We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique experience with amazing food and great company!”
Review of Casa SaltShaker

Casa SaltShaker
Ranked #6 of 5,699 Restaurants in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$80 - US$80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Recoleta
Description: Welcome to Casa SaltShaker. We offer a unique dining experience, sharing a table with other guests at our home in Barrio Norte. The setting is casual and the conversation lively. Our food is eclectic with a Mediterranean base. It's all about meeting new friends over good food and wine.Bienvenidos a Casa SaltShaker (Salero). Ofrecemos una experiencia gastronómica única, compartiendo una mesa con otros comensales en nuestra casa de Barrio Norte. El ambiente es informal y la conversación animada. Nuestra cocina es ecléctica con una base mediteránea. Se trata de conocer nuevos amigos y sobre todo de gustar buena comida y buen vino.
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We totally loved our experience at Casa Saltshaker from the start to the finish. Dan and Alan made us feel right at home from the minute we stepped through the door. Each one of the five courses was delicious, with generous servings and perfectly matched wines. It was such a wonderful night, sitting around a big square table with 8 other people who were strangers at the beginning but felt like friends by the end. A must do in Buenos Aires. Dan certainly lives up to the quote on his web page......'To invite someone to your house means devoting yourself to his happiness the whole time he is under your roof.'

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank KazBuenosAires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saltshaker, Owner at Casa SaltShaker, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2012

Someone who actually reads my website! ;-)

Glad you enjoyed, and Allan will be happy to hear that his fill-in efforts while my partner was away were appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (525)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

409 - 413 of 525 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2012

My husband and I wanted to try something other than Argentinian cuisine while in Buenos Aires. We came across Casa Saltshaker and I'm glad we did. We are always up for something new and interesting, both in atmosphere and in cuisine. We were not disappointed with either.
The party of guests was a great mix. Some locals, expats, Dutch and Americans. The conversation was never boring and quickly moved from small talk to lively discussions and a lot of laughs.
The food was very delicious and creative and the wine pairings were excellent. We all were anticipating each course and I didn't hear anybody say anything negative about the dishes. Tasting so many different courses is also a real treat.
Dan and Henry were very welcoming and attentive and definitely made us feel at home.
We had such a great time that when it came time to go, we joined another local couple we had just met that evening and enjoyed the rest of the night at a beautiful bar together that we never would have found on our own.
I would recommend Casa Saltshaker if you are up for a new experience and are craving something besides beef in Buenos Aires.

Thank ShawnHamburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saltshaker, Owner at Casa SaltShaker, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2012

Glad to hear you enjoyed and also that you paired up with some other guests to extend your evening out - that's a lot of the fun of these evenings and hearing about it after is a pleasure for us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We arrived for dinner at the appointed time 8:45pm for dinner at Casa SaltShaker restuarrant at the home of the chef and his partner. There were 10 guests: 3 from the USA, 3 from Brazil, 4 from Australia including a couple who had been on an around the world trip for 7 months with Buenos Aires as their last stop before returning home. All spoke English and participated in conversation before, during and after the meal. Guest makeup varies from dinner to dinner. You have no idea who you will be with until you get there.

The meal prepared by Chef Dan centered around a theme from a historical event in Greece. He explained each item on the dinner menu in great detail and also the wine pairing served. The menu this evening had a lot of seafood. This was a welcome change for us as most places feature beef from Argentina. We sat at a huge dining room table.

The cost was super reasonable for the high quality meal we were served compared to costs at better restaurants in Buenos Aires.

The meal began at 9:00pm and we finished the dessert at 10:30 with after dinner conversation continuing for about 30 minutes. We left about 11:00pm. This was a most unique evening with great food, wine and conversation. It was a special highlight of our two weeks in Buenos Aires. It was our first closed door restaurant experience. When we return to Buenos Aires we will be sure to make a reservation at the Casa SaltShaker and will also consider other closed door restaurants as well.

We recommend Casa SaltShaker to others who want to have a unique experience as well as a well prepared meal with wine pairings.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank TheLanes1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saltshaker, Owner at Casa SaltShaker, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2012

It was a delight to have you here. You touched on one of the most important, and fascinating, things, about the whole closed door dining experience - it's a complete mystery, and random mix, of people who will be at each evening. That's what makes it so much fun and thanks for being a part of that!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We went to Casa Salt Shaker in December during our Honeymoon around Argentina and we loved it and are eager to go back again!

Underground dinning is a totally new experience and a great way to try new foods and meet new people.

The start of the evening consisted of a welcome drink and a ‘meet and greet’ with our fellow dinners, which was a lovely aspect to the night as it broke the ice and created a comfortable setting for the rest of the evening.

We were served five lovely courses, which were quite experimental meals, but it’s great to try new things and to be inspired. The wine pairings were well-chosen, plentiful and good quality. Dan the chef also happily accommodated for vegetarians and other dietary requirements.

The background music was gentle and created a nice ambiance and the hosts, Dan & Henry, were wonderful and passionate. They made us feel very welcome in their home and the food explanations for each dish from Dan made each meal more enjoyable.

The social aspect of the event was very engaging and enjoyable, with diverse conversations around the table, interesting stories and shared experiences about Argentina.

From our experience of various underground restaurants in Argentina, it appears to be more travellers attending these places than locals, so if you are happy sitting with a group of people on their travels, primarily English speaking, then you will be happy within this environment.

After reflecting on our experiences, we think that with any restaurant in this intimate style, it really is the luck of the draw with the people you end up meeting and how well you submerge yourself into this sociable event. So far we have been in luck with our range of fellow dinners, but in general you will always find a couple of people who you can connect with, share stories with and enjoy new foods with.

What made Casa Salt Shaker so special was the very intimate setting. Some underground restaurants are more like normal restaurants with individual tables and no meet and greet at the start of the evening. It really depends on what your personal preference is, but for us, we loved the intimate set up more.

Without a doubt we will return to Casa Salt Shaker and rate it as one of the best. It was certainly a highlight of our trip!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Danielle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saltshaker, Owner at Casa SaltShaker, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2012

Glad you enjoyed. Part of the whole mix of people is seasonal - coming in the middle of high tourism season, generally most of our (and our fellow closed door friends') customers do come from abroad - generally tourists make their reservations further in advance than locals, plus there are so many visitors at this time of year, that we all tend to fill up before the locals give us a call. During less busy tourism seasons that often flips around the other way and the evenings are dominated by locals, and Spanish conversation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

I heard of Case Salt Shaker and this private home restaurant experience from random travelers on an excursion in Buenos Aires - and so glad I did. It was by far the best food experience of my life. Each course was amazing and paired with the perfect wine. Dan and Henry are the perfect hosts and attend to every detail. There were 10 very interesting people from all over the world sharing their experiences. A few of us went to a really fun bar afterwards. I have been telling everyone I know about this experience. And the price is incredible for what you get. Book early - you cannot wait until the last minute as they are very popular. Muy muy bueno!!!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank APassion4TravelSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saltshaker, Owner at Casa SaltShaker, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2012

"Best food experience of my life"? Wow! Thank you. And so glad you made some new friends to go out and share the rest of the evening with at our table - that's part of what makes doing this so rewarding.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa SaltShaker also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Casa SaltShaker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing