We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Give this one a big miss.”
Review of BA Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BA Central Hotel
Ranked #173 of 443 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Reviewed 23 September 2011

This was the most expensive place I stayed in my 5 week visit to Argentina and the only place I was charged the 21% tourist tax. The room was small and smelled of mould. The bathtub was partly under a petition - it may have been a shelf in the closet - so that you had to sit back to the taps with your legs under the "shelf". The bathroom itself was so small that the sink was in the bedroom. The bar fridge was crammed in a small, unvented space where it didn't stand a chance of functioning properly. The carpet was iffy, not at all a nice place to go barefoot. If you wanted ice you had to go down to the kitchen, wait, and then you were given 7 ice cubes at a time. If you wanted more you had to go down a second time.

Breakfast, which was included, was very acceptable.

Room Tip: A room in another hotel
  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snowbirdincostarica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (360)
There are newer reviews for BA Central Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

29 - 33 of 360 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2011

I had the idea to go with my wife to Buenos Aires on our vacations, but we were clueless, we had not researched much about where to stay and all. We took the first choice we got and, I may say, we had a good surprise.
The hotel was nice, clean, we had breakfast included on our stay and it was quite good. The room was big enough, bed was nice, we had a hot tub on the bathroom and the room service was satisfactory. The people on reception is always friendly and willing to help you.
My only concern about the place was it's location. It is sure close to a lot of historic places, near the subway, but at night I was a little worried. Some homeless people around, not much street lights and such. But don't let this little detail turn you off about the place, it is great overall, really close to lots of cozy restaurants, a market and, some stores, not much expensive, and have a great crew!

Room Tip: The rooms with window to the front street uses to be noisy at night, due to a couple all-night-bar r...
  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ipaugust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

This place is awful. They speak English but they try to take advantage of foreigners. We bought the hotel through a website and was guaranteed a price, but when we got there they tried to trick me into paying much more. I originally agreed to stay 7 days but after 2 days we had enough! We went to another hotel on Florida St. I contacted US Best Western and they gave me a full refund, but These people were not giving me a dime back. The Best Western name is good NOT this hotel! Learn from someone else's mistake (me) Go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mattscards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

We had a conference in the Medical School -- this was about 4 blocks away, so it seemed ok.

Disaster.

The room reeked. There was no alarm clock. The safe didn't work. The sink was in the bedroom.
We reserved for 6 days but stayed 1 day (we went to the Sheraton Buenos Aires -- excellent.

When we checked out, they didn't even ask us what was wrong (maybe they knew).

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank openhacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2011

This was a very sub par hotel. The location is far from most everything you'd want to see. The rooms are old and depressing looking. The staff is mediocre, and one lady was downright rude. We used their laundry service and they lost a clothing item! The maid never cleaned the sink mirror the three nights we were there. The internet went down every half hour, and one night stayed off most of the day. They had no one to fix it. They don't deserve to have the Best Western name that has a certain credibility to it. They are not worth the low rate. It's better to pay a little more to get better overall service. Whatever you do, DON'T STAY THERE or you'll regret the decision!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrl1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Sarmiento Palace Hotel
#198 of 443 in Buenos Aires
360 reviews
San Nicolas
Duomi Plaza Hotel
Duomi Plaza Hotel
#162 of 443 in Buenos Aires
393 reviews
Uno Buenos Aires Suites
#142 of 443 in Buenos Aires
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Intersur Suites
#187 of 443 in Buenos Aires
141 reviews
Retiro
Embajador Hotel
Embajador Hotel
#183 of 443 in Buenos Aires
426 reviews
Zentra Hotel
#391 of 443 in Buenos Aires
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BA Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BA Central Hotel

Address: Calle Junin 357, Buenos Aires C1026ABG, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #173 of 443 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range: €48 - €71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BA Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BA Central Hotel is a Three Star Hotel fully renovated, offering comfort and amenities by keeping its traditional style. The Hotel is ideally located in the center of the city just half block from the traditional Corrientes Avenue and close to the most famous theaters, cinemas, cafes, Tango shows, Abasto shopping and the emblematic Obelisco. BA Central Hotel welcomes business and leisure travelers. Comfortable and spacious rooms, electronic security locks, cable TV, LCD 32'', working desk, mini-bar, individual air conditioner and central heating control, hairdryer, wi-fi and DDN/DDI lines. Our Suites have microwave and Penthouses have whirlpool bath and microwave. Our restaurant offers a buffet breakfast, in a friendly and relaxing atmosphere. The hotel offers two meeting rooms for several capacities and set-ups. High technology equipment, personalized consulting and special menus that cover all the needs for every event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your BA Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Monumental Hotel
Best Western Buenos Aires
Buenos Aires Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing