We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellente”

La Farola del Puerto Di Capri
Ranked #50 of 716 Restaurants in Mar del Plata
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 27 February 2018 via mobile

Mejor pescado en mar de plata y muy buen servicio!
Best seafood and fish in mar de plata combined with top service at a reasonable price!

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank WandeeL9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2017

Great fresh seafood. Nice old type restaurant for the whole family. You can't go wrong with any of the prepared fish. The homemade pasta is also excellent.

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank garaba2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2017

A single word sums up the restaurant: bad. Actually, there are a couple more: overpriced and stale. My friend and I were looking forward to having a nice meal our last night in Mar del Plata, and this place was recommended by a server at a different restaurant. It absolutely, definitely was not worth the 700 pesos a person we paid.

I'm pretty sure the bread they put on the table was a few days old. I took a bite of it, realized that it had probably been on a few other people's table over the past week, and put it down. The appetizer was decent - octopus that was cooked just right. Our main courses - fish - was low quality, although the caper and olive sauce was decent. But the menu said the price (which was pretty high) was for two people. When the bill came they charged us the same price but per person. They also charged a lot for the octopus appetizer ($27). I suspect they overcharged us because we were foreigners.

There's a reason the restaurant was empty. For that price point, go somewhere else for a decent meal and better ambience.

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Capital202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2016

La Farola has some excellent "old school" waiters on staff that do their very best to provide a memorable experience. If only the folks in the kitchen would do their part, a perfect 5 star review could be possible. Sadly, the kitchen delivers dishes that lack proper seasoning, portions are not as large as advertised (menu reads many dishes are to be shared), plus the more expensive ingredients are very scarce, especially Octopus, King Prawns, etc.

Our waiter Ramon, was truly exceptional and did his very best to make our experience a good one. While he succeeded, his monumental effort cannot overcome what comes out of the kitchen. To end on a somewhat positive note, the simple dishes like deep fried fish were well prepared, but you tend to visit a restaurant like this to have the Paella style dishes and in that department, the kitchen is clearly lacking.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Gaucho100K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2016

Excellent seafood, very friendly and helpful staff , English menu, felt like like we were in at a local restaurant in souther n Italh

Date of visit: February 2016
Thank Di_vincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Farola del Puerto Di Capri also viewed

Mar del Plata, Province of Buenos Aires
Mar del Plata, Province of Buenos Aires
 
Mar del Plata, Province of Buenos Aires
Mar del Plata, Province of Buenos Aires
 
Mar del Plata, Province of Buenos Aires
Mar del Plata, Province of Buenos Aires
 

Been to La Farola del Puerto Di Capri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing