We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very friendly staff. a bit of a quirky hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch Dorpshuis & Spa
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Reviewed 29 July 2017

We stayed at the Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch Dorpshuis & Spa for 1 night enroute from our drive along the Garden Route back to Cape Town. The staff at the hotel are all extremely friendly and personable. The hotel itself has a bit of a quirky feel, but in a good way, as it feels more like a small condo complex than a hotel. The hotel is a bit older, but well maintained. It's on the corner of 2 fairly major streets, so we were a bit concerned that the traffic noise would be an issue, but we didn't hear it at all, so don't be deterred by that. The hotel is probably a 15 minute walk into the main section of Stellenbosch, so that was a plus for us as there wasn't any loud noise/talking from all of the tourists "milling" about.

Room Tip: book one of the 2-story loft bedroom suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BTay-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHDorpshuis, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch Dorpshuis & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Dear BTay-Traveler
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us feedback regarding your recent stay at Protea Hotel by Marriott Dorpshuis & Spa. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward welcoming you back from Dallas Texas.
Kind Regards
Gerty Munro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2017

Was not sure what to expect but the hotel was great. stayed one night only and on business. room was larger than I expected, very clean and had all the amenities that I needed. bed was comfortable with quality linen. great shower as well. Front desk staff were very helpful (as I had an issue with my Marriotts rewards card which they sorted out). Parking guard was exceptionally friendly and helpful.

Breakfast was a little disappointing. fair selection for breakfast but poor service. staff were not attentive at all and grudgingly served you. hot buffet items were also cold. if I had had the time and was on holiday I would have complained.. but alas I had meetings to attend.

otherwise a good stay. rooms were very good.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank D H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHDorpshuis, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch Dorpshuis & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

Dear D H
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us feedback regarding your recent visit to Protea Hotel by Marriott Dorpshuis & Spa. We are delighted to hear our front office Team assisted you well and you enjoyed your stay with us.
I am however very disappointed about your breakfast experience, and would like to apologise. I can ensure you this is not the normal standard of service we so proud on offering.
I truly hope to welcome you back to our hotel whenever your travel brings you back to Stellenbosch, maybe a little longer this time.
Kind Regards
Gerty Munro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017 via mobile

The hotel is small and quaint. However the food served here is absolutely terrible. If there were negative number on the ratings score I would rate them a -10. I'm completely confused how the kitchen staff confidently serve such food to customers. Appalling. Truly !!!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Neo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHDorpshuis, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch Dorpshuis & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

Dear Neo M
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your experience in our restaurant at Protea Hotel Dorpshuis & Spa.
I would be happy if you could contact me to discuss your review.
Look forward hearing from you!
Kind Regards
Gerty Munro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017

We stopped in here for lunch, during an Atlantic Rail Tour. Great place, friendly staff, great service, especially from a lady called Petronella (hope I have spelt her name right) in the restaurant. Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank malc1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHDorpshuis, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch Dorpshuis & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2017

Dear malc1005
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us feedback regarding your recent visit to our restaurant at Protea Hotel by Marriott Dorpshuis & Spa. We are delighted to hear that the STAFF were so friendly and efficient and that you enjoyed your visit.
We look forward welcoming you back soon!
Kind Regards
Gerty Munro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2017

This is my second stay in this hotel. The first was in room 3 next to the kitchen. From very early in the morning I was disturbed by the noises and the smell coming from there. While the breakfast itself was the normal high quality of Protea hotels, it didn't make up for the room experience.

This time around I was booked into a deluxe loft room and boy was it amazing. As big as a small house with an amazing bathroom, it gave me a total different experience of the hotel as a whole.

Room Tip: Do not take a room inside that is close to the dining hall or kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Ronald K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHDorpshuis, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch Dorpshuis & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017

Dear Ronald K
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Protea Hotel by Marriott Dorpshuis & Spa. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at our hotel in the delux loft apartment. We can't wait to welcome you back to our hotel whenever your travels brings you back to Stellenbosch.
Kind Regards
Gerty Munro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
3.4 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch
7.8 km away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#5 of 17 in Stellenbosch
1,981 reviews
0.9 km away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#8 of 17 in Stellenbosch
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
2.1 km away
The Beautiful South Guest House
The Beautiful South Guest House
#15 of 17 in Stellenbosch
140 reviews
7.6 km away
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
#10 of 17 in Stellenbosch
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch Dorpshuis & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch Dorpshuis & Spa

Address: 22 Dorp Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Price Range: €84 - €156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch Dorpshuis & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel Dorpshuis & Spa is an elegant Victorian Boutique Hotel in Stellenbosch, South Africa. The hotel, a fusion of Victorian and modern elegance, is situated in the heart of the Cape Winelands, providing luxury accommodation to the weary traveller. With 27 rooms, all individually decorated and furnished with antiques, the atmosphere is that of visiting the country side, and yet the Protea Hotel Dorpshuis & Spa with its homely ”Guesthouse” atmosphere provides every modern amenity you would expect from a 4 star Hotel. Surrounded by vineyards and beautiful mountains makes this location one of the most sought-after holiday venues in the Western Cape and in South Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch Dorpshuis & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing