We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,055)
Filter reviews
1,055 results
Traveller rating
300
416
215
87
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
300
416
215
87
37
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 1,055 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2017

This is an exciting heritage property that has been lovingly restored over the past decade. We had a wonderful stay and could thoroughly enjoy the promenade and its associated restaurants, cafes and milk bars. The licuados served in the abovementioned milk bars were of a particulalrly high standard. We loved our spacious room with its glimpses of nearby Bristol Beach and the Atlantic!

Room Tip: Try for a room with sea views.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Perry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2016

This hotel used to be the most iconic property in Mar del Plata. It remains so, but only from the outside. Inside it is a big disappointment.

1. Location: It is on the Bristol Beach in central Mar del Plata. It is the tackiest nosiest beach in town.If you go to Mar del Plata ("MDP") in summer, just run a million miles from the place. Off-season is fine, but downtown MDP is now an ugly place, filled with the product of the poverty that had struck Argentina after so many years of chronic corruption and mismanagement.

2. Rooms: Bland, like in a hospital. White walls without a single painting, no pot plans, nothing. LIke a prison cell. It is charmless, cold, and despite having a good TV with a decent array of channels on offer, and a decent toilette, you will not want to spend any time there. The management must have tried very hard to ensure it was as charmless and lifeless as possible. And they did a great job at it.

3. Facilities: Nothing to write home about. At least they had covered parking which was comfortable and costs little. Wifi actually worked fine.

The hotel was actually very expensive for what it had on offer. You can get much better for USD$170.00 in most countries, and particularly in such a poor country like Argentina is today.

Staff were inefficient. We asked for a restaurant in particular. They gave us the address. I asked whether a booking was required. They said, 'no way' just go. We went. It was fully booked. Nice help.

I would not recommend this hotel. Go visit the iconic architecture from the outside but inside it is an empty shell in comparison. A bit like Argentina, the Provincial is living off its past glories. It was a sad experience to see its decay.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank EZT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2016

This was a fabulous hotel in older days and now it was rescued on time.

If you go around you will find places that still need to be taken care of but the general condition of the rooms, for instance, is very good. Clean, comfortable and with air condition, I couldn't fault anything. Room size was average and the kind I encountered in many other destinations.

Breakfast was pretty standard too with cakes, jam and cheese, fruits, youghurts with about 4-5 kind of cereals, coffee, tea, juice... Nothing spectacular but it would satisfied most guests.

There is a spa in the hotel but I can't comment on it as I didn't try it.
The hotel is centrally located and you don't need to walk too far before you encounter a good restaurant nearby.
Very, very good: enjoy!

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Oscar L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2016

This is a very old hotel that has recently been restored and reopened. They've done a great job at restoring it, maintaining almost all beautiful features of the building. This is not a conventional luxury hotel (it's not a Hilton-style hotel); the building is very special and has much more personality. The architecture is really beautiful, with massive corridors, big heavy doors, very spacious rooms, wood floors everyone (corridors and rooms). Great beach views.

Is has two really nice warm-water pools, one of them being only for adults. The hot water pool wasn't working when I was there, which was a bit of a disappointment, but no big deal.

The only suggestion I have for the hotel is to add more healthy options to the breakfast. Also, given this is a 5-star hotel, I wish the orange juice had been from real oranges. These are small details, though. The medialunas were excellent.

Everyone at the front desk was helpful and happy to help at all times.

We had a great time there and I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels
1  Thank pinkponyhr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2016

Needs to be cleaned, airconditioning does not work, staff very unaccommodating, beds are like concrete, pillows need to be thrown out (dirty and old)...even with pillow cases. Breakfast is only a bunch of bread items. No eggs, proteins, other hot food items.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels
3  Thank Kathy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews