We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay and great pool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel Resort Villa de Merlo
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Merlo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2016

We booked this hotel 3 months in advance, due to some weather issues to cross from Chile to Argentina, we had to move our stay 3 days ahead without issues thanks to the kind staff.
Having been in another Howard Johnson's hotels in Argentina, I would say that they all look more or less the same, the accommodations and even the furniture and design is almost copied over and over again. Overall, the chain keeps a nice standard for the hotel.
The best thing of the hotel is the heated pool since Merlo has some windy/cold days even during summer.
The kids club was not really fit for young kids (2 to 5 years) and most of the activities seem to be indoor (I don't understand why since they have a lot of park). They also have a tree house where the kids can play and a part of the heated pool is fixed to contain the kids without too much risk of problems.
They also have a full time lifeguard.
The bar and restaurant menu is at most reduced without too many options and some of them overpriced. Also, I have been in other hotels from the chain and they have a better food quality, maybe they should bring a chef rather than a plain cook.
The breakfast is nice, with several options to select but sometimes you have to wait in the peak hours because it gets crowded and the people just don't go.
They also advertise themselves as Hotel & Casino but they just have like 20 slots also the wifi is terrible I would prefer to charge for it but provide a quality service.
Don't get me wrong, we have a great stay at the hotel, mostly at the pool but I wouldn't go there again and drive a lot of miles when I can find the same or better hotel at 40 miles from home.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sebastián M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (417)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 418 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Carolina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank Sensey78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferminvz, Propietario at Howard Johnson Hotel Resort Villa de Merlo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pablo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank geraldine g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merlo hotels
2.5 km away
Epic Hotel Villa de Merlo
2.9 km away
Altos de Merlo Suites
Altos de Merlo Suites
#6 of 22 in Merlo
51 reviews
3.1 km away
El Cortijo Apart-Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Altos del Sol - Spa & Resort
3 km away
Hotel Paradiso
Hotel Paradiso
#5 of 22 in Merlo
192 reviews
5.5 km away
La Quinta Resort
La Quinta Resort
#2 of 22 in Merlo
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel Resort Villa de Merlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel Resort Villa de Merlo

Address: Ruta Provincial 1 KM 1.3 | Villa de Merlo, San Luis, Merlo 5881, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of San Luis > Merlo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Merlo
Price Range: €134 - €195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Howard Johnson Hotel Resort Villa de Merlo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel Resort Villa de Merlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing