We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You what you pay for.”
Review of BA Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BA Central Hotel
Ranked #169 of 444 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Came into Buenos Aires because our visas with Brazil fell thru, (another story). This was a last minute decision made at the airport due to name recognition. I am a member of BW points club. Anyway the place could be called a dump. The staff was friendly, but so are most Argentinians, the room was basic, the fridge didn't work, no sink in the bathroom, no insects, small room so the AC worked great, fan above the bed was nice. The hotel is off of Corrientes Street, a major thoroughfare, easy access to the subway system, no gym, no pool, breakfasts were quite good. But for $87/night it was a deal! Pre-Carnival activities were noisy, but this is South America! This was literally a "bed and breakfast" and no more. No problems.

Room Tip: Below 5th floor for better Wi-Fi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 20 of 365 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights during new years. The hotel matches the price perfectly, without that beeing negative.

The rooms are nice, alltough a bit dated. Air condition, shower and tv, pretty much all you need. The internetbaccess started out pretty poor on the 5th floor, so I asked to be moved to a room with better access - this was no problem at all, and the internet access now is actually very good.

The staff here is very nice and helpfull, they alone would probably make me book here again. Also the location is good, neigborhood seems safe and there is no problem walking home alone at night.

One thing, be sure to get a king size bed if possible. The standard one-person beds are realy small, to narrow (not so wide). I talked to a couple of other guests and they said the same thing.

Good value, i would stay here again.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Trond-J-oslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013 via mobile

Arrived in the evening from Sydney, receptionist spoke English and directed us to a restaurant 4 blocks away - there was supposed to a restaurant in the hotel but not now. It turned out this was the only member of staff who spoke English, room was very basic with the noisiest toilet I have ever heard. Could even hear it flush by the lift 10 rooms away! The bathroom door lock tended to trap you in or out of the bathroom, asked a Spanish speaker to speak to the receptionist but no action. Breakfast was scrambled eggs, pastries, cheeses, ham, and bread and a broken toaster. As well as the restaurant they advertise a bar, health club and massages none of which seem to exist. Wi-fi patchy not availabe our room but was in our hallway.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuzieLismore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

I have been at this hotel many times before, and I always had good things to say about its staff....but this time things have changed, I am very sorry to say! I was very surprised that the breakfast was so disorganized, when times before was excellent. So I asked what happened and the hotel manager explained that before it was under a concession, and the contract ended and they (hotel management) decided not to renew it. So now it was "miss-managed" by the manager and his "right hand" as he called him, and one waiter that the only thing he knew very well was to talk in Portuguese, and only to the pretty young girls, the rest of the guests he ignored! One day the lights went out on the block. So they decided to close the breakfast room even dough we saw pastries on the table. It would have been a nice gesture to serve the pastries to the guests, because it was raining very hard to go looking for a restaurant. But instead the waiter hide them and later served them to their own staff!!!! That looked very cheap!!! Upon check-out we asked to speak to management about that missing breakfast and he refused to talk to us!!!! The rest of the staff is very friendly and attentive to every need you have, but it is a shame that they work under such an incompetent management!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valijaslistas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

I stayed here just for one night between my flight into Buenos Aires and out to Iguazu the next morning. The staff was very helpful, even with my poor Spanish.

The room was ok. The bed was comfy, the wifi worked great, and I even managed to find a couple of TV stations that were in Engish (with Spanish subtitles to help me with my Spanish) :)

The rooms are a little dated, and if you're looking for 5-Star, this definitely isn't it, but it was clean and did the trick.

One thing that would have made my stay a little better was if the front desk had a basic tourist map of BA. I arrived on a red-eye flight into BA, so at 10 am, my room wasn't ready, which I was prepared for, but it would have been nice to have even one of those cheesy little cartoon maps to help me get my bearings while I wandered around waiting for my room to be ready.

I did come back at 12, even though check-in wasn't until 3. My room wasn't quite ready but they were very nice and directed me to a couch in the lobby, and my room was ready about 10 minutes later.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coug_chick18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Sarmiento Palace Hotel
#211 of 444 in Buenos Aires
373 reviews
San Nicolas
Europlaza Hotel & Suites
Europlaza Hotel & Suites
#160 of 444 in Buenos Aires
516 reviews
Bauen Suite Hotel
#231 of 444 in Buenos Aires
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Intersur Suites
#178 of 444 in Buenos Aires
146 reviews
Hotel Carrara
#275 of 444 in Buenos Aires
34 reviews
Uno Buenos Aires Suites
#138 of 444 in Buenos Aires
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BA Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BA Central Hotel

Address: Calle Junin 357, Buenos Aires C1026ABG, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #169 of 444 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range: €44 - €73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BA Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BA Central Hotel is a Three Star Hotel fully renovated, offering comfort and amenities by keeping its traditional style. The Hotel is ideally located in the center of the city just half block from the traditional Corrientes Avenue and close to the most famous theaters, cinemas, cafes, Tango shows, Abasto shopping and the emblematic Obelisco. BA Central Hotel welcomes business and leisure travelers. Comfortable and spacious rooms, electronic security locks, cable TV, LCD 32'', working desk, mini-bar, individual air conditioner and central heating control, hairdryer, wi-fi and DDN/DDI lines. Our Suites have microwave and Penthouses have whirlpool bath and microwave. Our restaurant offers a buffet breakfast, in a friendly and relaxing atmosphere. The hotel offers two meeting rooms for several capacities and set-ups. High technology equipment, personalized consulting and special menus that cover all the needs for every event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your BA Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Monumental Hotel
Best Western Buenos Aires
Buenos Aires Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing