We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievably beautiful place, unbelievably obnoxious owner”
Review of Nilaya Hermitage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nilaya Hermitage
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Arpora
Mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Unbelievably beautiful place, unbelievably obnoxious owner”
Reviewed 26 October 2009

We visited Nilaya - to check out the place and to have a drink. We were 8 adults and 4 kids. I called ahead to confirm our time of visit (bar shuts at 10 pm they said) and whether they are ok with kids.

The place is gorgeous! They have 11 rooms only and always full. As we were being shown around, the owner - Hari Ajwani - came over to us and asked us to leave. He was quote drunk and said this was not the time to come and that he was not running a kindergarten! We kept trying to tell him that we had specifically called ahead to confirm are arrival time and that we were travelling with kids.

I really dont have an issue with hotels etc not catering to kids but I dont understand why they did not clarify that upfront. And of course nothing gives an owner the right to abuse and humiliate people especially since he is in the hospitality industry.

We gathered that this hotel caters to white people and celebrities. IF you are none of the above, then DO NOT VISIT!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank AnubhavAgarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    10
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
10
28
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2009

Nilaya was lovely ! The food & quiet location make it a perfect weekend getaway for Bombayites !

  • Liked — Quiet Location!
  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ManishaK123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
1 review
Reviewed 26 February 2009

After we' ve seen some of your earlier reviews, i must say that this is one of the most beautiful and comfortable and chic places i' ve seen in quite a while.
The view and the location is just stunning, the service excellent not to talk about, the stylish rooms and the amazing and fresh pool.
We loved the friendly people of this place who took great care of us in a very personal way.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ibizanco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2007

I must start by addressing looby loo of Cambridge's comments about their wedding and communications with Nilaya. LoobyLoo is a friend of mine, and we travelled to india to attend her wedding, and ended up staying at Nilaya - thank heaven we did. For those of you who read loobyloo's comments, I can only say that having met the people at Nilaya, and knowing my friends side of the story, there has been a communication problem. Read my review below with an open mind to see whether Nilaya could be the place for you....

My fiancee and I stayed at Nilaya for a week at the end of November. We both travel extensively and have never stayed at a better hotel. The place took 3 years to build and only has 11 rooms so you can imagine that they are beautifully appointed. The staff who run the place are the same staff who built it - some having been with the owners for 14 years or more. They are proud of the hotel, and rightly so, but more proud of their relationships with people who come back to their fabulous hospitality year upon year. The architecture is organic, and gaudi like - the owner has been in Goa for 30 years having worked her way up from a shack on the beach to one of the finest hotels in Goa, with a team of more than 80 who are employed year round by her (most only get work for the tourist season).

This is honestly a wonderful place - I've stayed in places more expensive and much more disappointing. The food is wonderful, the care is inspiring and if there wasn't the rest of the world to see, I would go back. If only more hotels were like this.....it's honest.

  • Liked — It is just so imaginative and cared for - like staying in a fantasy
  • Disliked — It was open to the elements so there were some insects around - mosquito nets more than made up for it though
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JMtravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London...
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2007

We have just returned from spending 4 days at the Nilaya. It was unusually quiet whilst we were there - only 3 or 4 rooms were occupied. With staff of 80, we were waited on hand and foot!!!
The rooms are fantastic. We changed our first room 'star' as the bed (4 poster) was too short for my 6'3" husband. We were given a tour of the unoccupied rooms to choose which one we wanted...we choose 'fire'...The bed is 10ft wide!!!!...and has a fab balcony up in the trees. Early one morning we watched the wild monkeys jumping from branch to branch. The food was really good...mainly fish and seafood...tiger prawns/lobster. You could also, it you wanted, choose more traditional indian food.
The only downside was the fact that they charge for things, which they should just adsorb.......if you want an egg for breakfast it's an extra charge, although water is supplied free in your room, at dinner they charge you for it, they charged me for posting my postcard!!!
But overall we really enjoyed it and would return given the chance.

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Limehouse6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arpora
1.3 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Goa - Arpora - Baga
15.8 km away
Grand Hyatt Goa
Grand Hyatt Goa
#1 of 3 in Bambolim
2,243 reviews
1.7 km away
Resort Rio
Resort Rio
#1 of 15 in Arpora
1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 km away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
33.1 km away
Alila Diwa Goa
Alila Diwa Goa
#2 of 39 in Salcette
1,880 reviews
5.7 km away
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
#6 of 66 in Candolim
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nilaya Hermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nilaya Hermitage

Property: Nilaya Hermitage
Address: Arpora Bhati | Near St Josephs English School Arpora, Arpora 403518, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Arpora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Arpora
#3 Spa Hotel in Arpora
#4 Luxury Hotel in Arpora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:5 star — Nilaya Hermitage 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nilaya Hermitage is located on the hill tops of Arpora, North Goa with a stunning view of the Arabian Sea and the Arpora Valley. The 33 meter swimming pool rises out like a blue lagoon amongst an award winning Moorish architecture. The Boutique resort naturally blends into the landscaped gardens and the surrounding forest that gives a surreal effect of being away in a different world where quietness is what you breath. The food is predominantly continental and is prepared lovingly by our master chef with more than 15 years of hosting the discerning traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Nilaya Hermitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nilaya Hermitage Arpora
Nilaya Hermitage Hotel Arpora
Nilaya Hermitage Goa/Arpora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing