep, and if you're looking to travel around and make friends with kindred spirits, this would be a great place for it.

The staff were super friendly.

The room itself, HUGE, not in great repair, but it's an old house and that's just how it goes. The bed wasn't particularly comfy for me, but I'm fussy when it comes to beds and pillows. You're staying in a town, so in the small hours, it's going to be noisy outside.

The hostel is at the top of a hill - I'm not exactly in Alberto Contador shape, so the walk back up to the place isn't one I'd want to do after a heavy meal, but that's more an indictment of the shape I'm in than the hostel - I only put this as an advice part for people such as myself who don't enjoy steep hill walks to get home. It's VERY close to the centre of Bariloche town, perhaps 3 or 4 small blocks (but again - hill).

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Belfast B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2016

We had 'The Doors' bedroom with ensuite - very groovy. But with only 1/2 a day in Bariloche because of a flight delay, we spent most of that time at Cerro Campanario - which afforded the most glorious views of snow-capped mountains and lakes in all directions. The staff at Hostel Achalay were so friendly - we really enjoyed our time in their communal kitchen/lounge area chatting, enjoying their free homemade bread and jam. Most impressed that, due to our booking being reduced from 2 to 1 night because of flight problems, we were only charged for the night we stayed. We would return here in a flash!

Room Tip: We loved 'The Doors' private room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DHTragic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2016

We stayed for 3 nights in the 6 bed dorm (Nirvana ) Comfortable beds with duvets. Good price $180 but with discount if you're a Hola hostel member.Big lockers to fit rucksack in and a socket/ light by each bed.
BREAKFAST WAS DELICIOUS! !! Home made bread with jams/cereals,fresh fruit and chocolate caliente!

I would have given 5 stars as the staff were great ( Edwin & Jenny in particular ) they are very helpful with thinfs to do and speak English well too.....but i gave 4 stars as there were only two bathrooms for a lot of people, a small kitchen (especially as a lot of people were cooking at same time) and not a lot of sofa space.
But it had a great atmosphere and was cosy and clean.
We would recommend this hostel and definitely go back if we are in Bariloche again.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank LoubLou21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016

My partner and I had an issue with another hostel that apparently didn't exist on Bariloche we were stranded off the bus at 9:30 pm no where to go. We had found Hostel Achalay thankfully they had space and took us in with minutes. Great hospitality would come back and stay again, it was meant to be.

Room Tip: Loft room was quiet for couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simonsays4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2016

We really enjoyed staying there. Very friendly and helpfull staff, a clean and well equiped kitchen all along with many nice people and events organized by the hostal. The rooms were small but clean and individual.
The living room area is a very cosy place where you can just chill and chat with other people staying or working there.

Stayed: December 2015
Thank rigolo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Nahuel Huapi
Hotel Nahuel Huapi
#26 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
436 reviews
17 km away
Peninsula Petit Hotel
Peninsula Petit Hotel
#1 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
979 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Carlos V Patagonia Bariloche
Hotel Carlos V Patagonia Bariloc...
#21 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Periko's Youth Hostel
Periko's Youth Hostel
#5 of 256 in San Carlos de Bariloche
275 reviews
1.2 km away
Hopa Home Patagonia Hostel
Hopa Home Patagonia Hostel
#9 of 256 in San Carlos de Bariloche
255 reviews
0.7 km away
Tangoinn Downtown
Tangoinn Downtown
#108 of 256 in San Carlos de Bariloche
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Achalay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Achalay

Address: Calle Emilio Morales 564, San Carlos de Bariloche R8400GHL, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 256 Speciality Lodging in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range: €17 - €44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Achalay 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Ebookers, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hostel Achalay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing