We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (541)
Filter reviews
541 results
Traveller rating
281
175
48
25
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
281
175
48
25
12
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 541 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2017

Spent two nights here, and it is not a boutique hotel. A period building and old furniture and interior decoration do not make it so. Rather, I would describe it as run-down, and slightly shabby. Access to the hotel floor of the building is via an old-stye cage lift, which actually was fine, if a little tight for two people with large suitcases and backpacks. Be aware that there are two or three steps to go up from street level to the ground floor of the building. We found the helpfulness of the staff to be somewhat variable - a couple were excellent but others, including what we took to be the manager/owner were completely charmless. Breakfast was pretty basic, and one morning when we needed it they were late opening the dining room. Overall, I think you can get much better value for money in BA.

Stayed: January 2017
Thank gloc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rooneys_Boutique, Manager at Rooney's Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2017

Dear gloc,

Thank you for choosing Rooney’s Boutique Hotel on your recent visit to Buenos Aires and for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. Your opinions and comments are noted, and we will use them to better our service in the future. We apologise for any inconvenience caused. We hope to see you in the future to give you a better experience and share the improvements we strive for daily.

Warm regards,
Management at Rooney’s Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

This is a small bed and breakfast and can't complains about the Staff. However this is a 115 year old bldg and that means the rooms have big tall ceilings but everything requires modernization. Beds were comfortable but lighting was poor as most bulbs in chandelier were burnt out. Most importantly the Air conditioning was barely functioning beyond circulating air. We had friends in other rooms that had AC that functioned fine...so you take your chances. Lastly on the final night of our stay our door handle fell off so we had to call the front desk to let us out of our room! Glad we there wasn't a fire.... breakfast was a good basic breakfast of croissants and yogurt and good coffee. All in all a few things could have been improved to make this a great sty but again it was a good location and staff was nice

Stayed: February 2017
Thank bigredTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rooneys_Boutique, Manager at Rooney's Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2017

Dear bigredTed,

Thank you for choosing Rooney’s Boutique Hotel on your recent visit to Buenos Aires and for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We have noted your opinions and comments, both negative and positive, and will use them to better our service in the future. We apologise for any inconvenience caused with regards to the door handle and air conditioner.

We hope to see you in the future to give you a better experience and share the improvements we strive for daily.

Warm regards,

Management at Rooney’s Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2017

We stayed at the hotel twice - at the beginning and end of our trip to Argentina. The hotel occupies the 3rd floor of an old and rundown building in central BA (but no worse than other buildings in the old center). The street does not feel safe at night. The old elevator did not work part of the time, or was stuck on a different floor with its door no fully shut (luckily not when we had our luggage). The lobby and most rooms are beutifuly decorated, in early 20th century style. Very high ceilings. However, the shower was basic, and in room 4 we had to move the wardrobe forward to find an electric socket for the mobile charger. Breakfast was minimal, but that's what we experienced elsewhere in Argentina. A mixed view on the people at reception - some were clueless, whereas others were helpful. For our second stay we booked a specific room, and called 2 hours before arrival to make sure they are still keeping it for us. They promised to do so, but didn't. Would I stay there again? probably not. Would I recommend it? maybe for one short stay.

Room Tip: Room 13 has 2 floors and fits 3. However it is tight and characterless. Rooms 4 and 6 are beautiful. Room 4 has a lot of history as well.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Gad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rooneys_Boutique, Front Office Manager at Rooney's Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2017

Dear Gad H,

Thank you for choosing Rooney’s Boutique Hotel on your recent visit to Buenos Aires and for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We have noted your opinions and comments and will use them to better our service in the future. We apologise for any inconvenience caused. We hope to see you in the future to give you a better experience and share the improvements we strive for daily.

Warmest regards,
Management at Rooney’s Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2017

It's a little difficult to write this review as for every good part there was a possibly irkesome bad part. The possibly part being dependant on your level of tolerance. To précis it: would I stay there again - yes, absolutely. Would I recommend it - that would depend very much on the person. If you're looking for sterile, functional, anonymous rooms you'd find in any city worldwide then for sure, this is not for you. If you like something with a little style, character and lots of quirky add-ons this is the place. I was given a lovely large room at the front with a great bathroom. After 12 days trekking and camping in Patagonia I desperately needed a quiet undisturbed sleep ( we did have a puma through our camp one night, yippee!) My new room at the back was smaller, just as cute with an "interesting bathroom". The bathplug sort of fitted, the water didn't exceed blood temperature and flush for the loo I finally found a metre about the seat. Couple that with the enigma of the lights, eventually worked out they needed the modern card system, which then started the air con which you couldn't switch off with the remote.......etc, etc. In the end you just have to smile and go with the flow. On a really positive note, the staff are amazing, so helpful, they really make the place. The breakfast is more than adequate and the coffee is good ( big plus). The location is really good, very walkable to all the main areas. Go there with an open mind, embrace its quirks and like me, you'll have a great stay.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2017 via mobile

This is a great place to stay, we had a room that was not facing the street and frankly it was the most peaceful nights sleep I've had in Argentina. Don't stick around for the breakfast, it was a very poor showing.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Nathan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews