We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Conquistador Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Melia Recoleta Plaza(Buenos Aires)
US$255
US$211
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$225
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$182/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Melia Buenos Aires(Buenos Aires)
US$168
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Nuss Buenos Aires(Buenos Aires)
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Claridge Hotel(Buenos Aires)
US$100
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$287
US$219
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$260/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$241
US$194
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Mine Hotel Boutique(Buenos Aires)
US$215
US$146
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Circus Hostel & Hotel(Buenos Aires)(Great Value!)
US$42
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$792
US$535
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,161)
Filter reviews
1,161 results
Traveller rating
233
537
260
79
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
233
537
260
79
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnights pre cruisepoor viewwifi worked finearrived early morningspoke englishfront desk staff was very helpfulreasonable sizetop floorflorida streettwin roomexcellent locationfree wifibreakfast each morningdecent hotelplaza san martinin downtown buenos airesbreakfast is served
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 1,161 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

I used to stay in this hotel 20 years ago when I used to travel a lot to Argentina. 20 years have passed the hotel is still the same good and old El Conquistador. Competition is high in Buenos Aires but this hotel offers excellent location, good rooms for your money and it is clean. Staff as always, very nice. Don`t expect luxury as you are not paying for it on the rate. Just expect a good hotel within walking distance to Calle Florida and many other places.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
Thank STAF1401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marilyn g, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Conquistador Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

Dear Staf1401,
Thank you for staying at El Conquistador Hotel.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed our service and facilities.

We expect to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017

We got to to the hotel around 11.30am. No bell boy came to help with our luggage. There is hardly any parking near hotel and hence taxi driver dropped us further ahead. When we got to reception,we had to wait for quite a while before being served. Seems the guys working at reception take a long time sorting things out. However we were given a room straight away which was great. We got a suite on a higher floor but with a very poor view of roofs of other buildings nearby. Suite had 2 rooms both of which looked tired. Bathroom (in middle) was ok and shower worked fine. The breakfast was on top floor and was very basic. Got vouchers for 1 free drink each in bar in evening. However beer was not included. Only juice or a small glass or wine.

Hotel is in good location and close to restaurants, bars and shopping area. Shame it's not been maintained well. On check out day, I asked for a taxi to port for 10.30. However even after several reminders to the reception staff, the taxi was not booked and finally the guy rang up the taxi office and one appeared around 11am, that's nearly half an hour after the original time booked.

I would only book this hotel if you are on a budget and want a hotel in a good location. Otherwise there are better hotels in the area. This hotel is no where near the 4 stars that it claims to be. More like 2.5 stars.

Room Tip: All rooms have poor views but ask for high floor anyway
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rishigudka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marilyn g, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Conquistador Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

Dear Rishigudka,
Greetings from El Conquistador Hotel. We do apologise for any inconvenience and we hope to welcome you again.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2017

They hired some really good photographers for these pictures. When we arrived, we weren't happy to say the least. The interior of this hotel is so dated, everything is old and I honestly couldn't believe what our floor looked like. Old carpet and wood lining the walls, a random dirty couch sitting in an awkward corner in the hall.

The rooms were also pretty bad. The temperature never got cold even while running the a/c on the coldest/strongest fan setting the entire 3 day stay. Our windows looked into other rooms, about 10 feet of space in between. The bathroom was dirty, didn't appear to even be cleaned. The toilet seat was dirty, there was hair on the walls and under the mat in the shower. Maybe hotel standards in Argentina are lower than in the US but I refuse to believe it, no other accommodation on our trip was this gross. The wifi didn't work in our room either, or on the top floor where the breakfast is served. Had to go to the lobby pretty much to use the internet.

On the plus side, it was pretty cheap. But compared to the airbnb we had stayed in the week before, this was a dump. The breakfast was ok, glad there were eggs and ham in addition to the Argentine breakfast of pastries and desserts with juice. The gym is terrible - a cramped room with an all-in-one machine and a treadmill. The location of the hotel was pretty central if you want to be in the busy part of Buenos Aires and do all of the touristy things. The street is much different after dark..

Anyway, would not return or recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017

This hotel has a nice lobby area with comfortable chairs and both check in & check out were good. Free wi-fi which was ok and also a Welcome Drink voucher. There are 3 lifts of reasonable size e.g you could comfortably get 2 people with luggage plus another couple of people. We had a Double Superior on the 8th floor for our first visit (2 nights pre-cruise) and although it showed a bit of wear it was good. There was room to move around the bed comfortably, an armchair, desk & chair, minibar, good size flat screen TV, 2 shelves, 1 case stand and a stool/table at end of bed that easily took a case. There was a mirrored door wardrobe with hanging space, decent hangers, shelves & a safe. The bathroom was not huge but ok with a shower over bath, vanity with a little space on it with a long shelf between it and the mirror, toilet & bidet. The bath did have a non-slip mat and grab bar which was a nice change. Disappointing not to have tea/coffee in the room.
Breakfast was a very good buffet - juice, water, milk, cereal, pastries, fruit, toast, cold meat, cheese, tomato, scrambled egg, ham, potatoes, toast, rolls, condiments, tea, coffee, chocolate.
Plaza San Martin is only a few minutes walk away and is a decent place to go for a walk/run in the mornings. Most places are an easy walk from the hotel and lots of small supermakets & eating places close by.
Front desk happy to store luggage and ring for taxis. Fyi - taxi to cruise ship was about 70 pesos (a warning though that coming from ship to hotel you are at the mercy of the taxi 'organisers' and they wanted 300 then 250 & finally 200 pesos! Best to organise a pickup beforehand or maybe walk a hundred meters or so & see if you can pick up a radio taxi with a meter) We used LandingPadBA for our return airport transfers - excellent.
We stayed for a day after our cruise - checked in from cruise and out again in the evening before late night flight. This time we had booked a standard double - the room we got had 2 x single beds (as we were not sleeping we didn't ask for change) it was a bit smaller than our first room but not much in it, bathroom similar. If there was aircon it wasn't working & we couldn't get wi-fi in the room.
If we come back to Buenos Aires we would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jbgh1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marilyn g, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Conquistador Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2017

Thank you for your review.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at El Conquistador Hotel.
Te hotel is located in Retiro neighborhood, close to all the major attractions so you can walk to all of them or take public transport.

Remember to book directly through the hotel, you will get a free bottle of wine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

Very well located!
The breakfast is better than a "normal Argentinian breakfast"!
I came for business, and there is a very small but comfy room in the lobby for working, I spent a concentrated time over there! It was great!
The room is clean and comfy as well.

Stayed: February 2017
Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marilyn g, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Conquistador Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2017

Thank you for choosing El Conquistador Hotel in Buenos Aires.
We happy to know that you have enjoyed our buffet breakfast, which is served on the 10th floor, from where you can enjoy one of the best views of Buenos Aires.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews