We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Food I've ever been offered ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch Dorpshuis & Spa
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Reviewed 9 May 2017 via mobile

The hotel is small and quaint. However the food served here is absolutely terrible. If there were negative number on the ratings score I would rate them a -10. I'm completely confused how the kitchen staff confidently serve such food to customers. Appalling. Truly !!!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Neo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHDorpshuis, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch Dorpshuis & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

Dear Neo M
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your experience in our restaurant at Protea Hotel Dorpshuis & Spa.
I would be happy if you could contact me to discuss your review.
Look forward hearing from you!
Kind Regards
Gerty Munro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2017

We stopped in here for lunch, during an Atlantic Rail Tour. Great place, friendly staff, great service, especially from a lady called Petronella (hope I have spelt her name right) in the restaurant. Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank malc1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHDorpshuis, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch Dorpshuis & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2017

Dear malc1005
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us feedback regarding your recent visit to our restaurant at Protea Hotel by Marriott Dorpshuis & Spa. We are delighted to hear that the STAFF were so friendly and efficient and that you enjoyed your visit.
We look forward welcoming you back soon!
Kind Regards
Gerty Munro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2017

This is my second stay in this hotel. The first was in room 3 next to the kitchen. From very early in the morning I was disturbed by the noises and the smell coming from there. While the breakfast itself was the normal high quality of Protea hotels, it didn't make up for the room experience.

This time around I was booked into a deluxe loft room and boy was it amazing. As big as a small house with an amazing bathroom, it gave me a total different experience of the hotel as a whole.

Room Tip: Do not take a room inside that is close to the dining hall or kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Ronald K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHDorpshuis, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch Dorpshuis & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017

Dear Ronald K
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Protea Hotel by Marriott Dorpshuis & Spa. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at our hotel in the delux loft apartment. We can't wait to welcome you back to our hotel whenever your travels brings you back to Stellenbosch.
Kind Regards
Gerty Munro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017 via mobile

Clean and hospitable. Upstairs loft spacious but a little uneasy for a tall person. Air conditioning quiet and cool. Breakfast good and plentiful. Enjoyed my one night here.

10 minute walk to town center and restaurants. 5 minutes to nice selection of restaurants on Dorp Street.

Feels old but quaint. Good place.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHDorpshuis, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch Dorpshuis & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2017

Dear Tim W
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience at Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch Dorpshuis & Spa.
I am happy that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcome you back to experience our 84 m2 deluxe loft apartments.
Kind Regards
Gerty Munro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2017

There is certain colonial charm in this hotel which excuses few things otherwise would not be acceptable for example old ordinary thin doors when opening to lobby did not keep away any conversation hold outside the room nor did the windows keep from the street noise. And it's located next to rather important and vivid streets.

The location is good but about 10 min off from the city center. The streets are really safe to walk even at nights so that was no problem.

Service as such was good, the rooms really large with very high ceilings.

Breakfast choice was a bit limited and got boring during a weeks stay.

The wasn't heated as promised, but chilly refreshment on a hot day.

Room Tip: try to get a garden room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MSander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHDorpshuis, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch Dorpshuis & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2017

Dear MSander
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience at Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch Dorpshuis & Spa.
We offer a breakfast buffet in the morning , and I will definitely look at the daily options to make it much more interested for our GUEST.
The pool - we advertised a heated pool in winter but the Jacuzzi should be heated daily.
Look forward to welcome you back to Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch Dorpshuis & Spa whenever travels brings you back to Stellenbosch.
Kind Regards
Gerty Munro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
3.4 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch
7.8 km away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#5 of 17 in Stellenbosch
1,988 reviews
0.9 km away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#8 of 17 in Stellenbosch
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
2.1 km away
The Beautiful South Guest House
The Beautiful South Guest House
#15 of 17 in Stellenbosch
140 reviews
3.9 km away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch Dorpshuis & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch Dorpshuis & Spa

Address: 22 Dorp Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Price Range: €87 - €143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch Dorpshuis & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel Dorpshuis & Spa is an elegant Victorian Boutique Hotel in Stellenbosch, South Africa. The hotel, a fusion of Victorian and modern elegance, is situated in the heart of the Cape Winelands, providing luxury accommodation to the weary traveller. With 27 rooms, all individually decorated and furnished with antiques, the atmosphere is that of visiting the country side, and yet the Protea Hotel Dorpshuis & Spa with its homely ”Guesthouse” atmosphere provides every modern amenity you would expect from a 4 star Hotel. Surrounded by vineyards and beautiful mountains makes this location one of the most sought-after holiday venues in the Western Cape and in South Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch Dorpshuis & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing