We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel, excellent location”
Review of Dakar Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dakar Hotel & Spa
Ranked #54 of 84 Hotels in Mendoza
Reviewed 11 May 2016 via mobile

We spent 10 nights with my mother at the Dakar and it was overall an amazing experience. The staff was incredibly helpful and went out of their way to help us. The first day they offered us an adapter to plug our cellphones since we forgot to bring one. Mabel, the woman who was in charge of the place during breakfast was incredibly kind and helpful, and she gave us some great tips about places we could visit in town.
Our room was large and comfortable, they gave us a triple room . It had a desk, 3 chairs , a minifridge, a tv, 1 king size bed and a twin size one (that were really comfortable, by the way) and a jacuzzi-like bathtub. It was more than what we expected for the price paid! (around 48 dollars a night per room/ 700 ARS) .
The hotel was conveniently located, it was close to downtown and only 8 blocks away from the bus station (we took many buses to nearby towns). It was 7 blocks away from the metrotranvia station wich was also convenient, and a little closer to the airport than the rest of the downtown hotels (wich resulted in an slightly cheaper taxi fare to the airport).
Breakfast was good, but it became repetitive since we stayed so many nights
Downsides: We didn't like the dinner they offered, we tried it one night and the food was reheated, salty and overpriced. We definitely recommend dining outside the hotel.
There was wifi everywhere in the hotel, but the signal wasn't so great.

Overall it was a great experience and we spent 10 great restful nights at the Dakar. We would definitely visit again!

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
Thank JulietaConti123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2016

The door was broken and the hotel did not have any room available. They wanted to charge us with booking expenses but after our complaint, they did not. Not a good location. Room was too small and the bed was not as extra-large as they said.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lbernad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSTL_11, Director de Reservas at Dakar Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2016
Google Translation

Estimado, lamentamos no haber podido recibirlo a su llegada. Desafortunadamente la cerradura presentó fallas ese día y no contábamos con otra habitación disponible para ofrecerle. Debido a este inconveniente, el encargado de recepción resolvió inmediatamente cancelar sin penalidad su reserva, sin cobrar absolutamente ningún gasto. Respecto a las camas de las habitaciones, son todos sommier king size de 1.80 x 2 metros.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2015

The hotel is fine, it is a little bit old and it is located at a 20min distance from downtown. The "Spa"

The pros: Bed and sheets were OK and the bedroom was clean.

The cons: The instalations are old, the elevator seemed unsafe so we took the stairs most of the time. There is only WiFi in the lobby, but almost never worked. The breakfast was really basic, it could be a lot better if they included fruits. The guy in the reception was really rude

We booked this hotel on short notice so we didn't have a lot of options, but if I come back to Mendoza I would definitely look for other options closer to downtown and with better service, you can find better for the price.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Vero156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

The hotel was located at a suburb of Mendoza. It is a good area though a fair walk to the main square. The walk itself is pleasant so not a big deal if not in a hurry. The rooms are clean but I wouldn't rate it 4 star. The breakfast is average, service was so-so. Overall pretty ordinary, nothing terrible but I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank citizen_1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We were recommended to Dakar by our previous b&b hostess, and told it was 'near' the red light district, so we would need to taxi anywhere we went at night. It is firmly situated in the seediest corner of Mendoza, with 'ladies of the night' hanging out on every corner. When we returned to the hotel around midnight, my girlfriend asked the desk clerk if we could purchase some water, not wanting to wander the streets in search of hydration. The response was... rude, to say the least. Room was facing onto an industrial wall/carpark, bathroom was barely functional, taps hanging from walls, little water pressure, mould present. On the plus side, it had a bed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brendan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mendoza hotels
0.6 km away
Hotel Cordon del Plata
Hotel Cordon del Plata
#62 of 84 in Mendoza
410 reviews
2.3 km away
Soltigua Apart Hotel
Soltigua Apart Hotel
#22 of 84 in Mendoza
603 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel Carollo Gold
Hotel Carollo Gold
#74 of 84 in Mendoza
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Ibis Mendoza
Ibis Mendoza
#39 of 84 in Mendoza
820 reviews
1.6 km away
Condor Suites Apart Hotel
Condor Suites Apart Hotel
#23 of 84 in Mendoza
290 reviews
1.3 km away
Petit Hotel
Petit Hotel
#52 of 84 in Mendoza
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dakar Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dakar Hotel & Spa

Address: J. F. Moreno 1570 - Ciudad | J. F. Moreno 1554 - Ciudad, Mendoza M5500AWP, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Mendoza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 84 Hotels in Mendoza
Price Range: €41 - €103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dakar Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dakar Hotel & Spa welcomes you to the heart of Mendoza's city providing an atmosphere of warmth, service and personal attention.The hotel offers superior 3 star accommodation top level located in a quiet zone, just 4 blocks from the most important commercial and tourist points of the city. And also have a strategic location in terms of the main accesses to the city as the bus station (8 blocks), airport (10 minutes) and major access routes.Rooms are spacious, bright and comfortable with design details. We combine efficiency and friendliness with the appropriate infrastructure, providing a high level of service with the best market rate.Services:A complete range of services throughout our hotel will make your stay unique.• Laundry and Dry Cleaning• DDN-DDI Telephony• Internet free• Free Wifi in common areas and executive rooms• Maid service included• Breakfast included• Parking included• Spa• Restaurant• Outdoor pool and jacuzzi• Living room with cable TV 29 'flat• Large Cafeteria• Meeting room• Car rental service• Travel services, adventure and wine• Grill• MicrowaveRooms:46 comfortable rooms with the following amenities:• Digital Individual Safe Deposit Boxes• Sommiers Simmons King size (0,90 m x 2,00 m and 1,80 m x 2,00 m)• Hot-cold air conditioning with individual control• Refrigerator• Cable TV• HairdryerExecutive rooms also has:LCD 32", Safe deposit box for notebooks, bathtub and free Wi FiDeluxe rooms also has:Hydromassage bathtubLocation:Dakar Hotel & Spa is strategically located between the historical center of the City and the DowntownNew services: Swimming pool, solarium, gym, spa, restaurantAccess to pool and gym are included in the rateAccess to Spa and massages have additional costCheck in time: 14 hsCheck out time: 12 hs ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dakar Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing