We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved everything about”
Review of El Mercado

El Mercado
Ranked #11 of 6,443 Restaurants in Buenos Aires
Price range: US$0 - US$50
Cuisines: Argentinian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Puerto Madero
Description: A great culinary experience doesn't centre exclusively on food and wine. A truly great meal is an emotional experience -a trip of the senses- a celebration. Inspired by the old fairs of Europe and the legendary cantinas of Buenos Aires, El Mercado provides an environment steeped in history and character, where guests can bask in the heat from the clayoven and savour the most delicious traditional Argentine foodprepared with fresh natural products and seasonal fruits.
Reviewed 10 May 2021 via mobile

We loved everything about this experience. The outdoor setting was perfect in times of social distancing, although we did hope for heating lamps as it’s getting chilly in the shade in Buenos Aires now. The steak and salmon were delicious as well as the provoleta appetizer, flan dessert, and wines- we had the house red and a Chardonnay. Excellent service.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank nkeller1134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faena Hotel Buenos Aires, Propietario at El Mercado, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2021

Thank you very much for sharing such detailed description of your experience at El Mercado.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed the place, food, wine and service and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (1,172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 1,172 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2021 via mobile

Excellent Restaurant. Service is also excellent. Thank you for the lovely girls who went on the Mic to look for cigarettes for us. Jessica, Julieta and Cristo, see u soon. Next time we being the Malboro. Lovely lovely evening

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank Besbotzur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faena Hotel Buenos Aires, Propietario at El Mercado, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2021

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us!

We are so happy to know that you enjoyed our service and food as well and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2021

A nice place, enough room between tables, a littele bit noisy for a place of such category. The meal was very good but the actual difference was made by the throughout kind attention of Julieta and Cristobal.

Date of visit: March 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank G5760NIwilliamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faena Hotel Buenos Aires, Propietario at El Mercado, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2021

Thank you William for taking your time and share your experience at El Mercado with us!

We look forward to welcoming you back anytime.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2021

There are no vegetarian options in the menu. The food is overpriced and even though the service staff was really friendly and kind, the food took forever to arrive. Sadly we decided to never come back

Date of visit: February 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank matiasr447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faena Hotel Buenos Aires, Propietario at El Mercado, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2021

Dear Matias,

Thank you for sharing your opinion with us.
We are so sorry to know that this time the experience at El Mercado didn´t reach tour expectations. We´ll take your advice in order to keep improving our service.

We remain at your entire disposal, best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2021 via mobile

During the pandemic we came to Mercado to try to escape from it all and it really worked. Great atmosphere, impecable service and delicious food. Jessica was our server and she was very attentive at all times. Will certainly return.

Date of visit: February 2021
1  Thank NoParoQuieto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faena Hotel Buenos Aires, Propietario at El Mercado, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2021

¡Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Mercado also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to El Mercado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.