We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Something different, fun and delicious!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cornish Pasty Co

Cornish Pasty Co
Ranked #6 of 905 Restaurants in Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
N. Ridgeville, OH
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Something different, fun and delicious!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

Excellent, different restaurant! Long church pews around tables, candles in liquor bottles, unusual beers and delicious different food. We had Chicken Greek, Pilgrim, Shephers's Pie, Steak and potatoes and everyone loved their choice. Looking for nice quiet restaurant, not the place! Loud and fun for us.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ohioans_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    73
    13
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“How is this a great place?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

This was the most gross place I have ever been. when your server thinks going by food being prepped without a hair net, touching food with out gloves, wiping your nose and touching food. If there has ever been a food inspector that has been there, I strongly suggest you nail them on some violations. Will NEVER GO BACK!!!

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NewmanGirl39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
112 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“gold mine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

We read about this place on Tripadvisor and since neither one of us had tried pastys, we thought we would give it a try. We went for lunch and it was packed, I think there must have been 40 people in the place, what a gold mine.

I had the shepards pie and my wife had the portobello pasty. Since was quick and friendly and even with all these people we got our food in a better than expected time. They were delicious and we enjoyed every bite.

We will probably go back tomorrow before we head back home to Florida. If you never tried this type of food, I suggest you do.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank johnson1165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“We enjoyed our meal and will return to this restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

Our local PBS station did a review of this restaurant so we gave it a try. we enjoyed our visit and will go back. this place is very casual...think shorts and flip-flops but the food was very good and reasonably priced. we started with cups of soup...tomato bisque and mushroom with spinach and walnuts...both excellent. the soup was served with two large pieces of bread and butter....we arrived before noon so our bread was warm from the oven and wonderful. next we shared a pastie and were so glad we split one...they are huge. we were so full we were not able to order a dessert to share. next time we said soup, bread and dessert only for us!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank historymajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpine, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Brilliant food, brilliant value, wish I was eating here right now”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

If you still have the idea that English food is not very good, this small pub/restaurant in Mesa will change your mind. In fact, it will probably change your life. Pasties are basically hand-held pastry shells that contain a variety of fillings. The filling can be traditional, like steak and potatoes, or more adventurous, like carne adovada or pesto chicken. The friendly staff at Cornish Pasty Co. will serve you a large pasty (about 1lb) for not much money (less than 10 US dollars). Just in terms of quantity, it's great value for money.

But the real value at Cornish Pasty Co. comes from the quality. I've been multiple times, for dine-in and for take-out, and I can't figure out how they are able to beat my expectations every time. Part of it is the use of fresh ingredients. When you order the Lamb and Mint pasty (and you should!), your first bit explodes with actual herbal mint, because that is what they actually use. When you bite into a Portobello Chicken pasty (and you should!), the juice squirts out of the mushroom because it's a fresh mushroom that they cooked recently, not something that was prepped last week for reheating. Part of it is the dining atmosphere, from the super helpful staff, to the church pew dining benches, to the candles and low light, all of which focus on providing a leisurely and enjoyable dining experience rather than turning over tables and rushing diners along. But probably the main reason is that Cornish Pasty Co. obviously loves making great food. Astonishingly great food. Like, even when you already know a pasty is good, and you're just having another one the next day, you still feel like you should buy a lottery ticket because you're lucky enough to eat another one of these things in your lifetime. This is food created by people who actually like food. Order the Porky (diet permitting), and you will know what I mean as soon as the combination of roasted pork, apples, and sage hits your taste buds. There is love in this food.

I could eat here every day. But so could you, even if you get bored easily. Given the huge variety of pasty options, there is something here for everyone, whether it is you, your family members, or your travel companions. Honestly, if you can't find something to eat here, then there is nothing that anyone can do for you and you should probably just stay home, flip through a travel magazine, and warm up a frozen pizza. Cornish Pasty Co. has 3 menu pages of different pasty concoctions, ranging from the classic Oggie (steak, potoatoes, onion, rutabaga) to the Pilgrim (turkey, stuffing, and sweet potatoes), the Lamb Vindaloo, the Bangers and Mash, or even the Royale with Cheese (burger, fries, onions, mushroom, bacon, cheddar). There is a full page of vegetarian options and even a few vegan options that omit dairy products as well as meat. And if you are forbidden from eating solid food or need to offset your meat and potatoes with some quality booze, then take advantage of the many beer options (draft and bottle), the various shots and mixed drink specials at happy hour, or (if you must) some wine from the quite limited wine list.

Two notes of caution. First, these pasties are not made according to your specifications. No substitutions, no omissions. If you don't like something in one item, then order something else. Second, sometimes the kitchen runs out of some menu items. Because there is a lot of time-consuming prep involved, if they're out of something, they're out for the day. Order something else, and then, if you're smart, come back earlier the next day, and order again. I don't know why Mesa has at least two of the best restaurants in Arizona, but whatever the reason for you to visit the area for the first time, Cornish Pasty Co. will give you plenty of reasons to return.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GlobalNamaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cornish Pasty Co also viewed

 
Mesa, Central Arizona
 

Been to Cornish Pasty Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing