We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (597)
Filter reviews
598 results
Traveller rating
365
170
33
20
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
365
170
33
20
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private bathroom charming hotel palermo district perfect location restaurants and bars dulce de leche neighborhood argentina corridor
Filter
Updating list...
353 - 358 of 598 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2008

I booked this hotel for my girlfriend and I by calling directly from the states. We arrived after 4 days of nonstop action in Mendoza and the Andes and were wiped out. This is important to note because if you are looking for something quieter and a bit more relaxing than the more touristy areas of Buenos Aires, than Palermo is perfect. It is less crowded and the streets are lined with cafes and boutiques. Some of the best shopping around and similar to the Soho area in NYC where we reside, just more affordable and welcoming....Malabia'a staff brought us coffee and tea when we arrived and our room was ready and it wasn't even 12noon. The room itself was very chic, tall ceilings, clean, with a couch to relax on as well. The amenties also included a very nice (and free) internet cafe. The entire hotel was lit by the natural light from above entering the urban garden structures. There is also a kitchen staff waiting to prepare breakfast and serve it in their nice dinign room with a large 8-10 person table....Our last night in BA our flight did not leave until 11:35pm and there was even an airline strike the day before. We were allowed to leave our luggage and come and go all day long, using the internet and having staff check on our flight status periodically. They did not have to do any of this and it was greatly appreciated. They were also helpful with reservations for dinner and a tango show. I would def recommend Malabia to others!

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank espezio41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2008

We were very excited about Malabia House. In the centre of Palermo Viejo, one of BA's most touristically perfect neighbourhoods, the hotel looked fabulous on their website. But we should have sensed problems from the outset: Any changes to our reservation were extremely onerous and the email exchange was a bit snippy. Nevertheless, with such great reviews on trip advisor and elsewhere, we were determined to stay in this historic property smack dab in the middle of all the fun. Oh, did I forget to mention that it's very pricey by BA standards? Upon arriving we waited for a half hour to be checked in. Not sure why. For the $200 plus 20% taxes a night we weren't expecting the Four Seasons but did anticipate a room with enough space to open our suitcases, windows that provided fresh air (I mean, we were in BA in the summer) and a bathroom where you could turn around. Not to be. The rooms (with the exception of one in the front of the building without it's own bathroom) are high-ceilinged closets. No windows. No air. The bedroom space is tiny and there's no sound insulation. We were so claustrophobic we opted for the front room without the washroom and left the very next day for a stupendous hotel around the corner "Soho All-Suites." For the same $ we had a two-room suite that opened onto an enormous terrace with a view. There was a small kitchen, large bathroom, all was immaculate, and the staff so friendly we didn't want to leave. As for breakfast, at Malabia, like in the rooms, it's stuffy, small and people had to wait to eat because there wasn't enough room at the tables. Soho Suites? Plenty of space with natural light, and lots of great food. When we notified Malabia's front desk that we couldn't stay the duration because of the closeted space etc etc, the woman sniffed, "Didn’t you notice it was a convent?" So what? Malabia House, like most 'boutique' hotels in BA, have become greedy because of the increased tourism and places that only a couple of years ago were priced at $125 - $150 have stepped up their rates by 50% or more. Compared to hotel rooms around the world, they're just not up to snuff. Caveat emptor!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank VancouverKatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2008

Malabia House is in a great location, the rooms are beautifully decorated and service impeccable. We rented four rooms and all were different, spacious, airy, bright and functional. The staff really wanted us to have a good time and went out of their way to make reservations and give us recommendations and tips (they even found me a hairdresser!). Breakfast, which is made to order, and happy-hour are perfect settings to meet other guests and share experiences. Internet service, as well as the use of two computers, is complimentary. Palermo is a great neighborhood for shopping, dining or just hangin’. Thanks, Malabia. I look forward to going back soon.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank ana r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2008

My family and I (all 11 of us) planned a Christmas holiday in BA and choose the Malabia House based mainly on great write ups. We were not dissappointed. The hotel is very charming and the staff are extremely attentive and helpful. The rooms were clean, the breakfasts were lovely and well I cannot say enough about the people who work there, they always smiled and made the trip one of our best yet!

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank Julia001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2008

We stayed at the Malabia House for three nights during our trip to Buenos Aires and were very impressed with the accomodations and level of service by the knowledgable staff. The building and location are fantastic--Palermo is a really delightful place to stay in Buenos Aires where we really felt like we were mixing in with the locals. Our room was clean, comfortable, and quiet. The business center was great to have email access 24/7 on nice, fast computers. We really enjoyed the delicious breakfast (with eggs made to order). The staff helped us with transportation, attraction recommendations, and reservations to attend a tango show at Carlos Gardel, which we loved. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank windycitywoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews