We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Pinares del Cerro(Villa Carlos Paz)(Great Value!)
US$128
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Club House Hotel(Villa Carlos Paz)(Great Value!)
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Los Tilos Hotel(Villa Carlos Paz)(Great Value!)
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ayekan Apart Hotel(Villa Carlos Paz)(Great Value!)
US$56
US$46
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$51/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Amerian Carlos Paz Apart & Suites(Villa Carlos Paz)(Great Value!)
US$100
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pinares Panorama Suites & Spa(Villa Carlos Paz)(Great Value!)
US$183
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
san isidro resort & spa(Villa Carlos Paz)(Great Value!)
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hostal de la Costa(Villa Carlos Paz)(Great Value!)
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 32% below average rates

The price you found is 32% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$71/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Altos del Champaqui Apart y Spa(Villa Carlos Paz)(Great Value!)
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (437)
Filter reviews
437 results
Traveller rating
129
154
104
37
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
129
154
104
37
13
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 437 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

The room for 4 felt like a rabbit's hole. Small, humid, dark and hot. The AC sucked and the whole toom smelled like Raid. I comolained to the front desk and they replied "huh..? Ok, I'll see what we can do". Seems like they could do nothing... I cancelled my booking and lef the forst day paying the penalty, I did not care as the hotel was THAT bad. The staff did nothing to make things better even when we said we were leaving. We went the. To the Amerien in Carlos Paz, MUCH BETTER OPTION and my kids loved it.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank pcolmegna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

Our party of 16 stayed 6 nights over Christmas. We had a lovely time and were well-treated. The 8 kids we traveled with especially loved it.

Below are the pros and cons- suggest to check the room before accepting it for dust, smelly bathroom (read below)

Pros-
1. can accomodate large groups
2. very kind staff, because the hotel is dated, you will need to use their services a lot
3. comfortable beds
4. good a/c but you need to ask them to turn it on- also it makes a beeping sound when it goes which is a little annoying
5. food/bar availability perfect for our party - free breakfast with adequate options, nicer restaurant upstairs - large portions -we often split meals
6. nice outside porch with lake view
7. easy taxi ride to town, though you can also walk
8. nice park outside for running along the lake - saw burrowing owls!
9. nice pools - indoor and out
10. some rooms allowed 4 people - tough to find, perfect for our kids
11. we always had hot water for showers
12. Adequate closet space
13. Good toad hunting (per the boys) - none were harmed
14. TV very good
15. Wifi pretty good- better in some rooms than others - worked fine in lobby
16. Same day laundry service - reasonable price
17. Did not hear the people in the other rooms, did hear a lot of amorous pigeons - it didn't bother us

Cons
1. Lots of stairs, even within rooms
2. No card key entrance - they provide one key per room - you will need to go to front desk every time you get locked out (which will be often, especially with kids)
3. One room had a bad smell in the bathroom when the shower ran - check the room first
4. One room was very dusty - check the room first
5. No security boxes in rooms- they have a separate room with boxes.
6. Rooms could use more lighting
7. Coffee is so so - one person brought Starbucks VIA packages and was happy with those

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Natimom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2016

We enjoyed our choice of the hotel for our one night stop in Villa Carlos Paz. Beautiful "all-wood" hotel. Very helpful friendly staff and excellent facilities. Not the most modern of hotels but loaded with character and quality. Dinner was good as was the breakfast. They prepared us a nice lunch for our hiking trip the following day to the Quebradas de los condores.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portal D, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Portal del Lago Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2016

Dear Richard,
Thank you very much for your comments.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel.
We hope you come back again!

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2016 via mobile

All went well in our visit, the hotel was great. Staff very friendly and flexible with our special request. We had great time in Carlos Paz! Very quiet neighbourhood, it was great to have a car staying in these hotel. Safe place! We will defenetely come back.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
Thank Matias A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portal D, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Portal del Lago Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2016

Dear Matias,
We appreciate your comments.
It's good to know you have enjoyed your staying in our hotel.

We will be glad to receive you in your next visit !

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2015 via mobile

The self-claimed international standard is a joke. Bad English at most, all Spanish TV, disfunctional air conditioning. Many rooms can not be darkened, some close to the water front frequented by all night cruisers. Some staff quite nice others quite unfriendly. Long walk to center of a very boring city of which I do not know why it is a tourism hotspot. Save your time, go elsewhere.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank wessjohann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews